We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best on Maui” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“The very best on Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

Wanted to stay somewhere very special for our 20 aniversary, well we found just the place. Napili Kai had everything that we wanted. If you want an ocean front room spend the extra $ and stay in Puna 11. We had room 231 and the view was worth evey penny. The beach lacked not a thing. Snorkling right off the beach was fantastic. We did not see any turtle here, but just around the point we had no problem finding them. We put 700 miles on our rental car wanting to see all of Maui, but we could have just as well stayed right here too! Very romantic setting but also great for the family. We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    182
    47
    18
    17
See reviews for
231
417
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2006

Our family (2 adults and kids 8 & 11) just got back from a 5 night stay at the Napili Kai and for us it was really great. The beach and related snorkeling may be the best on the island and it was absolutely perfect for the kids. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and superbly maintained. The food in the open air restaurant is very good and the views are wonderful. The rooms are clean, well maintained and more spacious (we did have had a suite) than most hotels. It's a peaceful resort that is really nice, but definitely not stuffy. Napili Kai was such a refreshing change of pace from all of the fast pace highrise hotels and condos that permeate so much of this island - if that's what you want you may as well go to Florida. So the bottom line is if you are looking for a place with true old Hawaiian charm that has the potential to create memories for a lifetime then give this place a try. It's not cheap, but you probably will leave feeling thankful that you found this piece of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank henryfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2006

There were many reviews here that had me worried but I was extrememly pleased with Napili Kai. We had an Oceanview Studio in Lani II (Room 333). We had a view of the bay with Lanai and Molokai in the distance. Our room did not have air conditioning and being from Florida I was worried. We left the patio doors open, opened the slats on the front door, closed the bug screen and slept wonderfully. The breezes coming off the mountains and the occasional shower passing through made it so cool that I needed a blanket some nights. The kitchen was fine, it had everything you'd need. I also saw rooms 327 and 331 and they were equipped and decorated just like ours.
What had me most concerned were the comments about bugs everywhere. I did not see one insect what so ever. The room was spotless and cleaned thoroughly every day. I thought the food at the restaurant was very good. I had the Belgian waffel for breakfast, a seafood stir-fry for lunch, the Lani ribs for lunch, and the Filet Mignon appetizer for dinner. All were very good-great view and service too. Of all the Mai Tais I had in Maui - Napili Kai's bar was the best. Beware of a 50 cent charge to take one to-go though. The resort has a fascinating history. If you are looking for something to read on the beach or by the pool there is a little book written about the resort in the bedside table drawer.
The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I visited the Westin Maui which was a whirlwind of people and activity. Napili Kai was much more laid back and relaxing. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank itsmrs2u1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2006

My wife and I have been to Hawaii four time and this is by far the best place we have stayed at. We would stay here again. The only downfall is some of the rooms do not have air conditioning. Other then that everything else is great, the rooms are clean and have a relaxing lanai. Awsome beach and great service. Unbelievable snorkeling, turtles right off the beach.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2006

if you're a smoker please be aware that you can't smoke anywhere but in your room and maybe on the beach. Make sure you request a smoking room or else your screwed. There are signs posted for "No smoking in parking lot" too. Other than that the people and place was beautiful. We upgraded to a "smoking" 969 sq. foot room and it was great. Huge lanai. Beach was never packed. Very quiet at night. Nothing really going on after 9:00-ish. Food was great but a little pricey but worth it!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2006

Our beachfront studio was great. Kitchen looked newly redone and lanai was spacious. Loved our view. Loved being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves each night. We had a unit with just a fan(all we needed) so we didn't have to deal with any musty air conditioner smells some people have mentioned.
Grounds were very nice.
Only problem was rates are a bit to high for what you get.
Overall, we were happy we chose this property over all the other Napili properties.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank lovin'maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2006

We are a family of 4 who spent 9 days at the Napili Kai in a one bedroom beachfront room on the second floor. Let me begin by saying, this is the first time I have never found fault with a property we have stayed at in all our travels, however I felt it only fair to others incurring this expense to share our findings. This property is beautiful, well manicured & maintained with lovely vegetation and a lovely stretch of beach. Additionally the 18 hole putting green is well manicured,and was enjoyed by all. The unheated pools were always clean, and always quiet. The workout room was quiet & nicely equipped for a resort of this size. The Sea House restaurant on the property served decent fare.
As for the accomodations, we were sadly disappointed. Although we didn't have plans to spend much time in our room, we were paying a fair amt. at $500 cdn/night (taxes in), and had hoped they would be nice. Our room was furnished with VERY modest furnishings (think: motel 8): standard beds, bamboo dresser, laminate/bamboo tables, painted clapboard ceilings (with holes), musty smelling carpet, and the entire unit had an intense smell of mold throughout. The staff recognized that the room smelled of mold on our arrival, and tried to to alleviate it with the use of ionizers and airfesheners but unfortuantely these were unable to remove it. According to two of the staff we met, a number of units in our bldg had ongoing problems with mold related to a problematic airconditioning system - they mentioned 4 units that were badly affected, ours being one of them. This was very evident not only because of the smell, but the visible mold on the ceiling tiles all around the airconditioning vents. On the third day, the a/c vent was leaking lots of water all over the floor, and on our clothing. Maintenance came and spent 3.5 hrs draining it and drilling to stop it from leaking. This worked to stop the leeking and the moldy smell seemed a little less strong, but still prevalent throughout the unit. We have travelled extensively throughout the Caribbean and are quite comfortable with the characteristic musty island smells that tropical climates have, however this was not remotely the same - this was a strong MOLDY smell. We requested a room change, however unfortunately all the rooms in the Lahaina and Honolua buildings were at full occupancy, so this request was unable to be met. Additionally, the neighbouring resorts were also at full capacity so we were unable to move. We made the best of it, however it was upsetting that for the amt. of money this resort charges, that our room wasn't even comfortable to be in. Thank goodness for the lanai which we actually contemplated sleeping on to get away from the smell. So, although the resort has lovely grounds, the price of the rooms in no way reflects the quality of accomodations. We met many wonderful guests at the Napili Kai. In fact, most every one we met were either shareholders, or friends/family of shareholders, and had all been there many times. I can see how this property would hold dear to all those who have shared years of family memories there -nostalgia. It truly does have that "OLD HAWAII feel to it - translation 70's feel -and that can be quite charming. It's was nice to be apart from the highrises, and shopping areas. In fact we were looking forward to that. All units however should have the same quality of accomodations, and these should be in line with the price. At $500.00 cdn/night - this hotel lacks the lustre that you would expect for a hotel in this price range. Addtitionally, because this property is well frequented by its many shareholders and their family/friends, I have to question whether the general public get the least choice rooms in the room assignments. We booked our vacation 71/2 months ahead of time, and at the time of booking were told there was a lots of availability...Bottom line, No rooms should have mold problems. Those rooms with such should be pulled from inventory until their problems are properly fixed. It would have been far nicer to be told ahead of time that there were no available rooms at the Napili Kai and find something else, than to travel half-way accross the world to be told - sorry your room smells strongly of mold - we've had a problem with that, but it's all we have. My advice is this - if you have your heart set on staying here, and you're not a shareholder, definitely pay the extra $300.00 U.S. to secure a "nice" room - if you can find where that one exists.
In the end, we wouldn't consider staying here again at this price, even if the mold/air conditioning issues were resolved. The units were modest at best, and the managements minimal attempts at ensuring guest comfort were disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
39 Thank cdnliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly and Despegar.com so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing