We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Red Bluff, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We just returned from a beautiful week at Napili Kai Resort. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. From our check in experience to our departure we felt the service was great ! The restaurant on site served us great meals at affordable prices. The grounds were immaculate.
We walked out of our rooms to the beautifully maintained beach in two minutes. We also enjoyed their Spa... We both had a great massage. We saw all ages there. From families with young children to seniors, all seemed to be enjoying themselves. The landscape held beautiful views wherever you looked. We had fun watching the whales... snorkeling... swimming.... and ..enjoying the sunsets. The rooms are a little dated, but so well maintained and clean it did not bother us at all. Most of the people we talked to come every year or had been there before. We hope to return again too !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling2X2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    182
    47
    18
    17
See reviews for
231
417
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I have traveled fairly extensively to a number of resorts and islands, and were disappointed with this resort. It is definitely geared towards an older crowd (we are 29 and 31 years old). I did not want/expect a "party" atmosphere in any respect, but when arrived the first night at 10:00 PM, everything was shut down...we were not able to get a drink/dinner anywhere. The next day we spent time at the resort, the beach was nice, but there wasnt much to do there other than the beach. The food and drinks were overpriced and limited in their options. We were there a total of three nights, and our last night we had planned to go to the resort restaurant to eat...it closed at 9:00, except when we got there they had (unannounced) decided to close at 8:00 instead for renovations.

I guess I am being a bit picky, but it just seemed like the for the amount we paid they should have had better service/amenities. The beach was beautiful, but we could have experienced it without paying the resort costs. There were also ants in our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Travelwarrior_013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I went to Napili Kai for an annual trip to see Ram Dass on retreat in December 2012 and 2013. The food is amazing at the beach restaurant. The sunsets every night are to die for. Everyone just stops at night and sits in awe of the beauty. We went snorkeling this time with a local friend of mine and learned alot about the coral. There was no need to go anywhere else. We had ocean views and the hotel room had lounge chairs and you could literally not find anywhere that wasn't pristine and beautiful. The staff and everyone at the hotel is so kind and always smiling they ever prepared a separate meal for me even though I was with a group because I didn't like seafood. You never want to leave. Going back again next year for sure! Worth the 10 hour plane ride even from Pa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BStevens922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Napili Kai Beach Resort many times over the last nearly 30 years, and it keeps getting better. The staff are awesome, the rooms are comfortable and it is nice and quiet. When you spend 50 weeks working toward that 2 week vacation, this is a fabulous place to recharge for the next cycle.

Room Tip: We like Lani 2 on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wazzu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellertown
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

The location could not be better! Our room, Lani 305 had a fantastic view over the loveliest bay. The bay/beach was on site and a nice one to swim. About 50 feet from the resort, Kapalua Bay was great for snorkeling. The ocean walk to Kapalua point was a nice walk. The room itself was a studio with a full kitchen. It did not have a/c and we had no problem. We slept with the patio door and louvers open. It was wonderful! Restaurant was mixed - my husband had the mixed grill and it was not good....I had the rib eye and it was great.

Room Tip: Rooms are different depending on who owns it -however, ours was renovated and quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Loved the location right on a beautiful beach with lovely sunsets. The hotel is a little in need of renovation but our room was spacious and comfy. The restaurant overlooked the beach and the happy hour appetizers in particular were really yummy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights for a wedding. The highlight was definitely the beautiful wedding and the great restaurant! We soon discovered there was no good nightly entertainment, also I couldn't swimming because of surgery so we search for other activities and they had advertised a rec room with fooseball but it was locked, mini golf was okay. We stayed In an outdated room and every morning there were ants all over our cans of pop or if any food was left out there were tons of ants! To Golf at there nearby course was very over priced and the roads around the island made us severely road sick. In all I think we will stick to an all inclusive Mexico trip next year.

Room Tip: The flight and roads made us very sick, in all maui is over priced and boring. Go to Mexico all incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing