We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite In Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Favorite In Maui”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband & I have visited Maui many times, we always stay on Kaanapali Beach in one of the big hotels. This time our incredible travel agent, from Willamette International Travel, suggested we would love to stay at Napili Kai Beach Resort. She was right!! It was fantastic. Lovely location, on Napili Bay, we could walk out to a grassy lawn, beautiful beach and calm ocean or sit on our balcony to watch the beautiful sunsets. We had a family studio unit with a very well equipped kitchen which allowed us to barbecue several times and I must say the community barbecues were the cleanest & the nicest barbecues we have ever found at a resort.
also, there is an excellent restaurant on the property, The Sea House, which we dined at on three occasions during our stay.
We will definably plan on staying at Napili Kai Beach Resort on our next Maui visit.

Room Tip: We liked the ocean view Keaka units, good beach access & great sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    191
    52
    19
    18
See reviews for
256
436
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

So here's the breakdown: The Beach - soft sand, very calm bay with reefs for snorkeling, saw several turtles almost every time we went out. Also had rocks on both sides of the bay that were fun to explore during low tide. Very safe for kids and great for skim and paddle boarding. Plenty of beach chairs, no alcohol allowed

The Room - were upgraded to 2br/2bath suite, Lana 337, very nice, clean with an amazing view that made us drop our bags right there on the spot! Lovely wide balcony wher we ate most of our meals

The Resort - helpful friendly staff, beautiful grounds, had some construction going on but hardly noticed, not very crowded at all which surprised me because when we booked we got the last available room, snorkels and masks were free to use but a little uncomfortable, Snorkel Bobs is within walking distance and have equipment for rent, there is also a small general store next to Snorkel Bobs, but need a car to get to a real grocery store, check in and check out was easy but I told the guy when we left that they needed a box of kleenex for checking out as their website doesn't lie, the hardest thing you'll have to do is leave. Pools were kept very clean and most of the time it was just us swimming

The Restraunt - on site, Sea House, good food at a reasonable price and great views, happy hour every day from 2pm-5pm, indoor and outdoor seating right on the beach

notes: we traveled with our 14yr old daughter and 7yr old son, did not use the putting green or attend the Mai Tai party. It was our first time in Maui and we would definitely return here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I am so sorry to be leaving this lovely place tomorrow. our room was beyond expectation (Lani I), with comfortable bed, living room, full kitchen, and lanai overlooking the Pacific. Handsome, absolutely immaculate. Really nice people--both staff AND Guests. . I would never consider staying in one of the big hotels after Napili Kai. Nice beach ... It has been so wonderful to have the ocean in my ears .... The only possible improvements I could suggest are a sauna and steam room, but your hot tub is Great. Thank you for an absolutely perfect time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AR67549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Napili Kai is either the perfect place for your family or not the right place at all. If you value comfort and space - think spacious rooms and lanais and casual beach atmosphere, over anything formal (who needs marble at the beach?!) then this is likely the place for you. We've been twice now, for a week at a time, with two children and love it. We will be back. We love it because the kids can run around in their sandy bathing suits and we don't feel bad, the beach has got to the be the most kid friendly one on the island with great snorkeling and paddleboarding right off shore, and you have easy access to many food and drink options but can also stock sandwich fixings and cocktails in your own kitchen. The entertainment (be sure to check out the hula show featuring local school kids), landscaping, and staff all make you feel like you are experiencing a real piece of Hawaii, much more so than the highrises all around the island. Word of caution - you have to appreciate that you are paying for a fabulous location and big comfortable rooms, if you aren't expecting that then you will likely be disappointed that the rooms aren't a bit nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jencacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Other reviews have said it is close to shops and restaurants. Well it is if you have a car. We thought we would try not to rent a car as we wanted to mainly relax on the beach and thought we might just rent a car for the odd day. The taxi fare from the airport costs over $100 and you do need a car once you are at the hotel as there is nothing really within walking distance. So hire from the airport. The hotel is lovely as others have said, right on the beach which shelves quite quickly and can be quite deep within a few feet. Sometimes the waves were huge, but most of the time the bay is fairly calm. There are several pools, none of which are very big, but they are nearly always practically empty. There are loungers only around the pool and chairs which you can take on the beach, but no umbrellas so shade is a bit scarce! It's really good that you can get snorkels free of charge here, plus miniature golf and they have cool boxes too for guests use. There is a snack bar by the pool and the restaurant has a happy hour between 2-5pm when the "pupus" and drinks are around $5 which is very reasonable. We had breakfast and snacks in the restaurant and they were very good. Dinner not so good and pricey. We loved having the kitchen in the room, I believe the room had recently been refurbished as everything seemed in really excellent condition, and there is everything you need if you want to eat in. The balcony looks over the beach and the ocean and the balcony furniture is comfortable and makes it a great place to sit. The hotel has really tried to think of everything and we even had candles and matches for nights on the balcony. There was no air con in our room (331) but we liked the ceiling fan and left our balcony doors open at night for the breeze. There are bug screens which you can close. Be sure to close them in the day otherwise the birds get in! Would definitely recommend the napili Kai for a relaxing beach holiday

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have best views and get an ocean view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at this resort from May 17 - 31, 2013 because we like to be close to the beach. This resort is located in West Maui, a bit north from where most of the action is, but within 10 - 20 minutes drive from most restaurants and shopping plaza. Merriman's Kapalua is within walking distance, while Pineapple Grill is within 5 minutes drive. Sea House is the restaurant on site. All these restaurants serve very good food. Sea House and Pineapple Grill has the best view. Our room is in Keaka I building and is quite dated. However the room is quite spacious, with a large ocean view balcony and sofa bed. The room is also very clean. It has a cottage feel. Everything works except the WI-FI which is complimentary in the room but not in the lobby. There is a router in the room for wired internet as well, but both wired and WI-FI are not reliable. Some days it works, some days it doesn't. The terminal they provide in the lobby for Web Check in does not work and I have to ask the receptionist to do it for me in their system. Every Wednesday they have a Slack Key Show with George Kahumoku Jr. This is a great show but pricey if tickets are purchased on line. I bought mine at the door at a discounted price.
The beach is great for snorkeling due to the coral reef on site. We spotted the green turtles and numerous types of tropical fish. The Honolua Beach front building is under renovation now and is expected to be completed in June. So if you want newer unit, book a room in this building. We enjoyed our stay and will stay in this one next time we go to Maui.

Room Tip: Choose a room in their newly renovated building - Honolua
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Frist time at Napili and by no means the last ! We are not strangers to Maui and come every May to celebrate our Anniversary... finding Napili Kai tops every other year...
Loved our Ocean View studio, all staff were warm and friendly regardless of their position ..
Having two pools, a whirlpool , a putting green , great fitness centre , lovely gardens and of course amazing beach at our fingertips was grand. The food at the Seahouse is incredible..
A peaceful , enchanting experience , I could go on and on.... ...Thank you for making our Anniversary special..
We look forward to many more at Napili Kai..

Room Tip: Lani 11 is a super location, private and quiet ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
26.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
25.5 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
4.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing