We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$258
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$401
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$702
$536
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$407
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$386
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveler rating
620
213
55
20
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
213
55
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshouse restaurantpuna pointpuna iiputting greenbeachfront studiohigh riseold hawaiitwo storiesocean frontair conditioningpupuspineapple grillcoastal trailmai tai partybeautiful beachlow keywelcome home
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 926 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have been coming here for years and love it. Just wanted to say I saw a review stating there are no real oceanfront rooms. I would disagree. Puna Point and Puna 2 are so close to the water you could throw a rock in the ocean from your lanai. I often see fish (and turtles) swimming from our lanai. We are about to leave on our 5th visit and can't wait.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Bill33055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have to say, I am not a resort kind of person, and seaside resorts usually provide for me no more than a couple of days' rest between more active parts of my holidays. Yet, I found this particular resort absolutely fascinating. It has little in common with the traditional, large concrete resorts like the Marriott's or Hilton's. It consists of several beautiful 2-story buildings built in a sort of Polynesian style which integrates perfectly into the landscape of this beautiful crescent-shaped cove – it had exactly the kind of charm I was expecting from Hawaii! It’s also not one of those isolated resorts where you become the captive clientele of a few local shops and restaurants; while the Sea House restaurant is readily available on site (see my separate review) there are other restaurant opportunities nearby as well as a few little shops, directly reachable by foot (the view from our room was so wonderful that we actually decided to buy food and have some of our dinners on the terrace). There are also several places available to prepare one’s own BBQ - right next to the Ocean. And there is a wonderful Oceanside path which goes all the way to the Fleming beach park – the walk is highly recommended (it’s 2.5 miles or so in length, one way).

Our studio on the corner of the main building was large and truly beautiful, with a nice kitchen and a big lanai (Hawaiian word for a porch) offering stunning views of the beach, the Ocean and the nearby islands of Lanai and Molokai - it looked like a perfect postcard of Hawaii. It seems our studio had been recently renovated, anyway everything was super clean and in perfect condition. The room didn’t have air conditioning but this wasn’t really a problem as the sea breeze cooled the room at night. The manicured, lush gardens around the hotel were a treat. Wifi worked very well and parking space was provided – both at no additional cost. The general ambiance of the resort was fantastic, luxurious but unpretentious at the same time.

The personnel was generally very nice and friendly, with ONE notable exception, the lady in charge of distributing the beach towels who really had an attitude when we asked her for information about the renting of paddle boards, which were advertised at her stand, and she told us very abruptly that she had nothing to do with this and "YOU guys call this number"! Hadn’t it been for this one person, this place would have been a perfect paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lablanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have come here twice--both times with our adult children and 1 grandchild. We could not have been happier; the beach is great, the pools wonderful, the front desk helpful and friendly, the maid service timely and efficient and the newly upgraded rooms beautiful. It has a very casual vibe, which our children prefer. This is not a Ritz and doesn't pretend to be. There is an activity nearly every night which adds to the fun. Our favorite is the putting contest mixer, which includes $.50 drinks! The mai-tai night is also fun. The proximity of the resort to other restaurants, beaches, golf courses and hikes is also good. We rarely needed a car. The only negative is their restaurant, The Sea House, which one of my son's has renames the The C Minus House. The service is excruciatingly slow, the food mediocre and the prices high for what is served.

Room Tip: The rooms in Lani 1 and the 2nd floor of Lani 2 are our favorite. They do not have air conditioning but seem to get enough of the trade winds coming through to always be comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We just got back as first timers to Maui and Hawaii for our 25th anniversary. The resort was recommended by a friend and the recommendation confirmed over and over by reviews on this site. We chose Napili Kai as an alternative to the high rise resorts in Kaanapali, something with local, old Hawaiian feel and we weren't disappointed. We were upgraded to a corner room in Puna 2 which was outstanding, in fact so fantastic that if we never left the patio we still would have been in paradise. In fact we couldn't find a bad room from any location at the resort, you either had breathtaking oceanfront views, or easy access to the beach with ocean view rooms. From our patio you could watch the sun rise and set on the islands of Lanai and Molokai, see whales breaching near and far, watch the spear fishermen in the morning, paddle boarders or snorklers enjoy the bay throughout the day. Napili Bay is one of the highest rated swimming and snorkeling beaches on the island and its one of the best parts of the package, superb snorkeling and swimming for all ages, its wide and calm, the beach - beautiful. The grounds of Napili Kai are exquisite, serene and immaculate. The staff is warm, friendly and relaxed, there wasn't a staff member here that didn't treat us right, all were neighbor friendly. The Sea House restaurant has delicious food and one of the best happy hours on the island. You can tell that Napili Kai is a word of mouth gem and people that stay here are regulars for a reason. I just can't imagine a more Hawaiian like experience. The rooms are so comfortable with the convenience of small kitchen added in, we wish we would've booked a longer stay. Lots of little touches that make the difference, There's a succinct list of activities throughout the week, that provide just enough for a relaxed experience, but won't overwhelm. No high rises, no tourist trap shopping areas, great walking and exploring trails to the surrounding bays. If you want a truly relaxing experience with diversity of all ages in paradise, Napili Kai and the staff will fit the bill, truly Aloha charm.

Room Tip: Puna, Puna II and Lani 1 are the the oceanfront rooms and all are just spectacular. Lani 2 arguably as good as Lani 1 with great ocean views. Lahaina and Honolua provide ocean views with steps away access to the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Napili Kai Beach Resort is a beautiful destination. We were on the north edge of a crescent beach. The resort shares the bay with several other resorts, the nearest being the Mauian.

I think we were a little surprised at the size of the resort. I had made an assumption based on a photo at Trip Advisor that it would a smaller scale than it was. Not a problem but a bit of a surprise. As it turns out the resort is a large condo complex made up of several two level buildings - so not like the monstrous hotels in Kaanapali or on Oahu. The grounds were well kept and the staff was generally pleasant.

The bay is very popular with non-guests as well. But we never had trouble getting a beach chair. It got crowded by my standards, but not horrible, and nothing compared to some of the popular beaches. Parking was readily available for guests. Staff did a respectful job of ensuring non-guests were not edging out guests for beach chairs and pool use. Never had a server approach us on the beach to buy drinks. Not a problem for us. Drinks were expensive by my book.

The bay is a nice sand beach with very nice walk-in snorkeling on a significant reef (for Hawaii). We saw several turtles while snorkeling and a couple of eels. Not a ton of fish but enough to keep it interesting.

We were a bit concerned when we first got to our studio (85). No air-conditioning, but a strong ceiling fan. The studio was right above the main desk lobby area, which was an open loft style, so we could hear everything going on if we left the jalousie windows in the room door open for airflow. We expressed concern on arrival and they happily agreed to move us to an airconditioned room with no issue - but we agreed to try it and chose to stay in 85. If we were there in the summer I think I would want AC.

The room was clean and well kept. Plenty of comfy furniture on the balcony. The bathroom was spotless and in great condition. The bed was a king - but actually two twin sets on a king frame. This was unexpected and created an uncomfortable hard ridge. The kitchen was well appointed. Microwave and stove top, but no oven. Not much noise from the neighbors, but we did get some light pollution from the neighbors balcony and through the window in the door - but no shade on the room door.. I don't think we ever heard anyone - certainly did not impact our ability to sleep. We requested some down pillows be replaced by synthetic and the response was pleasant and immediate.

Actually the only negative (aside from price) was that the designated smoking areas were outside and not all that far away. The strong ocean breeze could have delivered the smoke directly to our room, but that only happened a few times.

They had a restaurant on site, The Sea House - meal costs were typical for Hawaii resorts. Lots of activities, very large putting green, workout room, pools, very large hot tub, gas and charcoal grills, activities for kids/family.

We typically prefer less costly accomodations since we don't typically spend a lot of time in the room, but this was our 30th Anniversary so we splurged. The resort was geared towards a family experience but tolerable for an adult cople wanting some alone time. There were a lot of kids at the resort which made me think that a lot of the units are probably owned by timeshare or other private owners. No one tried to sell us timeshare or suggest we attend a presentation - thankfully.

Room Tip: There are no real "ocean front" rooms so I would not pay the price for what they call ocean front. We had ocean view on the second floor (no elevators) which I prefer over having someone above us - and the view is less obstructed. If you expect hoat weather - ask for a room with AC.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BensonWdby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews