We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxing Hawaii ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hawaii ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed 5 nights at the end of February 2012 in a studio apt. in the Lani 2 building. No air conditioning is needed as the Trade Winds and a ceiling fan do the trick. The large studio was recently redone with granite countertops in the kitchen, new cabinets, updated bathroom, and new furniture in the bedroom and lanai. The toiletries are wonderful. I was amazed at the fine quality of the kitchen ware and cutlery as well as the appliances. Everyone was gracious, welcoming and exhibited warm Hawaiian hospitality. No extra fees for parking, WiFi, beach towels, snorkeling equipment or other sports equipment. They don't "nickel and dime you to death".

This place is not for the go-go-go folks. Leave that to the high rises in Ka'anapali Beach area. Napili Kai's charm is in the relaxed pace and feel of the resort. No high rises, and right on Napili Bay. Just roll out of bed onto the beach. Lots of grassy areas and nice gardens around the buildings. I thoroughly enjoyed my relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmdwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    161
    43
    17
    16
See reviews for
208
383
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for 4 days, spent the other half of our trip in Hana, last March. We rented an Ocean View Studio, which was nice. The decor and standard of the room was a bit "dated" but very clean and the bed comfy. The view from our lanai was awesome, the grounds immaculate and desk-staff welcoming. Kitchen was outfitted well and we did not find ourselves wanting for anything during our stay. There is also a grocery store nearby with all you need.


The location really can't be beat. Our main goal was to snorkel and that we did! You have Napili out front and a 3 minute walk over to Kapalua and a 5 minute drive to Honolua, but I suppose you could walk, for some great snorkeling. We would've enjoyed the jacuzzi but there are generally too many children in it.

The restaurant was nice in that the food was superb (love the Macadamia nut pancakes) and of course the view couldn't be beat. However, the waitstaff (non-islanders) were kind'a...less than friendly....each time we ate there.

Overall the place can't be beat. I am, actually, checking availability at the moment:)

Room Tip: Ocean view studio or better is recommended. The smaller rooms looked to be VERY small and without th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuxuryLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here 8 remarkable days in January 2011. The room was fabulous, spacious, the lanai was outstanding for relaxing and pleasure. The views were spectacular. Service was transparent, but exactly how we like it! Location allowed for gorgeous walks, romantic interludes, ample snorkeling, swimming, sea kayaking...we even had a sea lion on the beach while we enjoyed our breakfast. My kids and I went here in January 2005...there has been much growth in the area, but it's done tastefully and without too much negative effect. We will return! Now off to Guatemala!

Room Tip: Ask for the middle room overlooking the beach. Best lanai and secluded enough....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here one week in January, our last week out of 3 on Maui. The locations is fabulous, right on the beach, the staff super friendly in a genuine way. The rooms have all you need - nothing spectacular or 7 star, but very clean, new decor and furniture, spacious. If the large resorts in Kanaapali are not your cup of tea you will love this! Also try Kapalua beach in the next bay along for snorkaling, and Meeriman's for sunset drinks or dinner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beautytravelerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Napili Kai is such a restful, peaceful property that stress just melts away. There are wonderful services available (free snorkel gear, beach chairs, beach towels) and a great beachside restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, happy hour/pupuu platters, and dinner RIGHT ON THE BEACH. You really never have to leave the property. We did go to the next beach up (Kapalua Bay) because we felt snorkeling was better, but it is literally right across the parking lot of Napili Kai.

There was plenty of whale watching just sitting on the beach along with dolphins racing through the water so much so they looked like they were flying! And there were so many beautiful, colorful schools of fish along a couple of green sea turtles and stunning coral reefs when snorkeling.

We plan to this our annual winter getaway.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bagsarealwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

It's the perfect blend of condo and hotel. There's a kitchen, so you're not forced to eat out for every meal. Barbecues for seared ahi if you want. The best beach on Maui is right here. Free snorkels. Snack bar. Pupu parties. Right across the street from the Kapalua Tennis center. Beautiful Kapalua hikes begin at the next beach over, about 30 seconds away from the NK parking lot. There's an ancient Hawaiian salt-making site at the water's edge on the property. I can't say enough about the relaxed, quiet atmosphere here.

Room Tip: The Puna II suites are fabulous if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank misssnootysnoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We have stayed at Napili Kai 4 times over the last 27 years. Everytime we visit we are reminded why it so so special. The view of Napili Bay is fantastic. We stayed in both the Aloha and Lani buildings. Both with great views of the beach and ocean. The atmosphere is so relaxed and quiet. Great place to relax and rejuvenate enjoying great swimming, snorkeling in the bay and the whoosh of the waves. If you are looking for the beach scene or being on top of shopping and ultra-tourist hot spots this is not the place. But if you are looking to kick back and enjoy some quiet time or time with the family this is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms in Lani, Puna or Aloha are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bumpkin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
9.0 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
26.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing