We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We have stayed at Napili Kai 4 times over the last 27 years. Everytime we visit we are reminded why it so so special. The view of Napili Bay is fantastic. We stayed in both the Aloha and Lani buildings. Both with great views of the beach and ocean. The atmosphere is so relaxed and quiet. Great place to relax and rejuvenate enjoying great swimming, snorkeling in the bay and the whoosh of the waves. If you are looking for the beach scene or being on top of shopping and ultra-tourist hot spots this is not the place. But if you are looking to kick back and enjoy some quiet time or time with the family this is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms in Lani, Puna or Aloha are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bumpkin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    161
    42
    16
    17
See reviews for
205
381
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Maui is a busy island but I discovered Heaven at Napili Kai. It is what Hawaii used to be before the big multistory hotels were built: ceiling fans, doors that open to the beach and no noisy and unnecessary air conditioners!

The two story buildings surround a gorgeous bay and beautiful beach. The rooms are comfortable, updated , including a kitchenette, with privacy from the next door neighbors. Our room was maybe 25 yds, from the water. The spacious and open grounds have two pools, lovely, well manicured gardens, a terrific and reasonable restaurant and super bar for after beach cocktails.. AND manicures and massages are available in a quiet corner of the grounds.The staff is beyond amazing and helpful in the old Hawaiian style of O Hana.
We played golf every other day for two weeks at fabulous golf courses that are a short distance from the resort. Wish I played better golf!

Most of the guests have returned for many years and so are friendly but not intrusive. There are morning programs and demonstrations about life in Hawaii. It is perfect for families and couples. Amazingly, all the children were well behaved and sociable.

Room Tip: They all are wonderful but the units at beach front are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed there on a beach front one bedroom during Thanksgiving 2011 and enjoyed the place from the second we walked in. It's tranquility, authentic hawaiian beautity, close calm beach, snorkeling and beach restuarant is so satisfying that we never left. I have stayed in many different resorts in my life time but Napili Kai is by far my favorit! The only suggestion for improvement I have is to improve the quality of the food served during holiday dinners. The Turkey dinner was terrible.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mallya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This resort only changes for the better every year . . . we stayed in the newly remodeled PUNA II building and it is spectacular . . . I cannot imagine anything else that could have been done to make these units any more comfortable & "up ot date".

The PUNA POINT building is closed right now for upgrade to all units and rumor has it that the owners of it & PUNA II are somewhat competitive as far as to which will have the better upgrade . . . if that is true then PUNA POINT should be nothing less than fabulous.

The activities, both free & charge, are designed to keep you active . . . the Monday "Putting Party" on their 18 hole putting course is a really fun way to get to know other guests, not to mention the port-a-bar with 50 cent drinks. The complimentary Thursday Mai Tai is another guest function that lets you mingle.

Anyway . . . our 29th adventure to Maui was great as usual and we hope to return next year although at our age air travel is getting to be a struggle . . . we can only hope.

Room Tip: If you require A/C check before you book to make sure you have it . . . some buildings have A/C and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaddyshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here for a week in Dec 2011 and had a great stay. The resort is very, very luxurious, with a great beach, great clean pools, a generous beach hut for towels, snorkel gear etc (although staff at the beach hut weren't as available as I'd of liked at times). Each day there were various activities and shows to see + I enjoyed the 'morning coffee' served in the lobby each day. The onsite restaurant, Sea House, features great food but sadly rather obnoxious staff (compared to the very friendly and helpful staff throughout the rest of the resort). Well worth the 0.5 mile walk to the gazeebo on the other resort at the end of the beach - great food, good value and friendly staff.

The main downside was our room. Although the room (we had studio above the main lobby) was a good size and had a really, really good view of the beach it was looking quite dated. i.e. lots of beige plastic, couple of sockets not working, scuff marks and scratches here and there and a generous sized bed, but it had seen better days (mattress felt worn and the bedding could be crispier). Also, not a problem for me, but there are no curtains/blinds to the room; the front of which is a large balcony/windows overlooking the beach. However, it was clean and worked well and our 1 year old enjoyed tottering around in it and was happy enough with her crib and waking with sunrise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovestocycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We've been to Napili Kai Resort at least a dozen times over the past 15 years, thanks to a recommendation from my parents who spent 20 years visiting a lot of great spots in the islands and settling on Napili as their favorite. Napili Bay is beautiful, serene, uncrowded, and has a fantastic view of the sun setting between Molokai and Lanai islands. The snorkeling is OK, but you can always find turtles in the middle of the bay. The hotel is unassuming but made to order for families. Most of the guests you run across have been coming with their families for many years. It's the most relaxing place in the world that I have ever been to, and I've done my share of traveling. Don't go to Napili if you want water slides and great nightlife, however. There are quite a few great restaurants close by, but dinner is over around 9. Lahaina offers more nightlife, but even there you are not going to be dancing til midnight. The Napili restaurant (Sea House) has a spectacular view, right on the beach, and is very popular with good reason. Napili is a place you come to relax and enjoy the views, the trade winds, and the sunsets. We will be back many times I am sure. Caution: it is much more likely to rain at Napili than in the Wailea or Kaanapali areas of Maui, but the surroundings are green and the views more than make up for this minor inconvenience. Rain usually lasts no more than 10-15 minutes, but on rare occasions can come and go for a day or two.

Room Tip: All kinds of rooms and views to choose from, all with views. Tell the reservation person what you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pichuyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Wonderful resort and the friendliest, most helpful staff. Stayed in Lahaina 2, room 324 which was beautifully re furbished with every item you could ever want and a great view. Because the place was so great I feel disloyal to state any negatives. But you need to understand this is a remote resort, 36 miles from the airport. The beach is amazing and the resort is on the beach but it's towards the North of the island and thus 1-2 degrees cooler. Because of this we found ourselves taking the local bus (which is cheap, efficient and good) to Kalaahani beach most days where there is less cloud cover. Not much vegetarian choice on menus's.
But like I said the resort itself is amazing, staff so helpful, view's perfect and they have a real community feel with info and demo's on Hawaiian customs and so many things were complimentary that despite the few things above stopping the perfect score I would stay here again and recommend this to anyone who wants pure relaxation and a great time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank misterevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
26.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing