We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Maui”
Reviewed October 14, 2007

The beach is wonderful; not too crowded & plenty of snorkeling right off the beach. The room was immaculate & view was as beautiful as advertized. We had an ocean view studio.

The kitchen equip is good - full size frig, stove, and plenty of pots/pans. We were amazed at how large the room is. A wonderful relaxing place to stay and hang out; the lanai was roomy. There are several grocery stores and restaraunts in the area (not true a few years ago!).

Those looking for night-life would want to choose somewhere else (or be willing to zip down to Lahaina to find it).

  • Liked — View & proximity to quiet/clean beach.
  • Disliked — Roomy & large lanai.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank seattledogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    183
    48
    18
    17
See reviews for
237
426
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

Staying at Napili Kai Sept 30 through Oct 6, 2007 - we found the resort to be beautiful, secluded and quiet. The room (booked as a hotel room in Keaka 1 building) was spacious and well appointed with a view to the ocean. Sunsets from our lanai were a nightly treat.

The staff was, to a person, professional and helpful. Any issues we had were immediately addressed by the front desk staff...and our lone 'problem' - someone smoking in the non-smoking building - was dealt with within 24 hours (the people were moved to a smoking building).
The housekeeping staff was prompt and pleasant - and we requested specific times each day for housekeeping - which was honored. We had the same housekeeper for the entire week.

Napili Bay is beautiful and easy to swim. Kapalua Bay next door is perfect snorkeling for all levels of experience.

We loved the Sea House Restaurant and ate there frequently. Lunches were especially good and they tend to use local upcountry produce...and also have the best Lava Flows on the island (in my humble opinion!) A nice alternative for dining is Pineapple Grill - less than 1/8 mile up the street. Also fabulous food with local products.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank NativeSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Stayed at the Napili Kai with my parents for Christmas week of 2002. Simply a stunning hotel. We had an ocean view studio that had gorgeous views of the sea and brought in cool ocean breezes at night.

The Napili Kai was decked out for Christmas with a gorgeous Christmas tree in the lobby. The highlight was a Napili Kai teddy bear brought to each room.

The hotel is perfect for honeymooners or those looking to get away from it all. It's a fair distance, although walkable, from any shops. A rental car is needed, since the hotel is on the north part of the island and approximately a 15-minute drive from Lahaina.

  • Liked — Secluded.
  • Disliked — Not a lot of new people to meet, since everyone's there with families.
  • Stayed December 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sankoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Our stay at the Napili Kai Beach Resort concluded on Saturday September 29, a four night stay. The first incident occured when my wife was harrassed on the beach and accused of not being a patron of the hotel by one of the employees working in the Makai Hale because we had not signed up for a beach towel which would have identified as patrons, allowing us to use the resorts chairs on the beach. We had our own towels and chairs were not items signed out for. By the way the verb harrass was used by the employee to describe her behavior, not a description we stamped this individual with. We then asked the employee to find out about the Honeymoon package which we were identified under(we were honeymooners) in hopes of getting the sparkling wine, food certificates....etc... included with this service (as advertised and stated in our itinerary). Upon returning the towel and snorkeling equipment the employee proceeded to tell me she spoke to my wife and the resort would be taking care of this for us. Nothing was ever done and we left the resort with a sour tatse in our mouths.

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — The only restaurant, Sea House, was awful...we even tried it three times....room also smelled...bought glade candles at local Safeway.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dimitree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

My wife and I spent 6 glorious days in Napili Kai Beach Resort from 9/10 - 9/15. We had spent the prior week in Waikiki and wanted to relax and just enjoy Maui.

Our unit was literally 20 paces from the beach. The grounds are maintained in an extraordinary manner. The staff was extremely helpful. The bay was calm and inviting. The beach was immaculate. Each night we watched the sunset from the beach (amazing).The Sea House restaurant (although pricey) was excellent.

If there is a slight negative, it is the parking. The spaces are tight and there aren't enough.

We would highly recommend NKBR to all visitors.

Pat & Sharon

ps: If you fly into Kapalua airport, you are only 3 miles from the resort versus 50 minutes from the main airport. The town of Lahaina is only 10 minutes away.
.

  • Liked — Prroximity to beach
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RelaxandEnjoyMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

No high density high rises here. Local zoning laws permit nothing higher than the palm trees. The Napili Kai property on the north end of Napili Bay is a little slice of old Hawaii charm. Our beachfront room was just a handful of steps from the sand. The on site restaurant is unlike anything you will find anywhere else on the island. It sits literally right on the edge of the beach with stunning sunset view and excellent food. It's somewhat pricey but most rooms have kitchenettes and there are barbeque grills spread around the property so you can enjoy your own home cooked, in-room meals. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. Everywhere you turn you will see employees that have worked at Napili Kai for 20+ years which speaks volumes for the company. And I must confess, we've been returning here for vacations for 9 of the past 12 years. Napili Bay isn't the top snorkeling beach on Maui, but we found sea turtles on the reef virtually every day of our two week stay. And even over the Labor Day holiday weekend, the beach was not at all crowded. Would we go again? We made our reservations for next year when we checked out.

  • Liked — Relaxing, friendly environment. Stunning sunset views.
  • Disliked — pools are not heated and seemed colder than the ocean water
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank VCSnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We stayed in a one bedroom Ocean Front Condo. The view was out of this world, but if you want to be closer to the bathing beach, you may wish to choose an ocean view room. The rooms are well maintained and cleaning service is available on a daily basis (they do not clean your kitchen area). The snorkeling at the beach is great and it is a wonderful resort for families with children. My 7 year old daughter loved the beach (calm surf), the putting greens and the snorkeling. The resort has snorkeling gear, but I would recommend going to Snorkel Bob's ( they also have boogie boards for rent).The Napili Kai Market is a short drive (less than 5 minutes) and was a frequent stop for food and beverages. There is also a restaurant and snack bar located on the grounds. I have no hesitations in recommending this resort.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Bapdgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.6 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing