We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I almost hate to write a review as I don't want too many people to find out about this hidden jewel. We stayed at The Mauian for 2 weeks in November.
As noted in previous reviews; it is small and quiet with no AC, TV or telephone, right on Napili Bay Beach. A lovely way to experience the "Aloha Spirit".
For breakfast we enjoyed lots of fresh fruit, wonderful coffee and very good cinnamon toast, along with bagels and other baked goods. Eating breakfast in the common room was a nice way to meet some of the other guests; many of whom had been coming to The Mauian for years.
The staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and have everything you need.
Our room faced west, so it did get quite warm in the afternoon, but we soon learned to keep the blinds closed and the fans on full. However we did get to see those famous Maui sunsets from our Lanai . We spent most of the day on the beach anyway.
The pool area, with the BarBQ grills, and the lovely gardens are well maintained.
Good snorkeling right off the hotel beach. We were just a bit early for the whales but did watch a lot of turtles.
There is good shopping at the Napili Plaza just a few minutes away.
Right next door, at The Napili Kai Resort, is The Seahouse Restaurant, a great place for dinner and they do a nice happy hour.
This was our first visit and it won't be our last.

Room Tip: Rooms that face East do not get the afternoon sun so stay cooler. Rooms on the second floor are mor...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bioniccoulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 355 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

spent 2 nights there recently with friends celebrating a #50 birthday party. Rooms very well appointed, clean, updated. Happy that it retains the old Hawaiian feeling and aloha spirit. Grounds kept up, staff attentive and friendly, what's not to love. We were able to put 3 people in a room easily. Perfect beach. Able to walk to Merrimans for a celebration dinner watching the whales play..any time on Maui, we plan to come back

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodie54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Small and Hawaiian family owned, right on Napili Bay. Don't come here if you need a TV or air conditioning - the place is QUIET! Small rooms but so clean accommodating. We love this place. Good for a couple, family friendly, pool, and grills well maintained. Breakfast every morning with fresh fruit from the island.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is close to full view -
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowandsurf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December. It is a very simple resort on beautiful Napilli Bay. Our room faced the ocean and we could hear the waves every night.
Unfortunately, the walls are thin and we heard the family below us in daily conversation which included reprimanding their children a large majority of the time. Therefore we tried to be off site as much as possible. Just a reminder no air conditioning to block outside conversations and no tv.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank KonaKai1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I live in Kihei on Maui and we wanted to explore the west side for a couple of days. The room ( partial ocean view)was very comfortable and we were steps away from the lovely Napili beach (good for a swimming, body surfing, stand up paddling and snorkeling). The main thing for me is cleanliness and I was very pleased with the conditions of the room and even the grills and outside common area were kept up. Plumeria trees are located right outside our balcony and their fragrance is lovely to wake up to.
Things to note:
There is a grocery store about 1 mile away from the hotel if you need supplies.
A restaurant is located at one end of the beach and we heard that it is very good however we grilled out on the property.
This is a great spot to watch the sunset.
We didn't realize there was not going to be a TV in the room however we did bring our iPad which has some downloaded movies - the point however would be that you are having such a nice time at the beach that by the time you return to the room from the day you don't really need much more than a clean room!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alohaduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My partner and I recently returned from 5 nights at the Mauian earlier this month. It's hard to find fault in this property. I've reviewed this property once before, but let me tell you all the things that I love about the Mauian and the reason we'll be back again next year.

What I love:
- Check-in: SO easy. Yes, Napili Bay is a longish drive from the airport and it's easy to drive right past The Mauian if you're not paying attention. However, unlike most large hotels, there is NO line to check-in, no extras trying to be sold to you, no ridiculous large corridors to roam down, etc. There are 2 ladies (extremely nice) inside a small office. They have your keys read, a map, some coupons, etc. There is even a white board welcoming all the guests for that day. It was a nice treat to not only see my name but to see that the receptionist remembered us from the prior year.

- Breakfast: It's harder and harder to find properties that have breakfast included in the rate. While this is more on the continental breakfast side - it has everything you need: great coffee, fresh fruits, breads, jams, etc. Since you'll have a kitchen in your room - you can easily whip up an egg or waffle to go with this. We love this breakfast - it's just the right amount of food to start your day!

- The rooms: We've been in both October and November and neither time did we find we needed air conditioning. This is something that I see people complain about - but the wind off the ocean is amazing. The large ceiling fans keep it cool and most of the property is in a shady area - so I never felt that the sun was beating down into our windows. The decor is fresh, welcoming, modern but still remaining true to "true-Hawaii." This place has everything you need for 5-30 nights of 100% relaxation.

- The beach: Napili Bay is amazing. We've been all over Maui and we can't find a spot we like better than this one. The beach is not crowded, the waves are just right and the water is a perfect blue. Sea turtles visit frequently and the water is calm enough to do the stand-up paddle board all day. If there's a heaven, I hope it looks a lot like this beach! My only complaint this year is that the palm tree we called "ours" last year was full of bees this year. It was starting to bloom some type of flower/fruit and the bees were loving it. :(

What's Changed from Last Year:
- 808 Boards: This was new this year and an awesome addition- boards were new, service was great and the location is literally RIGHT next door

- Weather: I've decided that the weather in October is a bit better than in November. We had occasional sprinkles this year on a daily basis - but we didn't let this ruin our trip at all. They never lasted more than 10-15 minutes. October, for us, seems to be a bit warmer and more consistent sun.

- Coastal Trail: For those that run (avid runner here), I found a Coastal Trail close to the hotel that was great for running in the morning. I woke up at 6:30 every morning to get a run in and it was great to run right along the coast line. This was a great find.

Overall, The Mauian is the perfect spot for us. If you like to relax, enjoy quiet evenings and cool winds, don't need a TV or air conditioning and want to go home feeling refreshed- I recommend that you choose this place. We stayed on the 2nd floor this time and enjoyed it more than the first floor. Building B is perfect for us!

Room Tip: 2nd floor, Building B
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelingteacher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we couldn't have been more pleased. The staff is attentive, the accommodations were more than satisfactory and the beach, almost at our feet, is beautiful. This resort/hotel is much more comfortable than the fancy high-end resorts we checked out while there. We would visit there again.

Room Tip: The ground level is best for those with young families.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
4.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
23.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,561 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Lahaina
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach

Address: 5441 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Napili, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9050
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $235 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches on Napili Bay, this hotel offers a peaceful escape with a variety of activities and friendly services. The Mauian Hotel features quiet guestrooms without phones, stereos or TVs. For technological amenities, guests can visit the Ohana Room to watch TV or use free wireless internet access. In the morning, guests will enjoy a free continental breakfast, then can play on one of the oceanfront shuffleboard courts. Championship golf and tennis is available at the adjacent Kapalua Resort. The area surrounding the Mauian is also filled with hiking, water sports and shopping opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauian Hotel
The Mauian Hotel On Napili Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing