We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I needed for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just what I needed for one night”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

PROS
+ terrific location - you can see the ocean from your room, just a half block from a beautiful beach
+ super friendly service
+ free breakfast buffet
+ nicely appointed room, with lanai
+ walking distance to Merriman's

Considerations
- no AC - fine for one night, but might be hard for some when it's extremely hot
- shampoo and conditioner combo was not great, I'd suggest bringing your own
- not a ton of privacy - decks, buildings are fairly close together and there are a number of people on the beach. Perfectly fine for me (traveling solo) and my needs on this trip though.
- screens on windows, but not on main lanai door

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFCA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    115
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
79
188
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our room was metres away from the beach, premises clean, resort relaxed, love that grounds are open, we had a fabulous stay there, we were visiting for a wedding and quite a few of our family stayed here. Staff were friendly and helpful, great photo opportunities over the beach, sunrises and sunsets, easy walking to restaurants, shops easy walk away. Looking forward to returning with family again.
No airconditioning in the rooms, ceiling fans were going non stop, we did through the early morning hours get a good breeze through the kitchen windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is the perfect location if you're looking to get away from the big resorts and the prices are really reasonable. The rooms are just steps away from the beach and regardless if you get a pool view or beach view the grounds are kept in prestige condition. The rooms have a modern look with that island feel. The only reason I gave it less than 5 is because you can hear everyone around your room. It seems like the walls are very thin and your next door neighbor is just a thin door away. Other than that for the price and the Location!! this is an awesome spot to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Earl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We discovered The Mauian for ourselves when we were looking for a place convenient to Kapalua Bay's fabulous snorkeling. But what has kept us coming back since then (probably 2006) is the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The accommodations (updated a couple of years ago) are wonderful, and it is right on the beach. Oh, and Kapalua Bay is a short walk, especially if you take a short-cut like I do through the Napili Kai. We have met and enjoyed socializing with people from all over the country, with diverse tastes and styles. The staff take care of the guests quietly and without fuss. We are taking my sister and her husband in November - and they are from Florida!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have foot traffic about 20 feet from the lanai, but that is how we meet people. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mauian with our kids and grandkids. We rented three separate units which worked out well. Our unit had the kitchen which we shared for meals. Our rooms were on the ground floor which made it nice for the grandkids to play on the grounds and reach the beach easily. The hotel is wonderful and close to many great restaurants. This property is very family friendly. Only steps to the beach with beach towels and chairs provided. Wonderful memories were made.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay. Six nights.
We had a partial ocean view room...it was at the top and second in from the ocean, perfect position. Not sure I would see any further value in full ocean view.

Situated on a nice little beach with calm ocean great for swimming, stand up paddle boarding and snorkeling. Beach was so great we didn't even venture to the pool. Loads of beach chairs!!!

Nice big grassy lawn perfect for kids to play if you have them or watching the beautiful sunsets!

Room was very spacious for hotel room. King bed , full size sofa bed, kitchenette with full cooking facilities and fridge/freezer, table/chairs and generous bathroom. Although we didn't cook/dine in our room you could certainly do this comfortably.

A convenience store located next door that seems to have everything you are looking for! Also a couple of food outlets within a short walk.

Can't remember the name of the hotel receptionist (Lani?), but she was lovely and very helpful.

A hire car is a must for venturing around to other parts of the island.

Overall a great place to stay for couples or families both young or old.

Loved our time at the mauian. Highly recomend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorobinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We never want to leave! Everything about this place is perfect. The bed is very comfortable, the room is clean and decorated in island style. The fridge is full size which is convenient. The best part about this place is the beach that is steps out the door. They provide towels and beach chairs, what more could one ask for? We will definitely be returning to this relaxing, comfy hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maren_d17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
4.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,876 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
1,061 reviews
23.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach

Property: The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Address: 5441 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Napili, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9050
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches on Napili Bay, this hotel offers a peaceful escape with a variety of activities and friendly services. The Mauian Hotel features quiet guestrooms without phones, stereos or TVs. For technological amenities, guests can visit the Ohana Room to watch TV or use free wireless internet access. In the morning, guests will enjoy a free continental breakfast, then can play on one of the oceanfront shuffleboard courts. Championship golf and tennis is available at the adjacent Kapalua Resort. The area surrounding the Mauian is also filled with hiking, water sports and shopping opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauian Hotel
The Mauian Hotel On Napili Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing