We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Nearby Hotels
$392
$339
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$518
$479
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$287
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$360
$299
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$386
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$268
$257
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
205
120
35
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
120
35
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsohana roomcinnamon breadcoffee and juiceair conditioningfresh fruitbeach chairs and towelsbeautiful napili baycoastal trailhouse restaurantsized fridgecross breezefull kitchensmall poolthe ground floorbbq areaold hawaiithe trade winds
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 373 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Mauian is a gem in the middle of resorts. We were told about this place by different friends in different cities who don't know each other. We knew we had to try it. First, it is reasonably priced...if you can say that about anything in Hawaii. We had a "partial" view room. Partial if you are 6' 2". (my husband could see the ocean when he stood up). No view if you are 5'4". However the beautiful trees and plants outside our deck would be hard to complain about. We have a beautiful unit with kitchen facilities, sitting area, deck, and a very comfortable bed (memory foam, which I usually don't like, but this one is great!). the ceilings are beautiful! The breakfast has toast, scones, rolls, a variety of fruit, and some "kid" boxes of cereal. No protein, which I like in the morning. I wish there was yogurt. The beach is beautiful. Chairs and beach towels are provided. We bought a small foldable cooler at a grocery store which I highly recommend for water, drinks or snacks. The snorkeling right here is the best! Saw many fish and turtles. The only bummer are the towels and wash cloths.... They are gray! Not sure why...its obvious they once were white. They need to get some good bleach or buy new. The towels and washcloths are a real turn off! When we asked for fresh ones the first day the help told us no...we get new every other day. We took that to mean our room would be cleaned every other day, but actually it has been beautifully taken care of every day with "fresh" towels every day but that one. We didn't go in the pool, but it looks inviting and is in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Get the suites! Not much more $ and worth the location and amenities
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRVLFRK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The pictures on the website does not reflect what the rooms actually look like. They are small and dark. The property looks like an old senior community converted into a beach motel. We stayed in the ocean view studio, however given a room on the ground floor actually provides no view of the ocean. The walls and flooring are not insulated so you can hear a pin drop. Since there isn't air conditioning, you have to leave the windows opened which translates into hearing all the guests and footsteps outside your room. We definitely didn't expect this experience from a "boutique" beach "hotel". The only reason I gave them a poor and not a terrible rating is for its proximity to the beach and the free breakfast. Still not worth over $200/ night. If you're looking for the noisiest beachfront property, then this is your place. At least a television could've drowned out the background bustle and shuffle.

Room Tip: If you absolutely are convinced in staying here, ask for a top floor studio.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

3rd trip to The Mauian, probably my last.
It truly is a great spot, especially for children, so if you are looking for peace and quiet with a sister as I was this past time this is not the place. I estimate 50+ children from newborns to teenagers screaming at the top of there lungs from 6AM until 9PM, and their parents allowing it and even joining in from time to time, (which really is the problem here). The Mauian also does not employ any kind of security so this behavior was just alllowed to go on. Because of the lack of security there is also an influx of "locals" using the facilities, accessways, chairs, parking, and hanging out on the grounds, etc.
2nd trip in February we happened to be there while a large group of "older folks" held a shuffle board torny, not sure which trip was worse.
The Mauian is one of my favorite spots in the world, but people need to realize that I don't want to be a part of there vacations and they shouldn't be a part of mine!

Room Tip: All rooms are loud!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Mauian 2 years ago and fell in love with it . So to round off our trip to America and Alaska this year we decided a few nights at the Mauian to relax on our way home was a good idea.
We werent disappointed, it was like coming home . The staff are so friendly and the complex so relaxing and well kept.
Agreat job was done on the poolside hut and breakfast room, which were being worked on last time we were here.
The grounds and the BBQ areas around the pool are so well looked after.
The rooms have everything you need with the added bonus that there is no tv or radios in the rooms, a welcome change. and thanks to the shutters back and front and the cieling fans , no need for noisy air conditioning . We were on the top floor and sitting on the balcony sipping on a drink at sunset was perfect.
The beautiful beach is a stones throw away .
The Seahouse Restaurant is a short walk away and offers delicious snacks, drinks and meals.
We will definately be back !

Room Tip: top floor has lovely views and balconys and you have a little more privacy as people arent walking past your room all the time
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug_australia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had been traveling the US for 3 weeks staying hyatts and hiltons and were in need of change of pace. The Mauian delivered for us everything that we wanted and needed. This resort is a family paradise - lovely green grounds, beach within 'spitting' distance, no tv and peace and quiet. We had an upstairs unit which had a lovely view of the beach - there is no aircon and you do not need it - the trade winds blow consistently cooling the room and the fans also help to keep the air moving - we loved this place but it is not for everyone, if you are after 5 star pampering and pomp then head to Wailea! continental breakfast is included which was adequate, there are plenty of stores close by to buy more supplies if needed - recommend car rental in maui so you can get around and explore! The pool is small and we didn't use - the beach is so close you wouldn't bother with the pool - the beach does drop off close to the waters edge and becomes deep - great for kids who like to ride boogie boards into the waves from the beach! There was a little surf but not enough for surfboards as it breaks too close to shore!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Narp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews