We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of repair and extermination”
Review of Maui Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maui Sands
Ranked #27 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Redmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In need of repair and extermination”
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed at the Maui Sands Unit 5E for one week in November. The building is two-story that looks like a motel. Both the building and the room need some serious updating. Wires are exposed in several places, and the carpet in the room looks old and full of stains.

Worse yet, the kitchen area is full of small ants. We discovered the ants when we first arrieved and emailed the owner for a solution. We did not hear anything from her at all. I guess once you have paid, you are locked in. My wife almost wanted to leave immediately. She only stayed after I went out to get some bug spray and fumigated the whole kitchen area.

Overall, the experience is not very pleasant. I would not recommend this property at all. This place is way over-priced for what you are getting.

Also, when we made the reservation, we were told that we could swim in the ocean right outside the building. The fact is you can, but the surf is quite severe, and you must be a very good swimmer to avoid being thrown onto the rocks. Definitely not for the faint of heart.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — run down place
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2007

We loved our stay here. Very quiet and relaxing. Close to everything we needed. ABC store right next to it- they have everything you could
need. Grounds were beautiful, no need for shoes.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank CtBk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2006

We stayed for 5 days at the Maui Sands Room 713, one suite away from ocean front. We loved the ability to cook our own meals, and enjoy the beautiful sounds of the surf from every room in the condo. The building we stayed at was built in the 1970's as inscribed in the cement stairs, but it was well kept with several updates to the bathrooms and kitchen. The condo was freshly painted before we moved in, and there was most things that people would require in the kitchen, along with fun stuff like snorkel and goggles to explore the reef in front of the property. We loved it, it was close to most things we enjoy and we definately recommend.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DarcyInWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2006

We stayd 12 nights at Maui Sands [--] Unit 5C. It was an ocean front condo, reasonably priced, two bedroom, clean, and very nice. It was very close to the heart of things in Lahaina (2 miles down the road), close to all restaurants. We also went to the Old Lahaina Luau was a great show but the food was not very good. The Hula Grill was ocean front and have good food.

Helpful?
9 Thank gbriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 14, 2005

Our stay at Maui Sands was wonderful. The condo complex is an older facility. It is well kept and very low key. Our beachfront unit was clean and well equipped. You'll have to go to a beach further up or down the shore since the ocean comes right up to the property retaining wall.
Snorkeling is not too bad right out the door.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 8, 2005

Maui Sands is a wonderful condo for those looking for relaxation, comfort, and convenience. If you're looking for fancy then this isn't the place. However, if you want a gorgeous location, right on the beach with beautiful gardens, big pool, fully equipped rooms including full kitchen so you don't have to eat out, then Maui Sands is perfect. I've been to Maui Sands 4 times now, soon to be 5 so that has to tell you something. My family and I just love it. Great location, great atmosphere, just great!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2005

Recently stayed at the Maui Sands Condiminium on Maui. It is an older, small complex right on the ocean. We had a ground floor unit which is nice for convienence to the beach, but not so good for sweeping views of the horizon.
The two bedroom unit was quite comfortable for the 4 of us. The furnishings were adequate however a lttle worn and the kitchen was functional but needed updated. The extra linens, beach towels, and beach toys and chairs was a pleasant surprise. This two story complex is very quiet and has beautiful landscaping and gardens. The pool is large and well maintained and there are several barbeque grills available as well as on site laundromat. If you want peace and quiet this is the place. If you want lots of activities and amenities you need a resort. We paid $150 a night and felt it was a bargain compaired to other prices around Easter.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank hawaiimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.4 mi away
Makani Sands
Makani Sands
#25 of 41 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#17 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Kai
Maui Kai
#2 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paki Maui Resort
Paki Maui Resort
#32 of 41 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lokelani Condominiums
Lokelani Condominiums
#13 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaleialoha Condominiums
Kaleialoha Condominiums
#10 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands

Property: Maui Sands
Address: 3600 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Honokowai, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8985
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maui Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sands Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing