We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Sands 714 : good value”
Review of Maui Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Sands
Ranked #28 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My family of three spent 17 nights here over Christmas. It was not a surprise to us that the building was older, the snorkelling at the resort has poor visibility, and the decor of the suite is a little dated...in fact these are good things, not bad. They all meant that there was availability and that it was afforable. You likely cannot rent a 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen anywhere at this price, nevermind on the ocean in paradise. We'd researched and knew what to expect.
We were not disappointed. Great snorkelling at Kahekili beach park and out front of the Westin (25 minute walk) and at Kapalua (15 minutes on the bus, then 4 minute walk.) Farmer's market and health food store were 3 minute walk north. Snorkel/fishing shop 1 minute away.
Full grocery store 8 minute walk south. Depending on what you wish to do on Maui, there may be no need to rent a car, there wasn't for us. We walked or rode the transit bus to all sorts of great snorkelling and beach adventures. It'll take you to the Maui Ocean Center in Malaea (a very good aquarium, and well worth it.)
Maui sands may not be for those who are accustomed to 5 star comforts and whiteglove service. As for me and my family, we had an excellent vacation, enjoyed cooking for ourselves with saltwater breezes blowing through from the lanai and falling asleep each night to the sound of the surf and the memories of a day well-spent exploring undersea wonders.

Room Tip: Top floor of 2-storey was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank find-a-fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 82 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

Nov.-Dec. 2011. A location long pasted it's prime. When we booked our stay, no one told us they would be replacing the roofs on all the buildings. All day long you hear banging and hammering, workmen talking, heavy equipment moving or parked on the grass areas and walkways. Much of the lawn was brown from the building repair. The part of the grass that was green had animal feces from all the cats. No safe or healthy place for kids to play.To add to our stay. The nights were not much better. At night there was road work right out front of the property. No, rest from the noise.

The pool was cloudy. One of the units near the pool has a 3 or 4 year old child that would cry and fuss at all times of the day or night. (The parents of that child need to be on Dr. Phil's Show)

I guess much of their reviews must come from the owners themselves. The parking lots is not secure. Although, we did not have any problems with our rental. We did talk to people who lived there. That told us their cars had been stolen or broken into.

The bus stop is very close and it is easy to get downtown by bus. Only $2 for an all day pass. You should find Lahiana Town a fun place to shop,eat and just spend the day.

Next time, we will spend a few more dollars and stay at a place we can relax and enjoy. Some place safe for our kids.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
4  Thank Roger104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I think this is 10th time we have rented on the oceanfront and we love it. The proximity of the property to the ocean is a few feet and yes you can swim in front but best at low tide. The gardens are very well kept and the Prperty mnager Ken does an excellent job keeping this older resort in good condition. We usually stay in 5B but have rented other oceanfront units such as 5A, 5C, and 5D and they were fine. This is an older property so do not expect the style of the Marriot Ocean Club. The rates are very reasonabble.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We really liked Maui Sands unit 5C. It was nicely decorated and updated for the most part. Great location, great view, very quiet, nice lanai, and beautiful grounds. The condos do look very old when you drive up, but once you explore the unit and grounds, you will see how nice they are. You cannot swim in the ocean right in front of the unit as it is too rocky and the waves can get rough. We ended up driving to beaches, but there are many close by so not a problem. We saw whales from our Lanai which was very cool! Close to Lahanai which had great shopping and good restaurants to chose from. There are 2 negatives. One is the year round residents are older and tend to get crabby with any kind of noise. My 13 and 14 year old were playing Marco Polo in the pool and a resident yelled out of their window that they couldn't play the game because it echoed and it was too loud. We thought that was ridiculous! Also, no toys, floating chairs, inflatables, etc. allowed in the pool area. If your children like to play in a pool and make some noise, this is not the place for you to rent. The other issue we had was dealing with the rental agent.
Hard to communicate with and slow to respond. We would rent this unit again, but just us and not the kids. This unit is probably best fitted for people without kids or older teenage kids.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank carolannbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I stayed in unit 6B for one week and I enjoyed my time there immensely. While the complex is not new or fancy, it had a very welcoming and homey feel. Our unit didn't have air conditioning or washer and dryer but there were plenty of fans and a bank of washers and dryers for the complex.
I loved the location of the Maui Sands. It's easy walking distance to Times Market to the South and a great little farmers market to the North. Snorkel Bobs and Boss Frog are both represented as well. The only thing I would have changed about the location is the shallow reef. It would have been great being able to snorkel without having to jump in the car. That said, Blackrock, Airport and even Kapalua are all within a short hop down the road.
Our unit was nicely stocked and well appointed. It was very nice to have a well appointed kitchen to do our cooking. We BBQ'd steaks, used a crock pot to do a stew and also made use of the rice cooker as well. It was also very nice having plenty of spices at our disposal.
All in all I am very happy with Maui Sands and unit 6B. Do yourself a favor and skip the busy touristy type places and relax with Maui Sands as your base camp!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewBPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this property in July of 2010 for a week. Upon arriving, the place looked rundown and old from the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised at the renovations inside. Our disappointment came when we had to deal with sugar ants all over the place. They first appeared in the bathroom, then in the kitchen. We were sure not to leave anything out on the counters, so were very surprised when we found them. I did email the owners who quickly apologized and let us know that there was ant spray in the pantry. We found ourselves spraying and respraying for ants all week. Not something that I want to be doing on my vacation.
This unit is rented by Hawaii Vacation Rental by Owner Listing 223374

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seven79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Just stayed at Maui Sands 5E.The two bed room /two bath condo was amazing..absolutly Beautiful. The View was breath taking and Condo was well kept. A lot of fantastic art! Oh and the bathroom can't say enough never seen anything like it!..The price was right & it made my Maui Vacation and dream come true!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RockinCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.0 mi away
Paki Maui Resort
Paki Maui Resort
#32 of 43 in Lahaina
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makani Sands
Makani Sands
#26 of 43 in Lahaina
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#16 of 43 in Lahaina
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Polynesian Shores Condominiums
0.4 mi away
Maui Kai
Maui Kai
#2 of 43 in Lahaina
1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lokelani Condominiums
Lokelani Condominiums
#19 of 43 in Lahaina
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands

Address: 3600 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Honokowai, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8985
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $173 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maui Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sands Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing