We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kahana Falls(Lahaina)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
98
24
6
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
24
6
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarmers marketbeach parksea turtlesaffordable dinnerprivate beach areastreet noiseeach afternoonconch shellssmall beachliving roomvacation rentalfront officeboss frogshigh tideocean breezecondo complexboogie boards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 135 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This place is fabulous. Unit 213 is EXTRA fully equiped with everything you could possibly want. It's all newly remodeled and beautiful, completely up to date. The condomium complex is older but really lovely, only 2 stories and small. There is never a problem getting a chair by the pool, and when you sit by the pool, you are simultaneously sitting by the ocean. You can swim in the ocean and snorkel right in front. If you're up early enough, you can even make acquaintance with all the turtles having breakfast on the reef. The whales surface and play out in front and Matt has a great spotter scope for close up watching of the adults and their calves. I've been coming to Maui since 1980 and have stayed at several condos in the Honokowai/Kaanapali/Lahaina area (which is my favorite over Kihei or Wailea), and this will be one of my all-time favorite places to stay. The only negative might be that the noise from the street is considerable in the bedroom. But i seem to be able to sleep through it anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MauiAliinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Family & friends arranged a trip for my parents 50th Anniversary and this is their review: We stayed at Hale Kai room #217 a 1 bedroom condo with a panoramic view of the ocean and pool from the lanai. The view was more than we expected and you could see the turtles from the lanai. The kitchen with granite countertops had everything we needed. We swam in the pool and ocean everyday and met friendly people from different parts of the world. The owners were easy and nice to work with and Valerie in the office was very helpful and excellent to work with. The location was close to Lahaina and the farmers market was conveniently across the street. We will recommend this condo to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharanneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed in a two bedroom unit on the ground floor. Walking out the door put us near the ocean's and the pool. On several occasions we shared the ocean with Honu (Turtles) leisurly swimming in the surf.

Hale Kai consists of a pair of two-story buildings; one overlooking the oceanfront pool (where we stayed) and another overlooking Honokowai Beach Park. All of the units have a clear view of the ocean and the islands of Lana'i and Moloka'i. The pool is small but uncrowded; there was always a chaise and umbrella available when we went to the pool deck. The well groomed grounds are planted with plumeria and other tropical plants. A laundry room is on-site, and in a nice touch, has shelves filled with books for residents and guests to borrow. The parking lot was extremely convenient - we never parked more than ten or twenty yards away from the door to our condo.

We really enjoyed swimming in waves or eating on the lana'i while watching the sunset. A coffee shop and farmers market are right across the street, and more dining and shopping are a short walk away. The tourist district of Lahaina is ten minutes away by car.

Cool ocean breeze, beautiful views, dinner and wine on the lana'i - life is good!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdhuntsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed in Unit 217 which looks directly out to the pool and the ocean. There were turtles swimming right at our beachfront. We had all the amenities we needed including outdoor barbecue grills. The Farmer's Market Store is 2 minutes away on foot, and it is conveniently close to Lahaina and Kapalua Beach. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucky5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Great place in West Maui. Most Hale Kai condos have a balcony facing west, which makes for beautiful sunsets. One of the few places with a nice pool directly (10 meters) next to the ocean - most condos/hotels north of Lahaina don't have that, even if they are much more expensive. Affordable, but has everything that's needed, including friendly property manager, nice pool area, barbecue grills right next to the beach, free wireless internet access (keeps the teenagers happy), nice kitchens. We had stayed at Hale Kai the first time two years ago - both condos have been partially reburbished since, so the property is being kept up to date.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leopard154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews