We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving our Maui Home, 2-2 1/2 months each year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Ranked #10 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have just completed our 36th year at Hale Kai, and will return January1, 2015. We have experienced so many returners and regulars that we have a Hale Kai family. The family had brunch last Saturday at Sea House, with 27 attendees, which were the number still at the Hale Kai. Many regulars had already left, and more regulars were arriving. We know the full time owners and residents, and all are gracious to we "part timers".
Our annual stay is only as good as the management, and the last 6 years with Valerie have been outstanding, and hopefully repeatable forever.

Room Tip: We are jealous of our location, 202, but know it is superb, and no one would be disappointed. Our ow...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location is fabulous! we have stayed several times over the years. Bad things that stand out are: The pool is cold (no fun), the sketchy looking locals that hang nearby, and the poor poor customer service provided by the onsite management. You would think that being in the hospitality business that customer satisfaction would be fairly important to ensure return guests. It is pretty sad really, you want to relax and be stress free on a trip to Maui- but don't expect that this host property will have a hand in easing your peace of mind. I have read several other reviews that mention some sort of customer service issue, so I know that I am not the only one. That being said, some of the units are just lovely and you will enjoy your stay if you get one of these and there are no other issues. Just make sure you are very careful about selecting a good unit and about getting everything documented properly when dealing with arranging your stay! You will like this area of Honokowai!

Room Tip: #213, #107 are both nice.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Aloha R M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Having corresponded with you separately, I will respect your wishes not to air all the particulars regarding what you consider to have been a customer service failure and instead just indicate that we respectfully disagree, and invite any prospective guests to read the many reviews praising our rental office personnel. We in fact pride ourselves on our customer service and believe that is why in part we have so many repeat guests, many of whom have been returning to Hale Kai every year for decades now.

As for documentation, the details of every guest's stay is clearly spelled out in their Rental Confirmation and in our Rental Terms and Conditions, which in addition to our Policies, may be found on our website for any prospective guest to review. In this way, we endeavor to have all guests clearly understand what we're providing and what's expected of them in return.

As to the pool temperature, I imagine that your experience might be somewhat subjective, as we've not received any similar feedback.

As to your remarks regarding the "sketchy looking locals that hang nearby", I don't know whether you were referring to some of our year-round residents or just folks in the neighborhood, but I would agree that if someone is looking to be isolated in a resort area with other tourists, then Hale Kai is probably not the place for them. If someone is interested however in staying in a real community where they might interact with local residents in addition to other guests, then Hale Kai may be just what they're looking for. As we like to say, come stay with us and know what it is to have *lived* Hawaii instead of merely visited there.

Mahalo,

Matt Mathews
Managing Partner
HKR LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Mahalo, for allowing us to share your wonderfully equipped unit. This was our third consecutive stay at Hale Kai (2 weeks in Feb) and our first in Unit #217. The condo has everything you could need to prepare meals, as well as the essentials that make it feel like home. The decor is wonderful and the furniture was very cozy, having additional ceiling fans really made for a nice breeze throughout the unit.

Wales, turtles, snorkeling out your door, this is paradise!

The Hale Kai offers a chance to live like a local, from the longtime guests that come year after year, to the wonderful management and groundskeeper, we were made to feel at home the minute we arrived!

Aloha until next year,
Graham, Lorrie and Livia Kowalski
Vernon BC

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

we stayed here dec 3 -12. weather was great. we had unit 120 and it was perfect for our family. 120 is a ground level 2 bedroom unit. it is at the north end of the complex, right beside the BBQ's , the pool and the ocean. in my opinion, this unit has the best location in the complex. my kids could come and go from the ocean or the pool with ease.

we loved it and would have been happy to spend our entire trip snorkeling in front of the condo and swimming in the pool.

highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at unit #211. The property managers are very pleasant to deal with and the communication was excellent. The unit furnishings were good, especially in the kitchen. Previous guests had left some basics like salt, pepper, vinegar and sugar. There were 3 beach chairs, 2 boogie boards and two straw beach mats as well. We were able to borrow a beach umbrella from the office. Some basic toiletries were provided.

We chose this unit in the complex because it was the only one with air conditioning. I was travelling with my two children and my sister. The bedroom upstairs, where my sister stayed, had an in-wall air conditioning unit, and the living area also had air-conditioning. Unfortunately for me, the air-conditioning did not reach the main bedroom, so it wasn't as comfortable as I'd hoped at night for sleeping, despite using the ceiling fan, open windows and an additional free-standing fan. I am also sensitive to noise, and the noise from the road at night and people talking in the parking lot was continually disruptive to my daughter and myself, who were sleeping in that front bedroom.

The bathrooms were clean and the fixtures worked well. There was lots of storage throughout the condo, although it would have been helpful to have more hooks on the walls and doors, and outside on the lanai to hang wet things after a day at the beach.

A couple more minor annoyances included regular intermittent internet connection issues, and a lanai screen door that wouldn't stay on its track. The bed in the front bedroom was very hard.

Despite the issues, we would recommend this unit and this complex. The pool area is lovely and well-situated on the property. The rental rate was reasonable given the location, amenities and drawbacks. Parking was never a problem.

Room Tip: Only unit in the complex with A/C. A lot of road noise in the bedroom at night.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Loved the place. 13 of us were there for 12 days over Christmas. Very simple, and older,but fully stocked with stuff you need, people were all great, lovely little sand beach. We did snorkle right out front and saw tons of fish and turtles everyday.

Moose, the maintenance guy is awesome, so are Valerie and Liz!! Thanks all!

Would definitely go back

Room Tip: #120 great if you want to be in all the action!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catcancook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were 2 families (with assorted spouses and grown children- 7 in total) who stayed in 3 adjacent ground floor units (118, 119 and 120) at Hale Kai from November 21 to November 29. The condo is exactly what I was looking for: small, private, convenient, steps to parking, steps to the pool and BBQ and most importantly, steps to a small, but enchanting beach and a quick dip in the ocean (the beach is actually in front of the neighbouring condo building to the north but most definitely accessible to and used by Hale Kai guests). My daughter snorkelled and pronounced the snorkelling fine. Lots of turtles forage away literally a couple of feet from the shore break. Some bask in the sun in the morning, opening a lazy eye to check you out as you stroll by (please give them lots of space!). The grounds are immaculate with a well tended lawn that feels very nice to the toes. The pool is pristine, a bit cool but refreshing. There is a beach park located immediately next to Hale Kai and the units on the south of the complex (#101-110) have a great ocean view across the park and easy access to the beach and swimming on that side. The other guests during the time we were there were mostly quiet, considerate, friendly, ranging from young couples to retired folk; there was just the right amount of opportunity for socializing- at conch blowing time (sunset) or at the pool or BBQ. I loved being on the ground floor, and able to step in and out at will – this was especially great as we would move between the 3 units throughout the day; however the view is probably better from the upper floor. Of the three units we rented, I liked #120 the most. This is a 2 bedroom unit right at the corner of the property; you have an additional access to the parking area from a path just to the side of the building. In addition to being more spacious, this unit has cross ventilation (although I rarely if ever felt it was too hot, in any of the units: the ceiling fans do a more than adequate job). The bathroom had a good mirror and good lighting and I really liked the bamboo floors. Kitchen was fully equipped, pretty well laid out. The unit was nicely decorated and I disagree with others who have posted comments that the unit was dated. I found it fine. This unit had the best view of the three as your field of vision is the least obstructed by the pump house and the fence around the pool. Unit 118 was my second favourite –I liked the ultra clean white cabinets in the kitchen, the green marble countertop, great mirror and storage in the bathroom and great storage in the bedroom. Which brings me to unit 119: The owners of this unit must be very tall people. While the king size bed was very comfortable, it totally overwhelmed the room and you practically had to walk sideways to get around the bed, especially since there was no room to store suitcases so we had to place them up against the wall. There was no standard dresser, rather two weird pieces of oriental looking furniture, each with about 8 tiny drawers (enough for 1 or 2 small articles of clothing each). There was some storage in a small dresser in the corner of the room and there are 2 night tables, but in truth it was a challenge to allocate storage to our belongings during our stay. There was a large closet in the bedroom (partly dedicated to cleaning supplies and extra towels etc.), but I literally had to stand on tip toes to reach the rod to hang clothes, it was that high. The little round mirror in the bathroom over the sink was unusually small and presented the same problem: I only could see the upper half of my face unless I stretched (suggestion to owners: lower the rod in the closet and buy a bigger mirror, located at a normal height for the bathroom). There were however things about the unit that were fine: the nice flat screen TVs (one in the living area, the other in the bedroom), great wi-fi (there was excellent wi-fi in all 3 units), nice comfortable furnishings, binoculars to check out the turtles, ocean and mountains, beach towels, sun block, the much appreciated box of mac-chocolates (there was a welcome basket in each unit). The only other down side was the kitchen: the flat glass stove top looks very nice but it’s a real issue to see the controls and didn’t work all that well (disclaimer: I’m used to a gas stove). The wine fridge had some enticing contents but it was locked (sigh). There is no standard oven, rather a convection-microwave oven. While this unit is listed as only sleeping two, the couch in the living room appears to be a fold out unit, identical to the fold-outs in the other units, so it may be that this unit will actually sleep 4 like 118. As you will have read from the other posts, Hale Kai is close to a farmer’s market; I found Times Supermarket, about a ½ mile up the road a good place to stock up on supplies. Better still, get your stuff at Costco near Kahului. While Hale Kai is close to the road, I didn't find that the traffic noise bothered me at all. Thank you Valerie (the very friendly and competent manager), for your endless patience in helping me with the booking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarineta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed staying in unit 119, as this unit is tastefully furnished and decorated throughout. The bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room areas are exceptional, as can be viewed in the photos online.

We would like to also address the concerns you raised. One can see in the bedroom photos, there is ample room to walk around the bed. This can be affected by the amount of luggage and other items that are stored along the walls, which we understand can be an issue when travelling. The closet hanging rod height is positioned in the cupboard to accommodate storage of items beneath the clothes. The mirror in the bathroom compliments the décor and style of the room, while there are two additional 7’ mirrored closet doors in the bedroom for grooming, dressing, etc.

The kitchen is state of the art, ultra modern and the cabinetry similar to that which you liked in unit 118. The built-in wine cooler is actually not locked and has wine available for guest’s consumption, with a note asking guests to replace what they drink. This is something that one does not see often! The stove top and oven come with written instructions for use, which has worked very well for other guests.

You made reference to unit 119 being advertised with a maximum occupancy of 2 people however, after discovering the sofa in the living room had a bed, that the unit could actually accommodate 4. Each unit at Hale Kai is individually owned, and those owners can establish occupancy maximums based on their own preference. The owners of Unit 119 (as have a few others in the rental group) elected to limit the occupancy of their units to a maximum of 2, and no additional persons are allowed, notwithstanding having sofa beds.

Unit 119’s owners have done a beautiful job creating and maintaining a high quality vacation home, and take personal pride in the numerous compliments received from guests who not only stay for their first time, but consistently return annually.

HKR offers a selection of 25 vacation rental units to choose from at Hale Kai. We are confident that on your next visit to Maui, you will be able to select a unit that is more to your satisfaction."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums

Address: 3691 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-4300
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $113 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai means "Home by the Sea" in Hawaiian, and we are well named since we're located right on the West Maui coastline where we feature scenic views of Lānaʻi and Molokaʻi directly offshore. Conveniently situated midway between the Ka'anapali and Kapalua resort areas, we're just a 10-15 minute drive from most any West Maui attraction. We are located in real community with a local park, a thrice weekly Farmers' Market, and numerous, reasonably priced stores and restaurants, all within easy walking distance. Come stay with us and know what it is to have lived Hawaii instead of merely visited there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing