We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Hale Kai!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Spent 5 night here in April. Loved being able to have a close, intimate view of the lovely ocean. Condo was very comfortable and we enjoyed the free Wi-Fi. Mon-Wed_FRi, there is a Farmers Market across the street and we picked up fresh pineapple, veggies, and bread. Hale Kai has BBQ's for use and we had a wonderful dinner with our Costco filets, wine, salad, and veggies. There is also a great fish market store, ABC store, and Times Grocery store within walking distance. Pool was lovely, although a bit chilly in the mornings, and beautiful grounds. The beach is small and with reefs so you can snorkle close by. There are many permanent or semi-permanent residents here that make you feel welcomed! Valerie in the office was always efficient and friendly. This is a small condo complex and it may not suit the family with teenagers or the couple looking for drink service at the pool,. There is not daily maid service or towel replacement, but there is a nice laundry facility onsite if you need it. The Hale Kai certainly it met our expectation for rest and relaxation on Maui!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coopchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2011

I'd have to agree with the first paragraph of the March 22 review. After that, it depends on the unit. We stayed in #209 which faces the park next door with a decent view of the ocean. #209 is a two bedroom each with a queen sized bed. The upstairs room is a loft. It gets toasty up there, even with the AC unit on. The main bedroom is nice size and the bed is comfy. The upstairs bathroom is nice size and gets pretty warm when getting ready. The downstairs bathroom is decent size and a little dated but fully functional. The kitchen is appropriate and well equipped. The living room is nicely decorated and comfortable. There is a hideaway bed which we didn't use.

PROS: The condo complex is at the north end of Ka'anapali so you are a bit of a distance from shopping and restaurants. There are some smaller local places within walking distance that are quite good. Lahaina is about a 10 minute drive. The airport is about 30-40 minutes. Wailea/Kihei are about 45-60 minutes. Hana...well that's another story.

The pool is clean and decent size. The deck faces the ocean. This is the best part of the complex. Great views of the ocean. Seat turtles, seals, and some whale/dolphin sightings were made. There is also a little beach access there which is nice. We didn't use the BBQ's.

There is coin-op laundry facilities there. This is nice if you are staying for a while.

The other guests and staff are quite helpful.

Parking is a bonus.

Good hot water.

Ceiling fans and screens keep downstairs well ventilated.

Wireless internet worked all the time.
CONS: The park next door seems to attract some interesting folks. There was occasional screaming and loud music. One night someone detonated an M-80 or something. Scared the hell out of my wife and friend.

Cockroaches. We didn't notice them until the 4th day, but they were there and big. We had at least 3 in our unit. I know I killed one and perhaps scared the other two away for a while. This could really freak some people out, especially kids. I know this is likely somewhat expected, but it is what it is.

Other little nuances:

iPOD dock/stereo does not work.
bathroom vanity mirror does not close.
toilet needs some coaxing to flush
tiny little bugs along the sink that you could spend hours killing
upstairs unit so have to lug stuff/kid up the stairs

Not sure if would stay here again. Maybe if the cockroaches were relocated ;)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mariner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Hele Kai is a small, pleasant, reasonably-priced vacation rental building right on the water, next to the Honokowai Beach Park on the west coast of Maui. The staff are kind and attentive, and considering its size the amenities provided are quite nice (parking, laid-back pool, laundry, wireless internet, two nice barbecues, etc.).

Having said that, each unit is individually owned and, judging from other reviews and our experience there, standards vary siginficantly between units. I really feel for the management and owners there - having to agree upon and promote a reasonable standard for all units. Must be like herding cats.

Which brings me to Hale Kai unit 206. Given its current worn & tired condition, I do not recommend staying there:

- kitchen faucet starts & stops; needs replacing
- toilet runs on about every 10-15 minutes; more annoying at night, as it's right next to the bedroom
- toilet is not very vigorous / often requires multiple flushes
- all 4 cooktop burners don't sit flat. I don't mean a little out of whack - more like, sticking-up-in-the-air not flat
- toaster kind-of works, kind-of doesn't - hard to get started & doesn't pop up when finished
- paper towel holder broken
- three metal spikes ready to impale your hand every time you open the cabinet door to toss something into the garbage can. They're supposed to be for hanging kitchen towels, but as they are they're just dangerous
- poor quality cutting knives; one handle was dangerously loose so we tossed the knife out
- it's a real pain to try and get a spatula or other item out of the cupboard - you can't see inside the cupboard
- some utensils and cookware are rusty
- only 2 coffee cups & large plates
- drain board doesn't drain
- no kitchen sponges for cleaning
- depending on your personal standards, the couch cushions are either acceptable or stained and filthy. We think stained and filthy
- beach umbrella is broken
- no beach chairs
- bath fan is the loudest I've ever heard, and ancient. It's hot-wired to the bathroom light so if you want light you must put up with the racket
- due to the temperatures at night, bedding would be better if it were 100% natural fibres
- dishwasher not attached to the cabinetry
- kitchen design is such that only one person can be in it at one time

Each of these issues taken separately is fairly minor. Add them up and deal with them all every day - that's not acceptable.

I've been to Hawaii 9 times, and to Maui 6 of those 9 times. Between Hawaiian trips and my other travel experience, no place has been perfect, but honestly no place has been so awful. We were mystified as to how the major issues noted above had gone on so long in Hale Kai unit 206 without being addressed.

The neigbours, neighbourhood, location, farmers market, coffe shop, and proximity to beaches both north and south are very strong features of the Hale Kai. However, it's unfair to naive vacationers (like us) to continue to offer Hale Kai unit 206 for rental considering it's poor condition.

In summary, we liked the Hale Kai and I'm sure our experience would have been more positive in a different unit. But Hale Kai unit 206 is not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnr895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

The owners of Hale Kai #206 live overseas and at the time this review was written, had not been to their unit for quiet some time. Once they were aware of the guests review they took corrective action immediately, to repair and replace all the items identified above.

As they love their unit, they updated - carpet, cook top/ oven, dishwasher, furniture, all furnishings and new paint throughout. They have taken a step further to enhance their guests stay by making further maintenance improvements, that will ensure you have a true ‘Hawaiian Vacation’. Please check their positive guest reviews on our Hale Kai web site for unit # 206.

We are pleased you enjoyed our location and all the amenities we offer, including on-site Rental Manager to take care of our valued guests. Our units are all individually owned and most owners have been upgrading their units after some tough years and a down economy, which affected everyone. Please check our web site for each unit’s photos and Guest Reviews, to assist your choice for a great vacation with an unbeatable location - true oceanfront condominiums with amazing views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed in Hale Kai unit 213 for 4 days in February with my two children (11 and 16). Since each unit is individually owned and maintained, the amenities can vary. However, as I was told by several people in the complex, unit 213 is fantastic. The owner recently did a near complete remodel of the inside and replaced the wood louvres with a mix of frosted and clear glass. When you walk into this unit, the openness creates a very tropical experience for those of your who may have visited other countries in warm climates. From the modern kitchen (including stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops), one can look out on the ocean and during this time of the year see the sea turtles and whales everywhere.
I can't impress on you enough how meticulously this unit has been remodeled.
Bathroom and shower excellent and beautiful.
Master bedroom is cozy and has a nice ceiling fan to keep you cool on warm nights.
Kitchen as I said has all you need to cook simple and gourmet meals (pots, pans, utensils, etc)
Living room has two beds that fold down from the wall (discreetly concealed otherwise). These beds are much more comfortable than a sofa bed. TV (if you must) with cable and blu-ray player. Free wi-fi is available too.
Definitely a great place to stay and enjoy the peace and quite that Hawaiian life has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justinrhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This place is fabulous. Unit 213 is EXTRA fully equiped with everything you could possibly want. It's all newly remodeled and beautiful, completely up to date. The condomium complex is older but really lovely, only 2 stories and small. There is never a problem getting a chair by the pool, and when you sit by the pool, you are simultaneously sitting by the ocean. You can swim in the ocean and snorkel right in front. If you're up early enough, you can even make acquaintance with all the turtles having breakfast on the reef. The whales surface and play out in front and Matt has a great spotter scope for close up watching of the adults and their calves. I've been coming to Maui since 1980 and have stayed at several condos in the Honokowai/Kaanapali/Lahaina area (which is my favorite over Kihei or Wailea), and this will be one of my all-time favorite places to stay. The only negative might be that the noise from the street is considerable in the bedroom. But i seem to be able to sleep through it anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MauiAliinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Family & friends arranged a trip for my parents 50th Anniversary and this is their review: We stayed at Hale Kai room #217 a 1 bedroom condo with a panoramic view of the ocean and pool from the lanai. The view was more than we expected and you could see the turtles from the lanai. The kitchen with granite countertops had everything we needed. We swam in the pool and ocean everyday and met friendly people from different parts of the world. The owners were easy and nice to work with and Valerie in the office was very helpful and excellent to work with. The location was close to Lahaina and the farmers market was conveniently across the street. We will recommend this condo to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharanneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed in a two bedroom unit on the ground floor. Walking out the door put us near the ocean's and the pool. On several occasions we shared the ocean with Honu (Turtles) leisurly swimming in the surf.

Hale Kai consists of a pair of two-story buildings; one overlooking the oceanfront pool (where we stayed) and another overlooking Honokowai Beach Park. All of the units have a clear view of the ocean and the islands of Lana'i and Moloka'i. The pool is small but uncrowded; there was always a chaise and umbrella available when we went to the pool deck. The well groomed grounds are planted with plumeria and other tropical plants. A laundry room is on-site, and in a nice touch, has shelves filled with books for residents and guests to borrow. The parking lot was extremely convenient - we never parked more than ten or twenty yards away from the door to our condo.

We really enjoyed swimming in waves or eating on the lana'i while watching the sunset. A coffee shop and farmers market are right across the street, and more dining and shopping are a short walk away. The tourist district of Lahaina is ten minutes away by car.

Cool ocean breeze, beautiful views, dinner and wine on the lana'i - life is good!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdhuntsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,582 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
4,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,099 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums

Address: 3691 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-4300
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $113 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai means "Home by the Sea" in Hawaiian, and we are well named since we're located right on the West Maui coastline where we feature scenic views of Lānaʻi and Molokaʻi directly offshore. Conveniently situated midway between the Ka'anapali and Kapalua resort areas, we're just a 10-15 minute drive from most any West Maui attraction. We are located in real community with a local park, a thrice weekly Farmers' Market, and numerous, reasonably priced stores and restaurants, all within easy walking distance. Come stay with us and know what it is to have lived Hawaii instead of merely visited there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing