We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location”
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Best location in Lahaina, right in town, right on the water. Ferry access to Molokai and Lanai right out the door. The town is very historic and after dinner walkabout along the harbor and under the banyan a rare experience. Bring your ear plugs, just know it's not a luxury resort, it's a historic hotel that is unique and well priced.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlenecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    364
    80
    24
    13
See reviews for
134
492
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Charming older hotel right in the Lahaina shopping loop and directly in front of the pier. Certainly recommended to those who also enjoy a comfortable hotel with history. If your looking for a resort you probably need to look elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cxbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is a nice place to stay in Lahaina. The historic hotel is old and creaky but that's part of the charm. We enjoyed sitting on our lanai at the end of the night and watching the people stumble along Front Street. The noise level can we quite loud in the mornings. Most of it can be drowned out by the A/C. We found the service here to be very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Location – Located right by the harbor, this is the best location in Lahaina. We chose it as we were doing two of the cruises offered by the Pacific Whale foundation, and were able to walk out of the front of the hotel, and almost right on to the boat. The Inn sits beside a huge banyan tree and park. You are at one end of the main drag, Front Street, so everything is within walking distance. We were able to get from the airport to here by the (highly recommended!) bus system for just $2/person! From the bus stop behind the Wharf building it is just a 3 minute walk to the hotel.

Check-in – Very smooth. We were politely greeted by the desk clerk who had our reservation at hand. She gave us the lay of the land, explained how to charge to the room, gave us the 15% off dining coupon which we could get more of, and answered our questions, all in a welcoming manner. We also were told that we could get a 15% discount at Hula Cookies and Ice Cream, just around the corner (highly recommended!).

Room – Don’t expect hi-tech or chic! This building is over 100 years old (also no elevator, but just one flight of stairs), and that does show in places. We booked a harbor view (the other view being the hotel courtyard), but this would more accurately be described as a park view. You can see the harbor quite well, but the majority of your view is the park across the street. However, there is a very nice sized lanai with table and chairs, which is a nice place to sit of an evening. Just be sure to keep your balcony door locked, as the lanai are all joined, divided only by low wooden railings. A safe in the room would also be a welcome addition. The room is pretty plain, and could probably do with a makeover, but is serviceable. Old fashioned TV, but it worked and had a decent basic cable lineup. As other reviewers have said, the AC can be loud, but it never woke me up, and the fan was fine for most of the time. The other loud noise for those with a room overlooking the park is the birds that gather at dawn/dusk. Not too bad at dusk, but may wake you at dawn if you don’t have the A/C on (didn’t wake me). Bathroom, as with bedroom, is fine but nothing special. Toiletries were provided but were run of the mill Best Western.

Restaurant – We ate breakfast here a couple times and enjoyed it. The service was good; the waitress was quick with the coffee refills. The food was a little over priced, but then you are in Hawaii and you are paying for more than the cost of your food. The views are great – coffee and excellent pancakes while watching the harbor can’t be beat. The only downside was the rather loud parrot in a cage in the bar! We also partook of the Happy Hour here which is excellent! Really good value and the bartender is super friendly. They have a good selection of draft beers (the Big Wave is recommended), and for the cocktails, he does not hold back on the alcohol! Nothing can beat having a good drink whilst watching the sunset over the harbor right from your barstool.

Amenities – Not many! But I’d rather have the antique plantation charm of the building as is than a characterless nondescript concrete monolith just to have an Olympic pool or fitness center. If that is your bag, go up the coast to the resorts. There is a pool, but it is small. There is WiFi in the rooms. The courtyard is nice, but can’t compete with the views of the harbor or the shade of the Banyan tree in the park.

Checkout – Accurate, polite fast and efficient – what else could you want?

Overall, I loved staying here. If you don’t want to have to walk, carry your bags or take some stairs, and want a mega-pool and never to have to leave the grounds, go to a Ka’anapali resort. If you want a place that has a real charm and a location and price that cannot be bettered, stay here – you won’t find better in Lahaina.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We chose the Pioneer Inn because we like to be walking distance to area attractions, restaurants and bars and we also like historic hotels. It kind of reminded me of places in New Orleans in its look and feel. Our room had a nice lanai that faced the Banyan tree in the park next door. I had wondered if the noise from being located downtown would be problem, but it wasn't. Whether that was because we were on the side of the building, away from Front Street, or because when the A/C is on it's rather loud I don't know, but we didn't have any problem with noise. The parking is a few blocks away. It's free, which is rare. We just pulled up to the hotel, dropped our stuff, I checked us into the hotel and my husband went to park the car. No big deal. Very nice staff in the hotel and in the restaurant/bar. Used the 15% off coupon they provide to have breakfast there every morning. Good stuff. We spent three nights here so that we could enjoy the town of Lahaina and then went up the coast to The Sheraton for our last two nights and enjoyed the ocean and the different world that staying in a resort provides. Loved'em both and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We spontaneously Island hopped to Maui from the Big Island and upon the advice of a vendor we met on the street in Lahaina we ended up at the Pioneer Inn. It looked a bit old for our tastes but it was late in the day and we needed somewhere to stay because we did not no where else to go right away.

The Pioneer Inn is part of the Best Western chain so we decided at a minimum there would be some expected consistency in hotel upkeep.

Also, the $110 per night (walk-in) fee didn't hurt either.

The rooms were clean but the furniture and bedding was a little out-dated - but at least it was air conditioned.

The bed was quite comfortable and the balcony had a great view of front street, the park and the ocean.

At night, the birds in the park were very loud and the bar across Front Street had an outdoor patio with a loud band playing every night. Thankfully, the air conditioning unit was soooo loud that it covered up the noises from the outside.

The pool was really small and we never saw anyone using it. I am sure more would if there was a hot tub and better lighting.

The front desk service was great and full of humour. They were also great resources for finding out about the local amenities.

All-in-All, the Pioneer Inn was a great stay because:

a) They are in the centre of the action in the town of Lahaina.
b) Across from the Wharf with all the tour boats.
c) The atmosphere was festive.
d) Close to all the shopping.
e) Great price.
f) Decent in-hotel restaurant.

Things needing improvement:

a) Better sound-proofing from the outside.
b) More towels in the bathrooms.
c) Stop being cheap on the toilet paper.
d) Supply in-room safes.
e) Free local calls.
f) Provide map of Lahaina.
g) More vending machine options (and better placement of machines).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

In the hart of Lahaina. First hotel in Maui I beleive built in the early 1900. Old style but very nice and clean. Lots of shops and restaurents walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKAC_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,113 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing