We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Helpful Staff, Relaxing Atmosphere, No Hassles or Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago,IL.
1 review
“Friendly & Helpful Staff, Relaxing Atmosphere, No Hassles or Problems”
Reviewed February 20, 2009

My adult son and I stayed in the Pioneer Inn and we both loved it,so much so we're going to stay there again next year!

The hotel and rooms were very clean and well kept.The decor and furnishings are of an older era when things weren't all hustle and bustle and keeping with it's status of the oldest hotel around.Real wood abounds,none of the concrete and plastic of the newer hotels.
I'm an A+ type personality yet as soon as I got into my room I was able to sit down and really relax. I loved waking up just before sunrise every morning and enjoyed peacefully waking up while enjoying a cup or two of coffee made with the coffee maker and Hawaiian coffee supplied in my room while sitting on the balcony facing Front Street and watching the sun come over the mountains as the town came slowly to life.

The birds in the Banyon Tree do get pretty loud just before sunset and again around sunrise but I even enjoyed their racket. If you're looking to relax and enjoy Maui at a leisurely pace this is the place to stay.

The hotel is located centrally in old Lahaina and about 100 yards from the harbor, close to the slips for the boats for whale tours, snorkel trips and fishing.It is only a short walk to lots of very nice shops with all kinds of treasures to bring home or send to relatives back home.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopsChicago_IL_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    368
    80
    25
    14
See reviews for
141
501
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Our stay at the Pioneer Inn was for fine just one night.
I'd read mixed reviews on this hotel so I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. With that in mind, it was fine for one night. I wouldn't want to stay there for 5 nights though. This hotel is centrally located in downtown Lahaina and good for those who love the night life and like to stay out all hours of the night. The room was clean but the air conditioner (window mount - worked great) was really loud. When the air conditioner was on it did drown out the noise from neighbors and people on the street. If you like the night life, you won't mind the noise and this is a great location to stay.
If you have kids or like a good nights sleep - I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Liked — location was convenient
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

The location is good - really good since its downtown Lahaina.
Plus it was cheap.

The air conditioner was really really loud - that said we didn't actually notice until it was late at night and all the exterior noise from the people outside the hotel died down - and we didn't complain to the hotel, I'm guessing that we could have got another room, but we only stayed one night so we didn't give t much thought.

As for a previous post I read - yes, no elevators, but one flight of stairs is not going to kill you. Parking is kind of far, best to drop your bags at the hotel and then take your car to the lot - no valet parking here.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank rockohorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We wanted to stay in Town for night and thought this would be a nice historical hotel on the water. For the money we paid for this place any Hotel6 would be a better choice. They should tear this dump down and rebuild it. Theres no elevator and all the rooms are on the 2nd floor. No bellboy either, pray you don't have back problems. The poll is Ice cold and dirty. The rooms are remodeled and clean but I think Motel6 rooms are much nicer. If this place was about $40/night it would be ok. But they charge Hyatt rates for this dump. The only plus is restaurant has decent food next door. Also found the staff to be friendly. Breakfast is not included with the room. The walls are paper thin and you can hear evryone in the halls and people next door. The plumbing in the shower was not draining quickly. I'm assuming it's the original plumbing from the 1900's. Look for something else in this price range, theres many other options in the area as this place will disspoint the most common person.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank davedmdusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

This hotel is situated in the center of Lahaina, Maui. This has the best weather on Maui and Lahaina is where the King of Maui lived (andhe could live whereever he wanted). The hotel was recently remodelled with new baths, beds, carpet and paint. It cost about 40% of the high end resorts in Kaanapala but was located at the yacht harbor where all the boat trips take off from. Very convenient. Excellent dinners at the restaurant on site, but the lunch (Kalua Pig -a pulled pork sandwich) was pretty tasteless. Try the dinners. The other reviews point out how quiet this hotel is for being downtown Lahaina, but the truth is that there is a sports bar across the street with loud music until late Saturday night. Sunday was Superbowl Sunday and there was a lot of afternoon screaming, but no loud music that night. I image that there is normally loud music every night at this popular club.
Also, there is a security problem at the hotel. I don't want to tip off any bad guys, so I won't say what it is, but ask if they got the security problem fixed when you book.

  • Liked — Location and ambience of 100 year+ old hotel in heart of Lahaina
  • Disliked — Other reviewers said it was quiet. It was not due to bar across the street.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank capndrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauibum
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

We never booked a room before landing in Maui for a stay of 19 days. Took a room in Kihea for 3 nites on arrival but on a day trip up the coast we spotted the Pioneer Inn. We've been here 3 nites now...yesterday rebooked for rest of week...tonite ,sitting on the deck facing Front St. we are going to book for rest of oour remaining time on Maui.

I've stayed at the Venetian in Vegas down to motels in the Baja where the bathrooms are a communal hole in the ground...the Pioneer is now my favorite.

Unless you wear spandex or wear sweaters laid loose on your back,you will fall in love with this place...I don't want to leave.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank mauibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

This hotel didn't work out for us. It was clean, well maintained, front desk was helpful and the location is terrific, even though it is not walking distance to a beach.

The problems we had were with the air conditioner and with folks in the next room sleeping out on the lanai.

In most of Hawaii, we often don't need airconditioning where the trade winds are cooling. However, if you've ever been to Lahaina, you realize quickly that it gets very hot. Being located in the heart of the city doesn't make this location cooler. So you will use the window unit. That's would be ok, except that it works by cooling for about 3-5 minutes then clanking off extremely loudly. Kept us awake most of the night. Also, like a reviewer wrote a while back, it has a motion detector feature where it gets very hot in the room while you are asleep (at least it stops clanking), so you wake up sweating, get up and move around, and then the cooling, clanking begins again.

In the room next to ours, they moved a roll-away bed out to the lanai and slept there. We thought maybe the hotel didn't know about it...no, the next morning we sat out on our lanai, the rollaway bed sitting unmade next to our lanai. During the day, the maids made up the bed--outside ready for the next night.

The roll-away thing might have been ok if we'd paid hostel prices, but at $150 we're not expecting bunking outside!

The air conditioner is a deal breaker for us no matter what, because if we can't sleep, there's no point period.

We really wanted to like this hotel, it's got so much going for it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — air conditioning and some guests sleeping outside on the lanai
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thefriendlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing