We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super memorable time in Old Lahaina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“super memorable time in Old Lahaina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

This was our second stay at the Pioneer Inn. We were worried on our arrival as it was the day before Hurricane Iselle hit Hawaii; we'd almost cancelled our trip. Last year we had a Front Street facing room at the Pioneer Inn but this year were put in courtyard facing rooms in case of high winds from the hurricane. (Staff offered to move us after the hurricane passed but we kept these rooms all week.) I felt more comfortable riding out a hurricane in a hundred-year-old two-story hotel than I would have in a brand new high rise. We were traveling with children and everyone at the hotel was as kind as could be with the children the whole week. Mahalo to staff: schools were closed, supermarkets jammed, everyone had to prepare their own homes and families for the hurricane, yet we never felt as if we were alone in a storm. The bar/restaurant stayed open, all the news was posted in the hall, front desk manned at all times, and we had plenty of ice, water, and comfort foods in case things got worse than expected (they didn't).

The attached bar/restaurant is super convenient in a hurricane and every other time kids are hungry. There is a friendly parrot named Alex and the wall has lots of crayon drawings posted that kids have made while waiting on POGs or chicken tenders. One evening there was a terrific slack key guitarist whose music and singing I enjoyed after the kids went to bed (sorry I didn't catch his name). The bar/restaurant has copious whaling and harbor-related wall art and decorations, lots of "local color"; three tv's so if your favorite sport team is playing and it's being broadcast, the game probably is showing on one of them. The front desk provides a discount coupon to its guests eating at the restaurant.

This hotel location is unbeatable for our family. Right on the boat harbor, grassy parks nearby on three sides, public library across the alley. Several mini-marts within yards, including one on the first floor under the rooms and next to the bar/restaurant. Historic ruins, museums, galleries all in the immediate area. Many excursions begin at Lahaina Harbor so all we had to do was roll out of bed, through the front door and across the street.

Dozens of interesting shops within a very short walk, numerous shave ice places. Many visitors to Maui staying at Ka'anapali come to Old Lahaina days and evenings for these attractions.

The Pioneer Inn hotel pool is smallish, L-shaped. Few people use it because there are several beaches close by and all the other things Maui offers. The large mango tree in the courtyard means that the pool is completely shaded by mid-afternoon, so our kids could swim into the evening after a day of outdoor activities without worrying about getting burnt while we grownups could relax on the loungers. We were the only ones using the pool all but one day. So we had several family dinners at a table by the pool, enjoying takeout from some of the seeming hundreds of restaurants in Lahaina.

There are only one or two rooms that are big enough for a family of four, or five with a rollaway. The smaller rooms can sleep a third person on a rollaway, with the table and chairs removed (there's another table and chairs on the lanai, anyway.)

No elevator. Mini-fridge. (No microwave oven as is common elsewhere.)

Last year we slept with no AC and the lanai door open (there is a wooden louvered door with a sturdy lock on it.) This year the heat and humidity from the hurricane made it more comfortable to use the small room AC. We didn't have any problems with keeping our room comfortable in temperature or humidity.

This is not the fanciest hotel in town, but it was a great place for us. We will be staying here again as soon as we can get back to Maui.

Room Tip: Front Street facing rooms provide interesting visuals; some of these also have plumeria within reach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SacCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    352
    74
    24
    13
See reviews for
128
468
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We literally booked this hotel at the last minute as our originally booked hotel was not up to scratch. What a surprise we had & a wonderful 3 nights.
The Pioneer Inn is set in the historic district of Lahania & is surrounded by fantastic ocean scenery & a multitude of quaint souvenir, arts & jewelry shops.
The hotel was clean, tidy & completely functional, albeit the rooms are a bit on the small side. But that does not detract from the character of the building. All staff were friendly & very helpful.
If we go back to Maui, then this is the place we will stop.
One disadvantage with the location, not the hotel, is that you are on the western edge of Maui & have quite a drive to any of hte larger, more southern towns. But now you know in advance, you can make an allowance for travelling times.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, but room 50 has an especially larger one as its on the corner. Ours had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentley1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed one night at the Pioneer Inn so we could experience Lahaina. Very charming and great location. Because it is older, however, it was very stuffy without very efficient A/C so we were not overly comfortable in the 90 degree weather.

I would stay here again to really take advantage of exploring Lahaina. You can easily walk everywhere and you get free parking with your room right across the street. The price is good compared to other Maui hotels. It was surprisingly quiet for being right on Front Street. However, it didn't have a lot of amenities and the lack of AC could great really old after a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikiak246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I love this hotel. Would highly recommend it to anyone. Great rooms, great balcony, great location, great staff, great food, great parrot, close to beach. I hated to leave. I have no complaints whatsoever. You do not need a car when you stay here. Can walk to all you need. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 774brendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I absolutely love the Pioneer Inn. The history is incredible and it meets or exceeds all my expectations. Its location in Lahaina is superb. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The food is very reasonable and delicious in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nestled in the heart of Lahaina, on the corner of Wharf and Hotel street, right off the foot of Lahaina Harbor sits the wonderfully quaint Pioneer Inn.

Our room was small but comfortable and it had a great lanai overlooking the banyan tree of Banyan Tree Park.

Mere steps away from the launch points of the various Lahaina-based charters and tours, it was a great place to settle in after our sunset-dinner cruise.

Taking a walk from the Inn, you will come across wonderful (and touristy) shops and restaurants as well as parks and beaches. It was quite a sight to behold, seeing surfers among the boats moored near the harbor.

If you ever find yourself on Maui, make a trip out to Lahaina and stay at least one night here - you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J'on P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great spot, full of character & history right off Front Street. Very friendly and helpful reception plus had great music down stairs during our stay. Easy for walking out on Front Street or driving to explore Maui.

Room Tip: There is a rather large air conditioning unit on the ground which makes some noise, but goes off dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing