We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Saraota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Price”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Pioneer Inn is a really great hotel in the heart of Lahina. They have free parking, clean rooms, and a super helpful staff. You can walk almost anywhere you want to go. One note - the bar across the street does play music loud at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Hmcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    367
    80
    25
    14
See reviews for
140
500
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Pioneer Inn is unpretentious, and authentic. My room had a view of the park and bay (make the request when you RSVP) Noise was not a problem. Walking distance to all restaurants and water oriented activities. I'm pleased there was no resort fee or charge for parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Follow the lead of prior guest from TripAdvisor and they were right on, great find, great value If you are looking for a place where the pool boy and servers are there this is not the venue for you. If you are looking for a great experience, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Pioneer Inn I like, a lot. Generally I am not a fan of Best Westerns (see my review of Durango BW), but the pioneer Inn is excellent. The owners have managed to maintain the historical feel of the building, in the best location in Lahaina with modern room interiors. Almost on the harbour front. See pictures. The staff on reception (Cathy +) were tremendous, the room was spotless, with a glorious old balcony are overlooking Banyan Square. Contrary to other reviews, I found the air conditioning quiet, the fan was almost whisper-like overnight, and this is an old hotel. Small, but decent pool, open early in the morning. Small con, no elevator to the 2nd level (which has the best views) so if you find lifting luggage a difficulty this would be a problem. Breakfast in the attached bar was excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a 2nd level room overlooking Banyan Square, these are apparently newer (70's) rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Poor, old hotel not to the Best Western standards. Room had a terrible smell of an old furniture. In-window air condition unit was very loud. The banyan tree park in front of the hotel is full of homeless people. This hotel needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank itsmemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel and realize that the historic nature might not appeal to everyone. We do maintain Best Western standards and are in the process of replacing carpeting and air conditioners in all the guest rooms and I hope this didn't cause a disturbance during your stay.
Mahalo for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel itself is dated. However, great central location, right on the edge where main shopping stroll is, close to many restaurants. Good place if you are looking for convenience rather tan luxury.

We enjoyed many sunsets in the little park right in front of the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Iryna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

If you want to stay in downtown Lahaina, this is the place for you. It is right on the main street, walking distance to all the shopping and restaurants you want. We opted to stay here as it was across the street from the Molokai/Lanai Ferry doc, which leaves very early. Parking is free, so if you are renting a car, it's not a problem (which I would recommend because you don't need much time in Lahaina).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing