We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They try really hard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They try really hard”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very nice staff but this hotel needs a ton of work. Our room had a musty smell and was very dated. Must say the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was great but at least 3 more servers are needed as the waitress could not keep up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveplanningtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    357
    79
    24
    13
See reviews for
132
482
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
297 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here last April 2013 and enjoyed everything about this hotel from employees to the food in the restaurant which guests at the Pioneer Inn receive a 15% OFF card for each meal! Great food and good service. Location is great----just across from the harbor. We stay here because of the location for whale watching. You also receive a card for free parking a block away. The employees are great and always have great advice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a comfortable inn right on the front very close to boat trips and Banyan Park. Staff were all very helpful. Restaurant very popular for breakfast but food and staff excellent at all times. Would highly recommend the place for a central location. Free parking just a short walk away, but plenty of drop off space for luggage drop.
The restaurant has a noisy but friendly parrot which adds to the atmosphere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NeenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Surpisingly hospitable and classic hotel with pool and the intimate touch at the best location in Lahaina. Excellant place to wrap up a stay in Mauii. All amenities a few steps away. Breakfast an excellant value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Good, solid hotel with restaurant. A bit dated overall but has charm. Restaurant is good for breakfast, o.k. but not great for dinner. Across from the Banyan Park and near the harbor. Also close to a restaurant which is loud with music until 10:00 at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic Best Western. I am terribly sorry that you were disturbed by the noisy restaurant across the street. We continually request that they be considerate of their neighbors and keep the noise to a minimum, but sometimes their youthful staff tends to forget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York, United States
Level Contributor
430 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you plan to do lots of water based activities in Lahaina,Maui this is the place to stay. It may not be a luxurious resort like the ones found on Kaanapali beach but you simply cannot beat the location. Rooms are clean and the staff is great, and the price is right!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Mahalo nui loa for choosing our historic hotel and recognizing it's charm.
Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

All rooms on second floor .There is no elevator. Hotel staff very nice, great location, but our end corner room ( made reservation months ago) was overlooking trash and a huge noisy air conditioning unit. This room was diffidently the worst room in the place. The other rooms ( went with friends) were very nice good views of either busy front street ( nice tourist area) or the park. Bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I know exactly the room you are referring to and I apologize that you were inconvenienced by the noise from the air conditioner. We keep attempting different solutions to insulate the unit to reduce the vibration noise, but it sounds as if we haven't yet been successful.
We do thank you for choosing to stay with us and if you let us know on your return visit, we will make certain to get you into a room with a better location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
9.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing