We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have stayed here several times. This time we had the large corner room which is very comfortable with two lanais looking out over Front St and the Banyan tree. It is an old historic hotel in an absolutely great location! It is old yet well maintained for its age.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second floor. There are only two extra large rooms, with the outside corner be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    357
    79
    24
    13
See reviews for
132
482
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The room was way too small for my liking. There was nowhere to put my makeup in the bathroom, and the door to the bathroom was not your typical door. Anything could be heard in there, which i did not like. The good - beautiful courtyard and lanais, very scenic location, and friendly staff. Also, air conditioning worked great in the room. Would I stay here again? For the central location, yes. For the rooms, no.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank parrotchick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My sister-in-law & I stayed here one night with two rooms. We really enjoyed this hotel. Staff was pleasant and helpful, rooms were clean and I know my bed was super-comfortable. I also really enjoyed the good sized lanai right off my room, nice place to have coffee & plan your day. The hotel is right in Lahaina-town so it is convenient to walk to all of the shops and restaurants nearby. We did not get to try out the lounge or restaurant, but will next time. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Alton, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you like historic hotels, you'll like Pioneer Inn. However, be warned no elevator, very steep steps to all rooms. AC in wall very loud and practically no amentities. However, great location on Front Street in Lahainer; good for people watching.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carolrife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and have always found it comfortable and the service great. We feel pampered yet not overwhelmed by the service and staff, that takes every opportunity to ensure our stay is enjoyable.
If you like to people watch this is an excellent vantage point, especially if you have a view of the adjacent town square, and an ocean view if you like to whale watch.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Pioneer Inn for the location and historic character. It lived up to our expectations. The age of the building showed at times, particularly after heavy rain, but that certainly won't put us off a repeat visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank timb043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had no hotel booked, and this one came up very last minute. we were hesitant as we thought it would be too noisy being right on Front street. But everything shut down quite early on the weeknight we were there. A wonderful location and great staff. Bed was very comfortable! Great staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
9.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing