We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok for one night”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here just one night until we could get into our timeshare. It is a historic hotel, and that was cool. No frills, but nice and clean. Oh, and there is a remote control for that A/C unit up high by the window! I stood on a chair to get it going, as it was quite warm in the room upon arrival. I found the remote later. It is a great location for everything in central Lahaina--harbor, shops, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: I think the corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our historic Best Western for the first night of your trip.
We hope you come see us again on your next visit.
Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    368
    80
    25
    14
See reviews for
141
501
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Pioneer Inn for three nights and had an excellent stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the beds were comfy, the breakfast in the attached restaurant/bar area was delicious, and the location is great; right on the water and close to everything. The price for what and where it is was totally reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jvz773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you also used your discount coupons to sample lunch and or dinner which we also feel are tasty and one of the best values in Lahaina.
Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Not the place for resort seekers. No elevator. However, I have loved staying here since the '70's. It is consistently clean and has not only everything for basic needs, but great views from the extensive "lanai", balcony that overlooks the harbor, the Banyan Tree, and the beautiful mountains above Lahaina. The staff is attentive and accommodating. Kathryn remembers us each year. And Anne looked out for our luggage along with providing us with friendly conversation and insight into Lahaina life. This is one of the most comfortable, home-like places you can find on the islands. Mahalo!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TahoeIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This wasn't a fancy hotel but the location I consider one of the best on Maui. It sits right on the waterfront. Watching the sunset and ferry activity from our balcony was a unique experience. Being on the street you have to expect a little noise but that was part of the fun. To hop the ferry to Lanai we just walked straight out the door, same with going out to dinner. We stayed at the Pioneer for three nights. History comes alive there.

Room Tip: away from the square, ask for most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

It is a nice change from the high rise hotel. When you pull up to the 2 storey rustic hotel right by the wharf, you know you will have a relaxing time. The rooms are all on the top floor . The rooms are all clean and very comfortable. Every room has a deck where you can sit and relax. An outdoor pool is located in the center court yard. All inside rooms face the courtyard and are quieter but don't get sun. All the rooms facing Wharf St. get sun and an ocean view. All the rooms facing Front St. get some sun but no ocean view. The restaurant by the lobby has great food and happy hr runs from 3-6. Access to all local venues, tours and shops is right out the front door. The staff have been great. Always willing to help you. The park across from the hotel has the island's largest Banyon tree and by 5:30 every night, the tree is full of mynah birds.

Room Tip: The two largest rooms are 36 which is right at the front sunny corner with ocean view and 40 which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Pioneer Inn in Lahaina - great location, comfortable room with a balcony facing the famous banyan tree and harbor. Restaurant had good food and we loved the 15% discount! We will be back - soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at the Pioneer Inn in Laihana, Maui prior to Thanksgiving. The service was exceptional, from booking, front desk, restaurant, and cleaning staff. It has recently been remodeled. Rooms are well decorated and comfortable. Great shower, small bathroom (who cares). The Inn overlooks ferry departures to Lanai & Molokai, and incoming cruise guests. Fun to watch. There is no lift, so you have to ask for assistance if luggage is too heavy to schlep. We will return to Maui and will choose the Pioneer inn when we do.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank joanh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our historic inn. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing