We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed mid-December 2012 in a Queen room. It was a perfect size & price for our first trip to Maui -- we weren't in the room much! It was a reasonable walking distance to the Old Lahaina Luau so we avoided the parking nightmare and went wild with the drinks.

Only three things that could make this hotel better: a microwave for the night we're tired of going out... And replace those louvred doors to the bathrooms with something a bit more... Solid; and some sort of screening (like tied bamboo) between room Lanai Balconies. With those three improvements, we'd never be tempted to try another property. Loved the pool, the bed, the location, and staff. The restaurant on the other hand... Didn't impress us at all.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool if you want less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We will take them to heart as we make improvements to our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 973 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Terrific location on the main street, between two parks and next door to the museum at the Customs House. There are a few perks for staying here - discount at the on-site restaurant and free parking. Our room faced Front Street and the street starts getting busy early in the morning. Not a lot of night noise but then we did not stay over the weekend. We didn't make use of the lanai because we felt too exposed to all the passers by and to the 2nd storey bar across the road. I'd recommend a room overlooking the pool or library for privacy on the lanai.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I loved staying at the historic Pioneer Inn! The hotel is near Lahaina Harbor... once the whaling capital of the Pacific. The hotel has preserved the history and charm of this built in 1901 hotel and featured in the film Devil at Four o'Clock and the setting for Hawaii Five-O and Baywatch among other television shows. The hotel restaurant and bar were reasonably priced and the service and food was good.

The hotel is walking distance from the lively shopping and restaurant center in Lahaina. The banyan trees near the Lahaina outdoor market are home to thousands of birds who flock to them at sunset in a sight and sound not to be missed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caliguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

+ Perfect location
+ Superior Customer Service, thanks Anne & the young hostess at the restaurant, the bar tender was super nice, let us borrow 2 wine glasses, even "polished" the glasses before handing them to me.
+ Comfy beds
+ Clean bathrooms
+ Wrap around balcony in room 36
+ A lot of history
+ Arrived early, they accommodated us by letting us check in early.

- Nothing

Room Tip: I don't think they have a fitness center, (why would anyone use a fitness center in Lahaina?) wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyblue420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here whilst recovering post Haleakala trek. Excellent location next to the Banyan tree park, just by the wharf and next to the library. Can't be beat with stores downstairs and Front st steps away. My room was lovely and very large with a great lanai overlooking the Banyan tree. Staff here, katherine and Anne were super helpful. Anne was a god -send when my trip to Molokini was canceled. My only problem was lugging my bags up the steps (no elevator) with my sore sore knees post trek.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spunkeymonkey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Pioneer Hotel in downtown Lahaina. The restored 1800 historic hotel had lots of charm. The Hotel wasn't very crowded in August, thus it was pretty quiet. We had a room overlooking the patio and ate our breakfast on our deck each morning. We enjoyed being in the center of town as we were close to everything.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the patio and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guest3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

hired a care with some friends who had been here before. Just popped in for a relaxing drink. Good selection of beers and ales. Great location overlooking the sea. staff firendly and attentitive. Would definitely go for a drink here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rushwojg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,192 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $195 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing