We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice surprise in Lahaina!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise in Lahaina!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having read some reviews, my expectations were so-so - exp. about the pool and the parking. However, upon arrival we loved the room and the location was excellent. Staff super nice! The pool was crystal clear - the parking was half a short block away and we couldn't have asked for a better location! Yes, there is no elevator so you have to get your suitcase up and then back down the staircase....maybe some kind of 'dumb-waiter' could solve that problem. But the beds were great, the bathroom seemed newly remodeled. Fridge in room, ironing board, remote for A/C. Would stay again. Fair price we thought!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    325
    66
    21
    11
See reviews for
107
423
56
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place was great and right for the money. The staff was super friendly, rooms clean and charming and very convenient to most everything. Had a great little balcony off the room (20), there wasn't anything about it that wasn't perfect for a nice little stay in this great town. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firecraker15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at our historic inn. We are proud of its history and strive to keep it up with modern amentities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Pioneer Inn 5 nights in July and the location was perfect for shopping and dining as well as driving to Kaanapali for beach time. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and cozy. We had a lanai over the pool - courtyard - beautiful. Pool was very clean and the perfect stop after the beach or just in the evening. Food is excellent at the Pioneer Inn as well...breakfast was a delight! Free Parking was included and was very convenient. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after taking a ferry ride over from another island. We had no car and this beautiful historic hotel was right on the harbor and in a great location for us. There is no real beach like you would expect from many of the Hawaiian resorts and it lacks many amenities you may expect from a some of the bigger resorts. We were able to get a room without booking in advance and I thought our room, with views of both the park, main shopping drag and the harbor were an excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJIandKMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Pioneer is a charming 112 year old hotel that feels more Caribbean than Hawaiian. Highlights include the huge balconies, refrigerators in rooms, free parking, a beautiful shaded courtyard/pool area, and outstanding service and tips from every employee we spoke to. The hotel breakfast is absolutely outstanding and a great value. $3 side of bacon was six perfect slices. $7 Macadamia pancakes were enough for three people and had about $7 worth of nuts in them. The hotel is situated right in the middle of Front Street, the main shopping drag in one of the greatest small towns in America. People are very friendly in Lahaina, and the hotel staff are no exception. The hotel is a great value, and is a short walk from about 30 restaurants, a supermarket, and numerous historic sights, and two beaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austex_gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here because I didn't have a car. Wasn't sure of my decision because I was wanting to have a beach in front of me, but it was the best decision I could have made. One has access to everything Lahaina has to offer and it's all walking. The hotel is so clean and nice. The food is excellent and Jeremy the bar tender makes the best Mai Tai's. All the help from the receptionists was right on. They were the best!. I miss it so much. I will say that this isn't a resort. I went to Kanapali and if you want to be around every other winey tourist in a high rise, then it's there for ya. But if it's just you or a couple, and you want to sit on the balcony with a Maui coffee and watch the Lahaina people come and go, or sit on the pool side in the quiet court yard, then Pioneer Inn is it. The Wahikuli Beach Park in between the resorts and Lahaina was excellent for snokeling and the receptionist at the Pioneer Inn can tell you how to get there from the hotel. I can't say enough about the Pioneer Inn, it was just great!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I spent 3 nights there last week on my trip to Maui. It was absolutely wonderful. The people are friendly, the atmosphere is great with plenty of old world charm about the place. The decks on the rooms are large and comfortable. The rooms are comfortable but they each have their own window air conditioner but for me the minor noise was okay. I mean you are going to hear some AC noise at any hotel. The WIFI worked great as well. The best part is the hotel is right in the middle of everything so all you have to do is walk out of the place and walk down the streets to all the cute little shops and eateries. It is right on the water with the harbor right in front of the hotel. I do not know if there was a fitness center or not. The pool was clean and nice. The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced as was the lodging. I will definetely stay there again! 5 stars from me!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park on the 2nd floor. Those rooms have a view of the park and the downto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,448 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
8.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing