We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good alternative to fancy resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good alternative to fancy resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The Pioneer Inn is an older, more historical alternative to the big resorts on Maui. It has an absolutely prime location on the waterfront in Lahaina. There is a multitude of restaurants and shopping right out the door. Our room was small but adequate sized, and quite clean and well kept up. We also had an interior balcony which was quite pleasant. Parking was in a shared lot two blocks away, but this was not really inconvenient. This facility is a very nice place to stay if you want to experience a more authentic, less resort-oriented Maui vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnjgraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for recognizing the true character and positive points of our historic inn.
We hope you come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    354
    78
    24
    13
See reviews for
132
475
63
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed there on the advice from a local and was very pleased with the accomidations. The reasturant was very good and the rooms were also good. It is one of the oldest hotels on Maui and it's location sets apart from all the rest. When yoiu walk out the front door there are all the fishing charter boats along with various sightseeing, submarine, whale watching boats etc. Across the street are unlimited reasurants souvenir shops and everything to accomadate a tourist. Great value that is probably over looked by most.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRAZIL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Katherine worths the Stay, but the hotel itself asks urgently for big changes. Old and noisy air conditionair, no concierge, etc. Too expensive for what it offers. Good location, with many stores around, but not so Nice beach.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank franciscoBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The pioneer inn has a wonderful location. Everything is close by. We had a cute balcony facing the street. We enjoyed our stay. The only downside (only my opinion) - beds were very uncomfortable. I have 3 herniated disks and sleep comfort is very important. Therefore I was not fully satisfied with that aspect. Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ag_Bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This fine old hotel has stayed the same for 100 years, making it the exact opposite of the glitzy beach resorts just up the shore. Pioneer is on the harbor at the ferry landing and the old lighthouse. It occupies the second floor (shops on the bottom) so rooms have a nice balcony, a high ceiling, and a view. There is no elevator.
The hotel sign is all but invisible, so go to the lighthouse. There, a 5-minute parking slot allows you to run inside and get a parking permit. (Parking comes at a premium anywhere in Lahaina.)
The location seems like the center of the universe with hundreds of shops within easy walking distance. But note that swimming is not practical and surfing can be a tough because of the rocks and harbor walls.
The banyan tree across the street provides an unforgettable memory.
Hotel rooms are old (window a/c units) but tidy and comfortable.
The restaurant serves an outstanding breakfast and pretty good dinners.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. It has nice older rooms, but clean that is for sure. We stayed with our deck facing the courtyard, so it was quiet. I would imagine if you stay facing the park it would be lot louder, but would be great for people watching. The restaurant/bar downstairs is great as well. They are very helpful as well..Great bartenders that are willing to help you out and the manager Donna is great!! I loved the location as well, you can walk anywhere from here, and it's a great place to stay if you are going out on any fishing excursions as they are right there. Worked very well for us and would go back again for sure!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room then get it facing the courtyard rather than the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wedandendy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Last minute trip to Maui stayed a night at the Pioneer inn. Perfect location by the marina for boat tours, shops, restaurants across the street from largest Banyon tree and mountain views from the hotel. The best hotel reception EVER!! Her name escapes me but I detected a German accent?? Thank you Thank you for making my intro to Maui at the Lahaina Pioneer Inn perfection!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsonac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
9.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing