We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week in paradise in a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Pukalani
2 reviews
“A week in paradise in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent 7 nights at Pioneer Inn and loved it! Everything you need within walking distance. Shopping, restaurants, and ocean right outside our door. Excellent, friendly staff, quaint decor, free parking, great place to relax, shop, and people watch. Went whale watching w/ Maui OceanRiders, which was awesome, and saw a movie on our downtime. Can't beat the price and location...lots to do:) and discount vouchers for meals...nice!

Room Tip: Pool side is the most quiet; Front St. side if you want to people watch from your balcony, but noisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    352
    74
    24
    13
See reviews for
128
468
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Aust
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the historical PI at Lahaina. The location was perfect right across from the harbour and near all the shops, park and restaurants. The hotel had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. They also provided discount vouchers for their restaurant which was also pretty good as well as free local calls and internet. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect start to our holiday in Hawaii. The free parking in town was a short walk.

Room Tip: Rooms near the courtyard are quieter and there are stairs but no lifts to 2nd level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 02KJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Inn. You can't beat the location, you're right in the middle of everything and the harbour is right in front of the hotel when you go on a snorkel excursion. The rooms were nice although a bit on the small side. But doesn't really matter too much because we were too busy with activities to really notice. Although, the bathroom has very limited counter space, just a small shelf. And we had a fridge in our room and a coffee maker. The AC unit was loud but we're heavy sleepers so didn't notice once we fell asleep. The balcony was nice to sit out on. But it's not private so you will see your neighbours sitting right next to you. Parking was just down the street and a few minutes walk back to the hotel. They even gave you beach towels which was great. We loved the fact that we could just walk everywhere. There were no elevators to the rooms and plenty of stairs. We walked for about 5 mins to get to the beach. The staff were all very helpful and friendly at the front desk. Cleaning people were not so friendly. There were no safes in the rooms they are downstairs and the front desk has a key and you have one also and it can only be opened with both keys. The safe was not too big but enough for your valuables. They give you a 15% discount at the restaurant downstairs and the food is pretty good. Parking was included and on the day we checked out they let us leave our car there until 3pm since we had an excursion in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoohBearRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machipongo, Virginia, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Inn in Lahaina. The rooms were fairly small, but newly renovated, and the best location. We went on a whale watch right outside the door! Parking was only a short block away, and there was always space available.Being downtown, it was within walking distance from anyplace--shopping, dining, sightseeing, etc. Would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed there for three nights in February 2013. Located perfectly in the centre of Lahaina, close to the Cinema (bus station). Not directly on the beach, but plenty nice beaches very close (kaanapali about 20 minutes by public transport bus).
Rooms are nice and clean, i felt very comfortable. Hotel was originally built in 1901 or so and is very atmospheric a you can feel the history there.
I would be back anytime definitely, thanks a lot!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Save_The_Cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It is so good to hear you enjoyed our central location and historic hotel.
We take pride in keeping this 112 year old property current for today's traveler.
Please come see us again next time you are in Lahaina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here on the 1st night of our trip. A very historic place to stay right across from the harbor,banyan tree park and busy Front ST. Room was very clean and comfortable and the front desk staff was very friendly.We arrived here in the dark and it was a little difficult to find the place as there is also many shops in the building as well. But a very good experience and nearby free parking is a plus.Very convienently located,close to shops and resturants.Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are happy to provide free parking to our guests, since parking in our historic town of Lahaina is both a challenge and expensive. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aumsville, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Both my husband & myself prefer Best Western's, as we know they will always be nice & clean, as well as maintained properly. We only needed a room for one night, though have now stayed there that last two times in Maui. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are nice and clean. They even have a nice restaurant & swimming pool. The rooms are not large, though when in Maui/Hawaii would you stay in your room very long. There is a fride & microwave, as well as coffee pot in each room. It is right on the main strip in Lahaina, as well as out back is the beautiful ocean & boats. Definitely a great place to stay & very friendly staff.

Room Tip: The restaurant has great food & it is located in a great area. Rooms are nice & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbycat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing