We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Nearby Hotels
$392
$339
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$576
$479
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$287
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$299
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$360
$299
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$386
$349
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$407
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$268
$257
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveler rating
458
401
90
27
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
401
90
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe banyan treeno elevatorhistoric hotelfront streetgreat locationlahaina harborattached restaurantrocking chairsair conditionercentral locationrooms are smallstreet noisewhale watchingcorner roomceiling fanmini fridgea great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 993 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Inn. You can't beat the location, you're right in the middle of everything and the harbour is right in front of the hotel when you go on a snorkel excursion. The rooms were nice although a bit on the small side. But doesn't really matter too much because we were too busy with activities to really notice. Although, the bathroom has very limited counter space, just a small shelf. And we had a fridge in our room and a coffee maker. The AC unit was loud but we're heavy sleepers so didn't notice once we fell asleep. The balcony was nice to sit out on. But it's not private so you will see your neighbours sitting right next to you. Parking was just down the street and a few minutes walk back to the hotel. They even gave you beach towels which was great. We loved the fact that we could just walk everywhere. There were no elevators to the rooms and plenty of stairs. We walked for about 5 mins to get to the beach. The staff were all very helpful and friendly at the front desk. Cleaning people were not so friendly. There were no safes in the rooms they are downstairs and the front desk has a key and you have one also and it can only be opened with both keys. The safe was not too big but enough for your valuables. They give you a 15% discount at the restaurant downstairs and the food is pretty good. Parking was included and on the day we checked out they let us leave our car there until 3pm since we had an excursion in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoohBearRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Inn in Lahaina. The rooms were fairly small, but newly renovated, and the best location. We went on a whale watch right outside the door! Parking was only a short block away, and there was always space available.Being downtown, it was within walking distance from anyplace--shopping, dining, sightseeing, etc. Would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed there for three nights in February 2013. Located perfectly in the centre of Lahaina, close to the Cinema (bus station). Not directly on the beach, but plenty nice beaches very close (kaanapali about 20 minutes by public transport bus).
Rooms are nice and clean, i felt very comfortable. Hotel was originally built in 1901 or so and is very atmospheric a you can feel the history there.
I would be back anytime definitely, thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Save_The_Cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

It is so good to hear you enjoyed our central location and historic hotel.
We take pride in keeping this 112 year old property current for today's traveler.
Please come see us again next time you are in Lahaina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here on the 1st night of our trip. A very historic place to stay right across from the harbor,banyan tree park and busy Front ST. Room was very clean and comfortable and the front desk staff was very friendly.We arrived here in the dark and it was a little difficult to find the place as there is also many shops in the building as well. But a very good experience and nearby free parking is a plus.Very convienently located,close to shops and resturants.Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are happy to provide free parking to our guests, since parking in our historic town of Lahaina is both a challenge and expensive. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Both my husband & myself prefer Best Western's, as we know they will always be nice & clean, as well as maintained properly. We only needed a room for one night, though have now stayed there that last two times in Maui. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are nice and clean. They even have a nice restaurant & swimming pool. The rooms are not large, though when in Maui/Hawaii would you stay in your room very long. There is a fride & microwave, as well as coffee pot in each room. It is right on the main strip in Lahaina, as well as out back is the beautiful ocean & boats. Definitely a great place to stay & very friendly staff.

Room Tip: The restaurant has great food & it is located in a great area. Rooms are nice & clean.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabbycat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews