We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Historic Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Indy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Historic Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. You have to understand going in that it's an old building, but full of charm. There is no parking, so they give you a pass for a public parking lot, not really a problem, you can drop your bags off then go and park. Check in was easy and the staff on reception were friendly. We stayed in room 29 which overlooks the banyan tree, the rooms are pretty basic, but clean and the bed was pretty comfy! You will get to know your neighbors if you are all sitting on the balcony, which was sort of fun, everyone was very chatty while sitting having coffee or a cocktail.

We stayed over a weekend, and yes the music is loud, unfortunately the hotel has absolutely no control over it, the bar is across the street. The air conditioner was pretty loud, so if you put it on it will drown out the music! Not ideal, but it worked fine - and trust me, I'm one of those peeps that doesn't like to be near the elevator or ice machine at a hotel!!

I did spend some time by the pool - it was quiet, sat and read my book in peace, it's not somewhere you would go to for the pool, so maybe that is why it was so quiet, but a nice place to relax for a while at the end of the day.

We did eat breakfast at the restaurant - loved the macadamia pancakes, and it was fun to sit and watch all the activity at the pier.

Overall I was "pleasantly surprised" the location cannot be beat if you want to stay "in the heart" of downtown, and being able to sit and listen to the birds in the banyan tree, in my PJ's was a treat!

Room Tip: Overlook the banyan tree - a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    357
    79
    24
    13
See reviews for
132
482
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

On our anniversery trip we stayed first in a condo with another couple. Nice but kind of isolated. Our last 4 nites were just us at the Pioneer. Beautiful old place and every day or nite you could sit and stare at the ocean, the Banyan tree or the parade of people on Front St. Not fancy and not an isolated resort but everything was a walk away. You really did not have to walk as the bar has a 4 hour happy hour and sometimes a band where by 7 pm people were dancing in the street. In 2 minutes you could be on a boat at the pier. Front desk people were great especially when they found and returned my wife's lost purse. Great place when you are done with quiet isolation.

Room Tip: half way between front street and harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I ended up getting of a cruise ship and staying the remainder of my holidays here.. It was convenient being right in town, but I was a little worried at first being that my room was so close. My room faced the banyan tree and was right on the street. It wasn't noisy at all though, pretty quiet. If you're staying for a couple nights (I stayed about three nights) then it's worth the stay. We would have breakfast at the hotel restaurant in the mornings and the staff was really helpful and great as well. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed our historic inn and the 175 year old Banyan tree.
Please visit again.

Jim Lennon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The room was OK but the management and staff that run the hotel are a bunch of LIARS. We arrived before check-in, I talked to the lady at the front desk and she said we could check our bags and that she would give us a parking pass. We checked our bags and she gave us a parking pass for the 17th to the 20th, the dates that we were staying at the hotel. She said if the lot was full to come back and she'd give us another pass for a different lot. It was full, we came back and tried to give her back the first parking pass she gave us and she said to keep it because we were staying a few nights and gave us another pass for a different lot. We eventually checked in and spent the first night there. We were out all day the next day and came back around 5pm, we walked past the reception area and the lady at the front says "we were so worried about you folks, check out was at 11". We said we were there for 3 nights and even showed her a copy of our reservation that my husband happened to have on him. She still claimed that we were only scheduled for 1 night and that's what her computer said. I even called her on it as both parking pass that she wrote out for us said in big black writing the 17-20th and even reminded her that I tried to give one pass back to her and she said to hold onto it cause we were here for multiple nights....They had packed up all of our stuff!! They happened to have another room that we could stay in, that was a smoking room which we had purposely not booked and that faced Front street, not ideal when you have a 6 month old baby....My husband went with a staff member to get our bags from the secured area and they just let him walk in there and take what ever bags hs wanted. When the bags got to our room we eneded up with another ladys purse!! I had breast milk in the mini fridge, that they had apparantly put in the fridge of the restraunt, when she went to get it it, it was not there!! She said she would track it down and call the new room when it was located. When I got to the new room it was in the mini fridge...hmmm...but we were suppose to be checking out that day why would the milk be in this new room ahead of us arriving back at the hotel when were suppsositivly not staying another night...So we are now in this new room and they don't try and charge us for extra nights or anything when we had apparantly only paid for 1 night...Something was not right!! I would have a lot more respect for them if they had just fessed up and said that they had screwed up it's the LYING that is totally unacceptable!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Amber
I would be happy to talk to you about what we might do to make amends for your recent stay at our hotel. I do want to let you know that partially because of your experience we have begun converting all of our guest rooms to smoke free. We hope to complete the process by the end of summer 2012.
Please call my direct line (807)264-2597
Thank you
Becky Lennon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I was initially nervous about staying in a historic hotel- I've had questionable luck on the East coast with similar-type properties. I was pleasantly surprised by the Pioneer Inn. Although all rooms are on the second floor and there is no elevators the rooms were large enough for two and the beds were Very comfortable. The room's lanai overlooked Front street, so if you're noise sensitive and don't run the A/C I'd suggest earplugs, but we had no problem on our Monday/Tuesday night stay. Weekends may be noisier as Front street is the main drag in Lahaina. I look forward to staying again!

Room Tip: Next time I'll ask for a room facing the Banyan tree or the Harbor for better view. People watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynhared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo, Peru
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

great hostel no more conection to the city,nice place to be and be far to the noice,necei service personel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peruwaverider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our historic inn and found it a relaxing change.

Jim Lennon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I really enjoyed 2 nights at the end of my trip here at the Pioneer Inn. It is a historic building so you should know that going in; just 2 stories and no fancy elevators and such. Yes, the floors were a bit creaky, but the furnishings had a nice, historic touch and so it felt like you were transported back in time a bit. I really loved the feel of being in a historic place and it was nice to be right there in the middle of Lahaina Town and not have to worry about driving home. You could easily roll out of bed and right down to the harbor for any sunrise boat trips as well. Really, I would love to come back. The balconies didn't really have much privacy (OK, well really, there's no privacy whatsoever), which is unusual, but whatever. Just know that ahead of time and you should be fine. My room overlooked the courtyard so no noise problems that some have complained of from Front Street, but I've been down on Front Street at night and in my opinion, it's not THAT noisy at night anyway. I've been in places with some severe noise problems and Lahaina is not one of them. As always, it's all about perspective and what kinds of experiences you've had and what your expectations are going in. If you're looking for resort-beach-Maui experience then go to Ka'anapali. If you want to experience the convenience of being in Lahaina Town and a unique flavor to a hotel, then spend a few nights here. A nice additional touch were the locking screen doors (in addition to a solid door) leading out to the lanai so you could leave it open at night. I happen to crave the ambient sounds at night and that might be why I didn't perceive any noise problems. I'll surely be back to this hotel again; I really liked my stay here a lot!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for visiting and choosing our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
9.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing