We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I was initially nervous about staying in a historic hotel- I've had questionable luck on the East coast with similar-type properties. I was pleasantly surprised by the Pioneer Inn. Although all rooms are on the second floor and there is no elevators the rooms were large enough for two and the beds were Very comfortable. The room's lanai overlooked Front street, so if you're noise sensitive and don't run the A/C I'd suggest earplugs, but we had no problem on our Monday/Tuesday night stay. Weekends may be noisier as Front street is the main drag in Lahaina. I look forward to staying again!

Room Tip: Next time I'll ask for a room facing the Banyan tree or the Harbor for better view. People watch...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ynhared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Pioneer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 912 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

great hostel no more conection to the city,nice place to be and be far to the noice,necei service personel

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peruwaverider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed our historic inn and found it a relaxing change.

Jim Lennon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I really enjoyed 2 nights at the end of my trip here at the Pioneer Inn. It is a historic building so you should know that going in; just 2 stories and no fancy elevators and such. Yes, the floors were a bit creaky, but the furnishings had a nice, historic touch and so it felt like you were transported back in time a bit. I really loved the feel of being in a historic place and it was nice to be right there in the middle of Lahaina Town and not have to worry about driving home. You could easily roll out of bed and right down to the harbor for any sunrise boat trips as well. Really, I would love to come back. The balconies didn't really have much privacy (OK, well really, there's no privacy whatsoever), which is unusual, but whatever. Just know that ahead of time and you should be fine. My room overlooked the courtyard so no noise problems that some have complained of from Front Street, but I've been down on Front Street at night and in my opinion, it's not THAT noisy at night anyway. I've been in places with some severe noise problems and Lahaina is not one of them. As always, it's all about perspective and what kinds of experiences you've had and what your expectations are going in. If you're looking for resort-beach-Maui experience then go to Ka'anapali. If you want to experience the convenience of being in Lahaina Town and a unique flavor to a hotel, then spend a few nights here. A nice additional touch were the locking screen doors (in addition to a solid door) leading out to the lanai so you could leave it open at night. I happen to crave the ambient sounds at night and that might be why I didn't perceive any noise problems. I'll surely be back to this hotel again; I really liked my stay here a lot!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for visiting and choosing our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We spent one night at the Pioneer Inn and loved the location. It is smack dab in the middle of town. Our room had balcony facing the banyan tree. It was amazing to wat. The thousands of birds flock to the tree at sunset. The downside was we could hear the live music from the various bars until they closed at 2 AM. Family in a room farther from Front street did not hear the music. The room was ver small and old, which we expected. It was clean and bed was comfortable. It was fun to be able to walk anywhere downtown from this location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from Front street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crisseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us and constructive comments. We hope to see you again

Jim Lennon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

If anyplace in Lahaina has Location nailed it is the Pioneer Inn. It IS the center of everything. We had a double room with big Lanai facing the Banyan Tree with a view of the Harbor. We enjoyed this spot for the last two nights of our stay on Maui. Many others apparently do the same thing at the beginning or end they tack on a few days here for the traditional experience. The room is what you would expect of a Best Western. It is OK. The hotel has a small pool set in a garden courtyard which is a great place for cooling off at the end of the day. the lanai is a great place for a cocktail and watching the thousands of Mina birds come to roost in the Banyan Tree. The room has a small fridge and free wifi and there is an ice machine. There is an OK bar and grill attached to the hotel but the best burgers in town is across Front street at the Crazy Cat.

This is a great value for those on a limited budget and a neat experience for those who want to spend a few days in historical Lahaina.

Room Tip: Rooms 17, 19, 21 and 23 all seem to be good in that they sit across from the Banyan tree and also ha...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed a couple nights here while in Maui. We had a great time. The rooms are nice. We had a great time drinking on the lanai facing front street and people watching. The restaurant downstairs serves a pretty good breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavsman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Best Western Pioneer Inn. The rooms were clean and spacious with a small lanai (pool-facing) and mini-fridge. The pool was small but clean and the right temperature. We read books on the chairs while our children swam and frolicked. The hotel has beautiful landscaping around the pool, making it feel slightly hidden.

We ate breakfast 3 times at the hotel's restaurant and got prompt, pleasant service each time. Our children loved the open air restaurant and the daring birds that would wait to be feed scraps. The breakfast prices were a bit high, but we got a discount for staying at the hotel so it evened out.

The location of the hotel was the best part! We were right along the water and we got front row seats for watching the fireworks out over the water. We could walk next door to the artist's market. One morning, I got up early and went for a walk in the downtown area. It was peaceful to watch the small town waking up. We were also centrally located near several nice restaurants, an ice cream parlor, a museum and the location for our surfing lessons.

What a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimJ_in_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
4.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $198 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing