We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This is a great location especially if you plan any tours out of the harbor. Our trip was a weekend trip and specifically to take a snorkeling/whale watching tour that left out of the harbor...early! Because we were tight on time location was what sold us on the Pioneer Inn. The hotel was actually better than I expected. We had a king room with a harbor view. The view was actually a park view and you could see the harbor too. I loved the terrace! It was great for people watching. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and we slept very well. The parking is not that far from the hotel. You can unload your luggage at the hoteland then park the car. The location was in the center of shopping, restaurants and the park so we walked everywhere and everything was within an easy walk. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant and though it was very good. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it. It is not a resort hotel and doesn't offer a beach for swimming. If I had been staying longer than a weekend and were on vacation I would have wanted a resort hotel. For us this was perfect because we were able to catch our 7:30am snorkeling/whale watch tour by very easily walking across to the harbor and then easily head for the shower at the hotel when we were back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcalbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 923 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2011

Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Great location and the staff was nice. You get a 15% discount at the attached restaurant/bar if you stay there. Our room faced the courtyard and was not noisy. Parking was kind of a pain,- it was very close but the rental car company had run out of smaller cars and I got stuck with a minivan. It was tight getting into some of the parking spots. I would stay there again, it's right across from the harbor for all of the boat excursions and you can just walk over and check them out. Very nice mattresses.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewMexic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Actually I was here 2 years ago. That´s a good hotel in a wonderfull location. The best point to reach all island. Confort hotel, big room and a good balcony with a great view. They offer a park few blocks away. And staff are OK. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luiz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I am always attracted to old, quaint inns with a little history. This place fit the bill perfectly. Right on the Lahaina Harbor and smack in the middle of town. We had the corner room with the king bed and it was plenty roomy. It did smell like stale cigarette smoke, however, and if you are a light sleeper, the street noise may hamper your sleeping. Didn't bother me a bit. The pool was clean, although we didn't take the time to enjoy it. The restaurant served a decent breakfast at a reasonable price. Parking is free, but across the road and behind another building...not a problem. No elevators so you have to hoof it up the steps to the rooms, which are all on the second floor. Some people complained about the noise from the AC. I, personally, didn't even notice it the one time we actually turned it on. All in all, we loved the Pioneer Inn, but were only there two nights.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noyesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

The Best Western Pioneer Inn in Lahaina is placed in a perfect location. Walking distance from shops and the beach, a great way to experience the town of Lahaina. The restuarant onsite was great and the service was great there. The one thing that we had a problem with was the front desk staff, particularly a young woman who I shall remain nameless. She was very unpleasant towards us and she needs some help with hospitality. Other than that, this place is a great place for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMADALEY1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This property is the best of being both a historical inn with the modern ammenities of being in a Best Western. Clean and modern with free Wifi and parking less than a block away. The parking lot is much closer than it used to be. Pool was very clean, hallways could be cleaner. Great location on Front street close to dining and shopping.. We had a room that faced the pool area and it was very quiet. We also had a partial harbor view. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippinkpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Best location in Lahaina, right in town, right on the water. Ferry access to Molokai and Lanai right out the door. The town is very historic and after dinner walkabout along the harbor and under the banyan a rare experience. Bring your ear plugs, just know it's not a luxury resort, it's a historic hotel that is unique and well priced.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlenecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,584 reviews
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
4.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $188 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing