We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock and Roll Whale Watching”
Review of Teralani Sailing

Teralani Sailing
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.50*
and up
Teralani Sunset Maui Cocktail Sail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted #1 BEST WATER ACTIVITY for 2011, 2012 & 2013 by the Maui News Readers Poll, TERALANI SAILING ADVENTURES offers the ultimate in luxury sailing,snorkeling,whale watching and sunset excursions along Maui's scenic west coast.Our immaculate,spacious 65 ft. Catamarans offer the convenience of boarding directly from Ka'anapali Beach. Simply walk on board and let the fun begin!Enjoy the spectacular vistas of West Maui while cruising to one of Maui's world famous fish preserves. Gear up with high quality snorkel and flotation gear.Discover the pristine underwater world of Maui. Explore the tropical reefs teaming with exotic fish. Learn snorkeling tips from our water experts. Swim with Hawaii's giant green sea turtles. During whale season (Dec.15 Thru Apr.15)Experience the wonder of Maui's largest visitors, the Humpback whale. With decades of experience our crews quickly and safely allow our guests to experience them up-close. Learn about these amazing mammals from our marine naturalists.Savor our delicious food and endless beverages from our award winning caterer. Dine al fresco enjoying the tropical breezes and sunshine or settle into our spacious,shaded,open-air cabin. The choice is yours!Along the way, keep an eye out for pods of dancing dolphins and flying fish! Witness the most beautiful sunsets in the world aboard the TERALANI .Sail on a golden sea, sway with the tropical breezes and share the romance with your loved ones! Enjoy the pampering of our helpful and friendly crew.Make memories that will last a lifetime. Experience the adventure aboard the TERALANI!(TERALANI SAILING ADVENTURES is a family-owned, and operated business.)
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Seven Hills, Ohio
1 review
“Rock and Roll Whale Watching”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I went on the cocktail sunset cruise. The crew were Christina and Mark and they were helpful and attentive. Captain Kevin played classic rock and roll and I loved it! Plenty of appetizers and cocktails were available and I enjoyed sipping my rum & coke while enjoying plenty of room on the boat. We saw 2 whales with their calves and Captain Kevin and crew were informative about the whales, which added to the fun, at-sea experience. I would definitely do the Teralani again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank noscubaincleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    134
    37
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The dinner cruise was nicely done, with a hardworking staff, reasonably good food (brought in from a local restaurant), and free- flowing drinks. Whale watching was a bonus during this time of the year. Only problem was a fouled up booking that somehow missed connections among our agency, the booking service that Teralani uses, and Teralani itself. Hearing another "you're not on our list" while we waited on shore leads me to suspect our travel agent wasn't the source of the problem, but who knows.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank perfessor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“AWESOME WHALE WATCH!!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Myself, and my three friends, joined the crew on the Teralani for a wonderful whale watch. Started with Aloha Spirit, from Drew, on the beach. Drew was very polite, funny, and most of all, informative on safety and comfort. The boat was very clean and comfortable. Mark, with his wealth of whale knowledge, was able to provide accurate information, and factoids, about the whales, and added a few jokes to keep things lively, as well. Captain was equally as funny and polite, and genuinely concerned for everyone's safety.
So many whales out that day, and even had the pleasure of watching a rare encounter of a competition pod vying for a female, with a newborn calf at her side.
All in all, I would highly recommend the Teralani. What a great day, and great service.
Thank you crew of the Teralani, I will definitely be back aboard, and tell everyone I see about our experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank viperlver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ditch the bad classic rock PLEASE!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

During the entire 5 hour trip we were assaulted with the worst 1980's vintage Pandora playlist. Van Halen's " Jump" played three times in one hour, followed by Quiet Riot and Motley Crue. There was no chance of having a peaceful trip listening to the water and the wind on a beautiful, albeit blustery day, even for a short time. It was distracting. We were told that it was part of the experience and they would not turn the music off.
Apparently, peanut butter and Jelly sandwiches on white bread along were also part of the experience. I could have saved $130 by whale watching from my hotel balcony and snorkeling for $20 at black rock (which was as good as Honolua Bay if not better).

Nice enough crew, although they didn't interact with the clients much unless you paid extra $69 for the SNUBA services. Captain Kevin did an excellent job of navigating the somewhat choppy water. 2 people got sea sick, abandoned ship, and called a cab from Honolua Bay. It was weird.

The beer was free and plentiful, the BBQ chicken delicious, and the boat was clean.
I loved running through the surf to get on-board! That was fun.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc1212, Manager at Teralani Sailing, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Mahalo for bringing the music to our attention. We have addressed this with our crew. We try our best to match the music to the trip, but we agree, none of our trips are complimented by Motley Crew or Quiet Riot. We do however have the peanut butter and jelly out for the kids, which seems to be a big hit with them. It is really not intended for the adults, but they are always welcome to join in on a nostalgic meal of their childhood. We do want to say mahalo for taking the time to provide us your feedback as it is always valuable and a great training tool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We had an awesome Trip”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was an awesome trip. the food is brought in from an offsite restaurant, it was very good. Sure it is paper plates and plastic cups but I am not sure what else you would expect. The staff were very good and professional, this was a very enjoyable trip. Even my wife who gets motion sickness was fine throughout the whole trip. we would go again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WobblyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teralani Sailing also viewed

 

Been to Teralani Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing