We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best deals on the island”
Review of Teralani Sailing

Teralani Sailing
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.50*
and up
Teralani Sunset Maui Cocktail Sail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted #1 BEST WATER ACTIVITY for 2011, 2012 & 2013 by the Maui News Readers Poll, TERALANI SAILING ADVENTURES offers the ultimate in luxury sailing,snorkeling,whale watching and sunset excursions along Maui's scenic west coast.Our immaculate,spacious 65 ft. Catamarans offer the convenience of boarding directly from Ka'anapali Beach. Simply walk on board and let the fun begin!Enjoy the spectacular vistas of West Maui while cruising to one of Maui's world famous fish preserves. Gear up with high quality snorkel and flotation gear.Discover the pristine underwater world of Maui. Explore the tropical reefs teaming with exotic fish. Learn snorkeling tips from our water experts. Swim with Hawaii's giant green sea turtles. During whale season (Dec.15 Thru Apr.15)Experience the wonder of Maui's largest visitors, the Humpback whale. With decades of experience our crews quickly and safely allow our guests to experience them up-close. Learn about these amazing mammals from our marine naturalists.Savor our delicious food and endless beverages from our award winning caterer. Dine al fresco enjoying the tropical breezes and sunshine or settle into our spacious,shaded,open-air cabin. The choice is yours!Along the way, keep an eye out for pods of dancing dolphins and flying fish! Witness the most beautiful sunsets in the world aboard the TERALANI .Sail on a golden sea, sway with the tropical breezes and share the romance with your loved ones! Enjoy the pampering of our helpful and friendly crew.Make memories that will last a lifetime. Experience the adventure aboard the TERALANI!(TERALANI SAILING ADVENTURES is a family-owned, and operated business.)
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best deals on the island”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We take the subset dinner cruise every year. Yesterday was our third time as before it was great. Captain Kevin, Mark and Mario did a great job on again making this one of our favorite things to do here. Tons of whales to watch with open bar snacks and a delightful dinner. Mark was very informative on answering questions about whales. You just cannot beat this adventure for bang for the buck. We'll be back next year and this will be on our list again. Mahalo to the crew of Teralani II for again supplying us with a great evening in Maui. See you next year.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    134
    37
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice catamaran ride - whale watching with Teralani”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We cruised in to Maui on a Princess Cruise ship and met up with the crew of the Teralani on the Kaanapali Beach. Captain Pam did a great job of following the whales. The snacks were good and the crew very friendly and knowledgeable. We would definately recommend this "tour".

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank junebaby52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
“Fantastic Day on the Water”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our day on the Teralani II was absolutely wonderful. The food, weather, bar, and snorkeling were the highlight of our vacation. Saw my first sea turtle and it was a whole new world down there. One of the best parts of the day was Drew's incredible knowledge of the whales, her passion and love for the job is obvious. Jesiah took us for our first SNUBA experience and it was definitely worth the little extra!! What a fun day, a must do while on Maui. Thanks Teralani and the Crew that makes it all possible!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mollyinmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So fun - like hanging out with your friends on their boat”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is something we always talk about doing, but never do and it was a great time. The 36' catamaran pulls right up to the beach and the ladder is lowered. You beach-board this vessel so don't wear pants unless you plan to roll your cuffs up to your knees. Don't wear socks either - everyone puts their shoes in rubbermaid containers so they don't get wet.

Once on the boat, we were given a summary of what to expect on the cruise. Whales. Lots of them. Whale facts. A sunset. Food and drink. Rad.

The crew members were great. Dave, Emily and Kevin. They were a relaxed trio and it was really like we were on a friends' boat hanging out. The number of passengers was pretty small (maybe 30?) so there was plenty of room to move about the boat.

We saw a lot of whales. Everywhere, and from various distances. One mama and baby flirted with the boat and came pretty close. So awesome. Emily was the whale expert and taught us some facts about humpback whales and their mysterious lives.

Kevin was the captain and he was dry and sarcastic and hilarious. He knew exactly where to go to see many many whales.

My husband had a bit of sea sickness so he spent most of his time at the back of the boat sipping ginger ale. Dave was so kind and generous - he made sure to check in on us and even prepared plates of food for us to take with us since we didn't eat on the boat. Also, the food was delicious. It was my first time trying Ono (Wahoo) and I really enjoyed it.

I would recommend this in a heartbeat if you want to take a cruise and see some whales. Even if you just want to take a ride on a boat, I think this is a pretty good deal. Definitely recommended!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stephkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun trip!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely boat, knowledgeable and friendly staff, and nice snacks and drinks made for a great evening. There wasn't as much whale activity as we've seen in the past, but that's really pure luck. If you're staying in Kaanapali it's very convenient to leave right from Whaler's Village as opposed to some of the other lines that leave from Lahaiana. Note that you do have to walk through the water a ways to get on and off the boat so it can be chilly when you get off.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teralani Sailing also viewed

 

Been to Teralani Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing