We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to a Hawaii vacation”
Review of Old Lahaina Luau

Old Lahaina Luau
Ranked #3 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Lahaina Luau takes great pride in presenting an authentic Hawaiian Luau. An evening of traditional Hawaiian cuisine, music, cultural dances and demonstrations. Guests will appreciate a genuine reflection of Hawaii's rich history while enjoying an ocean view and sunset.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect start to a Hawaii vacation”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a well-run luau with decent food and excellent staff. Informational and fun way to begin our week in Maui

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,140
    1,316
    422
    120
    58
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great time at a Luau”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to the Old Lahaina Luau based on a recommendation from a friend and found it to be a great time. From the warm welcome at the initial entrance to the food and entertainment, we had a wonderful time.

The luau is situated right on the edge of the water and provides great views for photos before the dinner starts - what most people were doing while everyone was still trickling in. There were also some arts and crafts and other activities for people to learn about hawaiian culture as well - the kids especially seemed to enjoy those although adults were equally participating. They announced the unearthing of the pig, but it was a bit hard to see due to the number of people crowding around.

2 options are provided for seating when you reserve - traditional style on the ground, or at a typical chair/table. Getting food was pretty organized, with specific tables going to the buffet one at a time. They also had an open bar which had some lines at first, but when dinner started, drink orders could be placed with your server.

The entertainment was great - it wasn't just dancing but there was also some narrative on the history of hula.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable evening - the entertainment was wonderful and the food and service were great. We even got gift bags with banana bread before leaving.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chriso416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing luau experience!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Old Lahaina Luau lived up to all the hype. From the moment you arrive with the warm lei greeting and the friendly faces, you feel welcome. Everything is authentically Hawaiian. We had our own waiter who would bring us drinks from the open bar all night. The only complaint is that the drinks were not strong - but we found this to be commonplace at many restaurants on island. The food was overall very good. The dancers and narration were exceptional. This was a fun evening, and definitely worth doing to get the Hawaii feel.

At the end of the event they had all honeymooners come up and dance in front of the crowd to a sweet, slow Hawaiian song. It was a great memory for us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eastbostontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exactly What A Luau Should be!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This luau is a great example of aloha spirit. They meet you at the entrance with an orchid lei and drink, then escort you to a large oceanfront courtyard filled with demonstrations of various aspects of Hawaiian culture. The kids enjoyed learning how to hula and trying Hawaiian bowling. They have a good mix of traditional foods as well as more popular fare. Open bar all night long, great service, and an authentic look into Hawaiian culture. When the entertainment starts, it is narrated in a way that explains the history of the island while blowing you away with the most amazing and authentic dancing you've ever seen. I highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GPChing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Real Aloha!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

As someone who was born and raised in Hawaii, I've been to a lot of luaus in my time. From family celebrations to formal wedding and birthday luaus. We've been to many of the more "tourist" attractions with guests, too. This time we joined some friends from Florida who have never been to a luau. We suggested Old Lahaina Luau after attending a wedding there a few years ago. I was so proud to experience real aloha from the moment we approached the podium, to the lei greeting, and to our server GP. All the staff we met expressed a sincere aloha and happiness in their jobs. This is something you don't get everywhere in the Islands. The buffet was very good although offering less choices than before. The kalua pork was excellent and the mini laulaus were delicious! A menu that would please kamaaina (locals) and malihini (newcomers) alike. The show was good, but would be nice with more Hawaiian numbers. It didn't have a wide range of Polynesian dances so perhaps they should focus on Hawaiian dances from the old Hawaii through modern times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank auntiesheri808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lahaina Luau also viewed

 

Been to Old Lahaina Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing