We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice costumes”
Review of Old Lahaina Luau

Old Lahaina Luau
Ranked #3 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Lahaina Luau takes great pride in presenting an authentic Hawaiian Luau. An evening of traditional Hawaiian cuisine, music, cultural dances and demonstrations. Guests will appreciate a genuine reflection of Hawaii's rich history while enjoying an ocean view and sunset.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
near Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice costumes”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I enjoyed the dancing. The food was OK. Drinks watered down, but they were included so you can't complain too much. The pork was good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank domegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,078
    1,303
    420
    118
    57
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great, fun experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a bit too early, as we were coming from Wailea, so we went to the Mixed Plate right next to it and had a drink. The staff was fun and made our wait enjoyable, if you have extra time, I recommend stopping here, it's fun! The Luau experience was amazing. From the welcome lei to the pictures with the performers on the exit, it all contributed to a very fun time. Our server was Mike and he made sure we had everything we wanted and needed and kept us laughing and having fun through the entire evening. Thanks for a great experience and keep it up!

Helpful?
Thank skkollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I went to the luau during our honeymoon. The drinks were great, the food was tasty and of great variety, and the atmosphere was pleasurable. Our waitress was very helpful. The dancers were very talented and presented an interesting show. We enjoyed sitting with other couples and had great conversation with them. We didn't really participate in the lei-making or hula lessons, but did enjoy seeing the pig unearthed. A special part of the show was being able to dance on the beach with other couples celebrating special events. Very highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank whatshesaid31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Luau in Lahaina”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's all they do and they are good at it! Expect a traditional Luau. A lot of education and story telling. Not for children under 10 they will be bored! Buffet dinner was very good as well as a full range of cocktails. Maybe it's been banned but no fire dancing:(

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adah, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I found this luau through Frommer's book and word of mouth. When I called, they were booked for the time we would be in Maui, but the woman I talked to was very nice and offered to take my name and number to call in case of a cancellation. Not an hour later, she was calling me back to say they had room for us. It was a little pricey, but so is everything in Hawaii! LOL We got to the event early, so we walked across the street to the Lahaina Mall to kill time-it was ok-found 1 little shop with hand-crafted gourds that ended up being bring-home gifts. The luau opened and we were greeted with a flower lei and a mai-tai and taken to our seats by our evening's server. We were then able to walk around the grounds to see the beach, cultural exhibits, take photos, and wait for the unveiling of the roast pig from the imu. It was very neat to see how they did this and to be there first-hand watching. The buffet was then served by tables-it was FULL of food, most of it labeled, so you knew what you were getting. Everything was very good, prepared well. You could go back up for 2nds or 3rds if you wished, they did not limit you. Also didn't limit you on drinks, which were included in your ticket price-roughly 5 mixed or frozen drink choices were free-flowing. Dessert was then brought to each table, the macadamia nut tarts were absolutely amazing!! They brought 2nds of these throughout the show as well. The show itself was informative, exciting, awesome to see. Overall, we loved this luau that night, but even more after we went to our hotel's version which was way more commercialized. But we wanted to see both in order to compare and experience Hawaii! This luau is a MUST-DO.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lahaina Luau also viewed

 

Been to Old Lahaina Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing