We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Good as it Gets”
Review of Fish Market Maui

Fish Market Maui
Ranked #11 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As Good as it Gets”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although it is tucked away in a strip mall about 2 miles north of the big hotels in Kaanapali it was well worth the search. Unassuming yes but fabulous fish as fresh as it gets served by friendly staff.

I had the best fish burrito I've ever had and I will be back to try the fish burger tomorrow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_London_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    324
    68
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Maui's Real BEST Fish Tacos, & Everything Else is Delicious Too!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have eaten fish tacos at 20 or more restaurants on Maui, and as far as I'm concerned Fish Market Maui has the clear winner!

It is all about the fish - fresh and juicy chunks of ono, cooked perfectly, browned and coated with Cajun spice. My mouth is watering just thinking about them! The corn tortillas, were fresh grilled with crunchy slaw and yummy salsa, no unnecessary ingredients and I didn't need to add extra heat, the spice was just right. I did ask for guacamole and it may have cost an extra dollar, but it was delicious and plentiful, served with a smile. These were definitely the best fish tacos I have had on Maui and probably anywhere.

I was so pleased with myself for clearly ordering the best thing on the menu until I took a bite of my husband's Ono Burger. OMG! No wonder he didn't even want to try my fish tacos! That burger was to die for! It was clearly made with freshly caught fish and seasoned and cooked better than any other fish burger. The pesto and caramelized onions were the perfect touches on the big chewy toasted bun. Can you believe he would only share one bite with me?

It was the perfect post-snorkeling meal with cold iced tea. We sat outside at the little tables and chatted with some fellow fish lovers. We will be back. And next time we may take our food across the road to the beautiful little Honokowai Beach Park where the local families play.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We Love This Place!!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We love to go to the Fish Market to pick up dinner for a nice quiet, inexpensive dinner at home once in a while. A fish entree at the local restaurants will cost around $40. We fed a family of 4 for $50. They will give you recommendations, prepare it for you. All we do is put it in the oven and enjoy. It is clean and they are cutting fish in the back so you know it's fresh. This isn't a a nice
sit-down type of place but perfect to cooking at home. I think we went 4 times while in our vacation. We love you guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sro406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch & fresh to buy too!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We read great things about the food, and in our quest to find fresh caught fish we could cook this was one of the few stores we could find on line that we could a)find and was b)open as we weren't interested in shopping chains. We like to buy local.

Lunch was a fresh catch plate & fresh catch sandwich. Mahi was the catch, prep was exquisite - I can't think of a better word. Every bite was melting-tender and juicy, just the right grill touch ( touch of crunchy but not crusty). Plate came trad with rice and mac salad, sandwich on a bun with Maui chips (a Frito-lay product so the only thing NOT made local). Absolutely worth the time, and cheaper price than many here in Paia (certainly better than our lunch at P Fish Market last week). Once done lunch, we went over to the fresh counter to get supper. 6 or 7 varieties of fish, all fresh from the boat. We took monchong (resisting temptation to take Everything!) which was lovely at supper. Hope to go back for some of the cold preps, ceviche & poke, and more fresh.

Helpful?
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We thought this was fish market. Had a few filets prices at $26 per pound. Went to Times supermarket instead and bought some Mahi Mahi which we grillled. Skip this as a "fish market".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank babygame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Market Maui also viewed

 

Been to Fish Market Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing