We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maui Kai 806 and Whales!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maui Kai
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Maui Kai 806 and Whales!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Just got back from a wonderful trip to Maui! We left the D.C. area just one day before a monster snow storm dumped 33 inches and then three days later another 24 inches!
This is our fourth trip, but our first staying in the Maui Kai and the junior suite 806. Art and Sophie-thank you for allowing us to rent your beautiful condo! It has everything for a wonderful vacation. The unit's furniture is beautiful and the condo is very clean- it was wonderful falling asleep to the sound of the surf that comes right up to the condo. All the staff was so helpful in answering all our questions. The weather in Maui was beautiful! And, most of all, it was wonderful being able to watch whales from the lanai of Maui Kai 806. These magnificant creatures truly touched our souls! I went to Maui with a walking boot on my foot and it was so great to just relax on the lanai at the end of the day with a glass of wine and a Maui sunset!! There is a grocery store two minutes away and it is only ten minutes to Lahaina and it's shopping and many restaurants. Also, only five minutes to drive to Kaanapali. We hope to go back to Maui again and rent this wonderful, convenient condo!! Mahalo

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocbeachbum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
Thanks for the kind words. Please feel fee to pass on our contact info to family and friends and you can always reach us reach through mk806com. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mahalo,
Art & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    190
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
178
687
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, British Isles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

We know Maui, Oahu, Big Island and Kaua'i pretty well but nothing compares to the location of Maui Kai.

This was our third stay at Maui Kai in 4 years.

We travel all the way from Europe and that even involves two nights in the air and 4 flights homebound soif we go there it has to be really excellent.

We like unit no 806 (a junior suite / studio) very much - it is clean, well equipped and modern. Also the friendly and helpful owner Art Nickel [--] replies to all inquiries speedily and he also offers a special discounted price with 12.5% - 25% off normal rates.

It is well worth looking further into Unit 806 via Arthur. More information is here: www.mauikai.org

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milleriom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTBANK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

If you like any of the above then Maui Kai is the place for you, right on the ocean, quiet, clean, gas barbeques, and nice people, spent 11 days there and have already booked for two weeks next year, best holiday ever, we stayed in unit 405 and were disappointed in nothing and happy with every thing

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve&laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Maui Kai twice. Unit 203 blew away our first unit.. (which was unit 1008). Everything in Unit 203 was updated and looked exactly like the photos. The owners were a pleasure to work with. The Maui Kai itself is pretty much on top of the ocean, you really can't get any closer. The location is great, just a short ride to the restaurants in Ka'anapali. There is a grocery store is just across the street. The exterior of the Maui Kai is nothing to look at, so when you first pull in.. don't be discouraged. The interior of most of the units AND the view will definitely make up for that.
We plan to return to Maui again soon, and unit #203 is on my mind!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kameryn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed at the Maui Kai Unit 408 from Jan. 13-20. We had a front row seat to all the whale activity, and there was a lot! We especially appreciated the promptness of email inquiries from co-owner Neal, and from having his sister Nikki next door. This condo has all the comforts of a home at the beach - beach chairs, thick towels, a cooler to take to the beach, all kinds of snorkel equipment and pool toys, a DVR and enough fruit in the complimentary fruit basket to last a week. We had perfect weather but often it was windy, so the enclosed patio really helped. We kept the patio doors open the whole week and never needed the a/c. If you are looking for a condo with an on-site restaurant and exercise room, this is not your place. But if you would like a friendly small condo complex, RIGHT ON THE BEACH, with free parking and restaurants and a grocery store in walking distance, this is it. We will be back. Mahalo, Neal and Nikki!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AddictedtoMauiSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Listening to our new Hawaiian music CD's from the screened lanai of # 408 at Maui Kai was just part of the fabulous experience. This 4th floor north corner unit offers unsurpassed views of adjacent islands and magnificent sunsets. With a well-equipped kitchen, and a frriendly, helpful owner, this one-bedroom, (full of light and fragrant breezes), on the water at Ka'anapali beach, was all we needed for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank songwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

We had a corner unit and I could not have asked for better lodging. The condo(all of them are 20 feet from ocean) and view are all that is promised. We were in Hawaii for 3 plus weeks and this(Maui) was middle week. We stayed in 5 star resorts for the 1st and third weeks and even though we did and saw more in Maui this was the most relaxing week. If you need a break and what a week at beach-GO. If you are going to Maui for room service and valet parking- Don't go

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donaldpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Property: Maui Kai
Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing