We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach front condo...”
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Kai
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach front condo...”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband & I decided to do a last minute vacation to Maui. After some research we booked our condo through "Maui Kai 806 owners, Art & Sophie Nickel". They were able to get us in a top floor junior suite at a great price. The view, location and accomodations were absolutely amazing. We snorkeled off the beach in front of the condo, walked daily on the beach front walk. We stocked our kitchen at the conveniently located stores across the street. Art & Sophie were great, making sure that we would be well taken care of. We will definitely be coming back to the Maui Kai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the compliments! I'm glad Sophie and I were able to get you a reservation last minute and you were able to enjoy the amazing views and benefit from our great Maui Kai beach location. Let Sophie or I know when you are ready for a return visit and we'll get you booked and organized for your next stay!
Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    191
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
180
694
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in 301 a few years ago. It wasn't available for our weekend so we chose 901. All the 01's have a west balcony and south window.

This unit...

Pros:
Great view
Good bed
Well equipped kitchen
Nice tv
Almost full kirkland vodka in cupboard :)

Cons:
No HD cable
Strange tile like painted rock
Ceiling in bathroom very low
No dvds

There are beach chairs so you don't need to rent any. Wish I would have known.

Seriously it bothered me that the tv was a high end 3d tv but the cable signal was old school non digital. Seriously stunk for watching sports or anything but dvds but I'm spoiled.

The bedroom window has a great breeze but it doesnt stay open so I mcgivered it with long kitchen tongs to prop it up.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmannaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited the week of Memorial Day. We rented through Donna Bender and the room was just as described. Our room on the 8th floor had everything you could ask for. The kitchen was well stocked, everything was clean and the bed comfortable. Probably the best part of the room is the ocean view. It was such a delight to look out across the ocean each day. You can't find a place with a better view. We hope to be back again before too long and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeages5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It was my pleasure helping you book your stay! I'm glad you appreciated the kitchen - all kitchens are fully equipped with a refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker, plates, dishes, glasses, and eating and cooking utensils. And the daily maid service keeps the rooms sparkly clean. You're right, the view can't be beat! Maui Kai looks forward to your return - let me know when you're ready and I'll be happy to help you again. Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender (Maui Kai 807)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent accomodation, close to everything, nice pool, very quiet most of the time, friendly staff, very clean, it was everything Art and Sophie said it was and more, beautiful sunsets from the lanai, the sound of the ocean every night , and reasonably priced for Maui, thanks again Art&Sophie from 806, we will be back!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_bergnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for all the compliments... I'm glad Sophie and I were able to help coordinate your stay. Sounds like you really enjoyed your visit and the unique ocean front experience the Maui Kai offers. Let us know when you are ready for a return trip and we'll help you capture your next Kai experience!

Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel

PS - Kai means Ocean in Hawaiian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

booked Maui Kai 806 through owners Art and Sophie Nickel

We had a fabulous stay at this beautiful condo.

We lived in 5 different hotels /condos during our 3 island trip in Hawaii. I have to say that each place we stayed at, had its own charm; but this condo was unique in two respects: (1) the sound of waves that you can hear while you sit and read a book, have a cup of tea or play a game with your family makes it really charming and unique. For me, the constant sound of waves created space for self-reflection. Each one of us loved this amazing experience in our own and also in a collective way. (2) Owner's love for this place shows in every detail in the house. And that makes it a home away from home for all. What I loved the most? The use of mirrors in the living room. Very intelligently done! Facing the ocean, one could see the reflection of mountains in the mirror; and while facing the mountains, you could see the reflection of the ocean :) loved the genius!

The apartment is a lovely walk along the beach to very interesting 'Whaler's Village'.

Owners Art and Sophie Nickel are warm people and unbelievably good with tips to make your trip more enjoyable. They sent us these tips before our trip and that helped us plan better.

Many thanks Art and Sophie for opening your beautiful home to travelers! And we seriously do hope to come there again and live in the same apartment!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VGMDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Aloha and thanks for sharing your family's experience. I know you had come a great distance and and how important this trip was, so I'm glad Sophie and I were able to help coordinate your stay. Let us know when you are ready for a return journey and Sophie and I will work on organizing another ocean front experience for you.
Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Donna Bender, an owner at Maui Kai, helped us book a studio unit there. I was traveling with my wife and we had a terrific time. The location is great, the beaches nearby are the best I've been to and the property itself was very convenient and functional. We had amazing views from the Lanai. I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent a fantastic week enjoying our front row seats watching whales from the lanai of our comfortable condo in Lahaina. We thought being up off the ground floor would be a problem but turned out to be just perfect. Proximity to a beach is good and sands are available all over the island. Booking was a bit last minute so the assistance of the Maui Kai 806 owners Art and Sophie Nickel worked out excellent. Thanks. Looking forward to going again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, this makes it easy - you won't get a bad location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 397Sheryl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha Sheryl,
I'm glad we were able to get you a reservation last minute during the busy whale season and that you enjoyed the whales and amazing views the Maui Kai offers! Let Sophie or I know when you are ready for a return visit and we'll get you counting down to your next stay!
Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Property: Maui Kai
Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing