We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maui Kai
Nearby Hotels
$331
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$687
$639
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$459
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveler rating
894
198
28
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
198
28
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdonna benderowners art and sophie nickeljunior suitebedroom corner unitlocal girlocean frontopen lanaigrocery storebeach chairsboogie boardswhale watchingsound of the wavesdaily maid servicefull kitchenbooked directlyoceanfront viewprivate lanai
Filter
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Condo's view amazing! Inside everything in great shape(appliances, furniture, good bathroom, nice bed)!
Reception warming, and buildind elevators new!
Small swimming pool (but with beautiful beaches all around who cares)!
Definitely would go back!
Paulo ( from brazil)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloCosta326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed the amazing views from Maui Kai. It was my pleasure helping you arrange your stay coming all the way from Brazil! Please come back soon. Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in Maui Kai for a pre-Christmas vacation. We chose the condo based on trip adviser reviews and price. Pros- great location, easy to get to most places. Loved being so close to the beach. Having a full kitchen saved us money on snacks and drinks. Cons- it truly is a condo building, you do not have the resort feel of other hotels or condos in the area. Some furnishings or amenities in the room are not updated or even working. Overall, we received good value for the money and would stay again.

Check in was easy, the office is a small room off an unimpressive lobby. We appreciated the free cloth bag from the office as Maui has outlawed plastic bags.

Our room was as expected. The kitchen had a full sized refrigerator, small oven and stove, microwave, and any needed dishes. Enough room for us to cook, store our suitcases, sit, and move easily around the bed. Lanai was large and had a table with four chairs, it appeared lanai furnishings differed from unit to unit. The only real disappointment was the bathroom, it took a while for the room to fully "light up" and the shower was a strange, square shape with one higher wall. While the rest of the room was open and airy, the bathroom was the opposite, closed in and out of date. There were a few broken items in our room. The deadbolt to the room did not work. Our in room safe did not work. And one of the beach chairs left in the room was broken. We informed the office upon our departure, we didn't want to advertise that we were in a room with a broken safe and deadbolt while we were staying there.

View from the room was amazing, right on the water with a completely unobstructed view. You can walk into the water from the front of the Maui Kai and they offer a hose to clean off once you leave the ocean. Great snorkeling right outside the hotel, we saw a puffer fish and a sea turtle while snorkeling. Not for the weak swimmers, however. There is no beach directly in front of the hotel, but you can easily find a space to the right or left. A few bars and restaurants within walking distance on the beach (Duke's).

The pool was small- you can see the pool at the resort next door and you are somewhat jealous. That being said, it was rarely crowded and both the pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. The room adjacent to the pool offers a computer with internet, ping pong table, etc. Parking was hit or miss. Occasionally one can find a spot right next to the building, however if you come back later at night (after 9), you will be parking further away, there are several small parking lots leading away from the condos.

We slept well at the Maui Kai, no loud noise, no bright lights. The condos appeared geared towards families or older couples. There is a supermarket close by (within walking distance), an ABC store, and several restaurants.

Overall, a nice stay with some glitches. There is no resort feel, no restaurant or bar onsite, no room service. For the price (half that of a resort), you do receive a decent room with nice amenities and a good location, well worth the value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KGBnwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M, General Manager at Maui Kai, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Mahalo for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't report the issues you encountered; we have a full time maintenance staff who could have addressed any problems right away. It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great whale watching right from your lanai. Lots of friendly people around. A great snorkeling spot just down the beach at "Airport Beach" (half-way to Black Rock). Times supermarket is nearby. Not fancy, but very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoensIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Donna Bender, an owner at Maui Kai, helped us book a 1-bedroom corner unit there. she gave us more info than booking via websits. The corner is suite is so great. it has large windowns on both sides, so the view is stunning, could see the ocean from anywhere in the living room and sunset and made you feel you are so close to the ocean. The kitchen has everything, we cooded breakfast and enjoyed it in the living room with the beautiful view. We really didn't want to leave when we had to. just wish I could go back to Hawaii again very soon!

Room Tip: corner room is so great!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xixi066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just returned from 11 days at the Maui Kai # 306 and we can't tell you how terrific this place is. We rented the unit through owners David and Cathy Clayton and everything went smoothly with no problems at all. We spent most of our time on the lanai watching the whales and turtles, it was hard to leave the condo . The views of Lanai and Molokai are fabulous . The junior suite was spacious enough for 2 adults and came fully equipped. The condo is furnished with class and love, the bed sooooo comfy. You opened your eyes and looked right out into the ocean. Everything was top notch and you wanted for nothing. We felt like we were on a cruise ship when we sat on the lanai because you are literally right on the water. We can't say enough about this beautiful condo and have already booked our return trip!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegas1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews