We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maui Kai
Nearby Hotels
$683
$435
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$471
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$469
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$451
$379
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$338
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$355
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$692
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$364
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveler rating
895
198
29
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
895
198
29
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdonna benderowners art and sophie nickeljunior suitebedroom corner unitocean frontlocal girlopen lanaigrocery storebeach chairsboogie boardswhale watchingsound of the wavesdaily maid servicefull kitchenbooked directlyoceanfront viewprivate lanai
Filter
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

In celebration of our 5th wedding anniversary, my husband Dan & I travelled to Maui for the first time together. Dan had been to the Maui Kai many times before, as early as 1984, but this was my first experience with Maui Kai. We booked Unit #1007 through Maui Kai 806 owners Art & Sophie (www.mauikai.org), and we're so glad we did! Art & Sophie made everything so easy, happily answered all of my questions (and being an A-type personality new to the Maui Kai, I had plenty!), and were very clear with prices, policies & procedure, so there were no surprises, and no hidden fees. Unit #1007 is on the top floor, accessed by 2 brand-spankin-new elevators, a beautifully decorated studio unit with a breathtaking view that grabs you the minute you walk in the door and peacefully, blissfully, never lets you go. The lanai has been captured as part of the room, a feature that didn't appeal to me until I actually saw it, and once I did there was no going back. What an amazing feeling to stand at the railing and gaze across the water, and to hear nothing but the ocean all night long.... The studio is well appointed and tastefully decorated...the bed was comfortable, the dresser drawers sufficient, the unit library shelves stocked & eclectic, the kitchen supplied with everything a person might need to eat, cook & store, the refrigerator clean & fresh smelling, and the closet big enough to hang our clothes above all the beach goodies and towels provided. The bathroom is small but bright with mirrors and a good place to primp, and the daily maid service divine. I could go on with more detail, but why? The best and most blissful way to experience the magic of the Maui Kai is to book a unit and go there!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, but 6th floor and above are primo.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunMoonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked Maui Kai 807 through condo owner Donna Bender.

The condo was amazing and very centrally located. It had everything you could ever need while on vacation. It was fully furnished and very recently updated. There were two beach chairs, a boogie board, beach towels, beach umbrella, every dish, pot, pan, and utensil you could need to cook up a gourmet meal. It was very clean and very quiet. The staff at the Maui Kai was also very nice, friendly and consistently greeted us.

I highly recommend an upper floor, you have an amazing view of the water, Lana'i, and Moloka'i. The patio was completely private, and we slept most nights with just the screen doors, listening to the waves all night. I can't imagine a better place to stay in all of Hawaii. The water is very warm and perfect for swimming. It's too rocky directly in front of the Maui Kai, but you simply walk a few feet to the right or left of the complex, and you are on amazing beaches for sunbathing, swimming, or snorkeling.

Being from the east coast and the jet lag, we were asleep by 6 and 7pm the first few nights there...it was always very quiet and peaceful in the building which made this very easy, another plus!

There is a pool, jacuzzi, and a common area with grills, fully equipped kitchen, and computer/printer. It was very easy to use the computer to print out boarding passes the day before we left. There is a grocery store down the street. I am looking forward to returning next year! Thank you Maui Kai for an amazing first trip to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor for better views!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mescooby422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a very nice hotel right near the ocean and staff is very friendly.
The studio room we had was at the 10th floor and in the beginning we were thinking of changing it but we didn't because the view was very nice. We could see whales right from our balcony. The room was very clean and the staff changed sheets and towels and cleaned the room every day.
There are plenty of things to do in the surroundings and many good places to eat.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first stay at Maui Kai. The location was wonderful. There is a shopping plaza within minutes that has good coffee, food etc. The room was clean and view was awesome. We say turtles daily and a munk seal in the am. The snorkling was amazing right from the lobby of the condo. We will be back and look forward to it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 707. The views from all the rooms are 5 star.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

I'm glad we could help coordinate your stay and you enjoyed the Maui Kai. Looking forward to having you back... and its never too early to start planning your return visit!

And thanks for posting the great turtle picture!

Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked a junior suite at Maui Kai through owner Donna Bender.

We enjoyed our stay at Maui Kai. The staff was very pleasant. We loved the common area around the pool (which the pool was also always the perfect temperature!). It was convenient area to have a few drinks while cooking some food on the BBQ. Our unit was beautifully decorated and the perfect size for the two of us. Our favorite part was leaving the screen door open at night and listening to the waves of the ocean. The fact that you are so close to the water was amazing and glad we had that experience. The location was ok, but if you wanted to take a walk at night there was not much to see. We actually chose two locations to stay on our vacation but the other location was not nearly decorated as well (extremely outdated) and did not have the best views (or ocean sounds) as the Maui Kai, but had a few more places to walk around to at night. I would suggest doing what we did as it is worth staying here for half our trip just to experience being that close to the ocean. Donna was also very helpful in answering all our questions.

Room Tip: choosing a room from above the 3rd floor is ideal.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews