We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Kai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2008

My husband and I were very happy with our condo #508. We stayed there from February 16 to the 23rd. We had a corner room and could look down the beach and the front of the ocean. Wonderful holiday and very comfortable accomodations. We couldn't have been more pleased. The kitchen was well equiped with all that we needed. We definitely would plan to stay at this place again. We enjoyed watching the whales every day from our balcony and the weather was perfect. Our only regret was that the stay wasn't long enough. Candy and Mike,

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasktwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2008

We stayed at the Maui Kai Unit#904 in March 2006. We had a bad experience as the kitchen countertop had lots of ants everywhere and the bedframe had two large cacoons. My daughter age seven got bit and had an allergic reaction that was all over her body. I spent a week in the hospital with cellultis(caused by insect bites) and now have lymphoedema, (consistant swelling) permanent damage to my left arm. The Maui Kai has not responded to our many attempts to try and deal with this incident. Even after our lawyer sent a letter.

I would attach photos, unfortunately they are not family-friendly.

Very concerned for the health of others and frustrated customer of the Maui Kai.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank cindyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

First of all, I have to mention that I booked the wrong dates for my stay here. This was entirely my fault, but the owner/manager, Chuck helped me out as much as possible and was extremely nice. My boyfriend and I ended up staying at the Maui Kai 4 out of the 5 nights that I intended to book. The first night, we had to stay somewhere else. It was such a joy to arrive at Maui Kai condos on the second day!
This place is awesome. We had a studio room, which was on the small side, but not lacking in comfort. Our back window opened up to a great view of the ocean, which is literally right outside, steps from the hotel. All night long, we listened to the ocean. During daylight hours, we saw whales almost constantly! What a great location.
The room was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was equipped with everything we could possibly need for cooking. The room had a stereo with ipod hookup, a great TV with tons of channels and a DVD player, books to read, Maui guidebooks, and a very helpful binder of information. This binder was compiled by the hotel owner and had information about everything from local restaurants and attractions to Hawaiian culture, local wildlife, ocean hazards, and other helpful info. It was a really nice touch.
The staff was extremely nice. I accidentally broke an outside light with my surfboard and the staff members were very nice about it.
All in all, my boyfriend and I were very pleased with this place. I would definetely stay there again if I am ever lucky enough to go back to Maui!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceanmusic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

My family spent 6 nights in this condo #301, We all love its location and well-equipped furniture.We cooked everyday, just like staying in our home.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DDS.LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Had a wonderful stay in this unit. Pluses: the lanai overlooking the beach, the location, the updated decor, the fabulous shower, the entertainment system, the sleep number bed, the closet full of every bit of beach equipment one could possibly need (except a longboard--you'll have to settle for a boogie board :)). Honestly, you could (and will want to) live on that delicious lanai with its mesmerizing view of the ocean, Molakai and Lana'i and whales.

Minuses: minor, but just so you know: not comfortable for three adults. The foldout in the living room leaves much to be desired in the comfort dept, and the one bathroom would have been fine except that one night we all had a stomach upset..... The building itself has seen better days, but the unit is many steps better than the building. The flooring in the unit is starting to chip, which leaves a first impression of a dirty unit, but the fact is the place was impeccably clean (particularly when you consider all that sand just steps from the back door).

The building is walking distance to a couple of farmers markets (one of which has three different signs designating three different sets of hours, none of which it actually observed), a small shopping center with a grocery, a wonderful fish market (where you can get fish to prepare yourself or some wonderful fish dishes prepared), and a deli owned by the former executive chef of Mama's Fish House. And, of course, the beach. If you spit from the lanai, you'll hit the ocean, it's that close.

Parking is plentiful, and there's a nice little pool with a well-appointed cabana.

I plan to go back to Maui, and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank caffeinatedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed at the Maui Kai 301 after seeing positive reviews of the property here and elsewhere. We were not disappointed. First, Shayla, the owner, is a fantastic person to work with. Everything was a promised. Second, the room was up to date, clean, and with all possible amenities (e.g., snorkeling equipment for 4) and a new entertainment system. Third, the views from the lanai were breathtaking--the whales put on a spectacular show, and they were easy to see with the powerful binoculars included with the room.

We highly recommend Maui Kai 301.

Joe and Michelle

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bbjonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2007

I chose Maui Kai (#301) because the picture of the view from the lanai looked the most appealing....and I wasn't disappointed.

We loved our stay in Maui and the Maui Kai condo (#301) was absolutely wonderful. We had a great view of the entire beach from our lanai, watched sea turtles feeding and dolphins playing. The condo unit was perfectly decorated and furnished. My parents had the bedroom and I slept on the couch which pulled out to a bed. I went to sleep everynight to the sound of waves on the beach. The kitchen was furnished with everything we needed.

We highly recommend Maui Kai # 301 to anyone wanting a wonderful place to stay. It was so much better than any hotel. This was my first time in paradise and I can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GetGoing99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $259 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing