We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maui Kai
Certificate of Excellence
TAIWAN
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

My family spent 6 nights in this condo #301, We all love its location and well-equipped furniture.We cooked everyday, just like staying in our home.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — sharp edge of bedframe may cut your feet, bad smell of sofa bed.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DDS.LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    190
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
178
687
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

Had a wonderful stay in this unit. Pluses: the lanai overlooking the beach, the location, the updated decor, the fabulous shower, the entertainment system, the sleep number bed, the closet full of every bit of beach equipment one could possibly need (except a longboard--you'll have to settle for a boogie board :)). Honestly, you could (and will want to) live on that delicious lanai with its mesmerizing view of the ocean, Molakai and Lana'i and whales.

Minuses: minor, but just so you know: not comfortable for three adults. The foldout in the living room leaves much to be desired in the comfort dept, and the one bathroom would have been fine except that one night we all had a stomach upset..... The building itself has seen better days, but the unit is many steps better than the building. The flooring in the unit is starting to chip, which leaves a first impression of a dirty unit, but the fact is the place was impeccably clean (particularly when you consider all that sand just steps from the back door).

The building is walking distance to a couple of farmers markets (one of which has three different signs designating three different sets of hours, none of which it actually observed), a small shopping center with a grocery, a wonderful fish market (where you can get fish to prepare yourself or some wonderful fish dishes prepared), and a deli owned by the former executive chef of Mama's Fish House. And, of course, the beach. If you spit from the lanai, you'll hit the ocean, it's that close.

Parking is plentiful, and there's a nice little pool with a well-appointed cabana.

I plan to go back to Maui, and will stay here again.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the fold-out bed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank caffeinatedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed at the Maui Kai 301 after seeing positive reviews of the property here and elsewhere. We were not disappointed. First, Shayla, the owner, is a fantastic person to work with. Everything was a promised. Second, the room was up to date, clean, and with all possible amenities (e.g., snorkeling equipment for 4) and a new entertainment system. Third, the views from the lanai were breathtaking--the whales put on a spectacular show, and they were easy to see with the powerful binoculars included with the room.

We highly recommend Maui Kai 301.

Joe and Michelle

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bbjonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

I chose Maui Kai (#301) because the picture of the view from the lanai looked the most appealing....and I wasn't disappointed.

We loved our stay in Maui and the Maui Kai condo (#301) was absolutely wonderful. We had a great view of the entire beach from our lanai, watched sea turtles feeding and dolphins playing. The condo unit was perfectly decorated and furnished. My parents had the bedroom and I slept on the couch which pulled out to a bed. I went to sleep everynight to the sound of waves on the beach. The kitchen was furnished with everything we needed.

We highly recommend Maui Kai # 301 to anyone wanting a wonderful place to stay. It was so much better than any hotel. This was my first time in paradise and I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — view of ocean, relaxing atmosphere, up to date kitchen/bathroom
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GetGoing99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

We have vacationed in many condos in North America but this condo at 301 in the Maui Kai Beach resort was by far the nicest. It could not have had a better location, It is right on the beach and one can walk to restraunts and grocery stores which are nearby. All the toy for the ocean like snorkling and bungie boards are in the condo. The shower is something to behold. We would definitly return to this spot.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank vacioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

We spent 7 nights at the Maui Kai unit #301 from 7-14 Nov 07. The unit had recently been remodeled with granite countertops, new beds, updated bathroom, and updated kitchen. It was beautiful. The owners left boogie boards, snorkel equipment, chairs, towels, guide books, DVDs, music, and games for renters to enjoy. My 8-year old said it was the best place we stayed during our 17 day trip (which included a stay at the Marriott in Wailea). I would definitely recommend this unit and we will be staying there next time we visit Maui.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank flyliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed here for four days for the Maui Invitational college basketball tournament. Very good location, beach right on the property. You are close to Lahaina and its many attractions. Room was spacious for a 1 BR condo. Also fully stocked kitchen so you can cook if you like. Living area was very nice, we had a clear view of the Pacific Ocean. Considering you could pay a lot more to stay at a resort, we were very pleased.

One day it rained and the windows leaked, which if I was the property owner would be a concern.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — leaky windows near lanai
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeeDixonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Property: Maui Kai
Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing