We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We have just returned from the Eldorado and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a one bedroom, 2 bathroom unit which was huge with a comfy king size bed, 60" TV in the living room and a 40" in the bedroom. High quality furniture with a double lanai with comfortable sun loungers (great for that afternoon nap). We were in D block which was closest to the Fairway Shops - Very handy for getting supplies from the mini supermarket and also 3 nice restaurants if you don't feel like cooking. The free Kaanapali trolley left from right outside the hotel to go to Whalers Village, a very popular place in the evenings so maybe book ahead for your evening meal. The bus service to Lahaina is excellent for $2 - you can get a day pass for $4 and go anywhere you want on the Island . The grounds were immaculate and a buggy was available to take you to the Cabana at the beach- it was a nice easy walk(about 8 mins) but a bit too crowded for us..we preferred the pool areas. The taxi to the airport was $65, about the same as the airport shuttle...it's about a 45min drive. The staff were all very friendly and helpful...I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank judz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Aloha judz:

Wow! Thanks for posting your review and also for including the pictures.People ask us frequently whether they need to rent a car - we may just direct them to your review for some good tips on how to manage without having to drive!

We're glad to read that you liked the D building. You are right that you are just a few steps away from the stores and restaurants at the Fairway Shops. And, being at the top of the hill, the views are superb.

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words about my people. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Maui!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    301
    100
    32
    23
See reviews for
257
343
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
348 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I checked in on your website and the rates are affordable!
I love how its so close to the beach !
Commendable - your staff is amazing from the maintenance guys, the groundskeeper, to housekeeping, cabana, front desk and your concierge boys! Shout out to MaryAnn, Aldrin, Kc, Willie, Jeffrey, walter, and if I forgot some...you all share the aloha spirit!
But...what happened to maid service? You charge a one time fee of 75 but no one cleaned my room?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLAbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Aloha MillieWT:

Thank you for coming back to see us again!

Thank you, too, for your kind words about my staff. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed their Aloha.

Yes, we have changed our housekeeping service to an a la carte model. As many guests feel as if they are at home here and do not wish to have the interruption of housekeeping, we've kept our rates low by providing housekeeping service for a fee upon request. As with many other vacation rentals, we do charge a small fee for the check-out cleaning service.

Thank you for posting anther review and for continuing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We rented a condo here and found the unit clean, well kept, large tv, king size bed, and all appliances were included. The grounds were well kept and beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the whole place. Rules enforced and no noise after 10:00 pm. Our condo was on ground level and had a fully outfitted patio out the sliding glass doors which led onto the golf course and beautiful sand beach. It was heavenly and we hated having to go back to reality in Alberta.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with the room you are given the hotel staff are extremely accommodating. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlgtoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Aloha mlgtoy:

Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our quiet, relaxing atmosphere was just what you were looking for. Actually, the property is pretty quiet at any hour of the day. We're always happy to show you another condo if you're not happy in the unit you're first given; I happy that we were able to quickly make that room change for you.

Thank you for writing a review of your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Maui Eldorado is made up of individually owned condos (which are typically rented out via vacation rental websites) as well as rooms owned and controlled by the Outrigger Hotel & Resorts company. Regardless of who you rent from, you still have the same check-in and check-out procedure, same parking, same amenities, etc.

With that said, my wife and I rented from one of the condo owners and got a room in building J (the closest building to the beach). The room was fantastic, and the location was perfect (as I said, closest to the beach). The Eldorado practically has their own private beach just past the golf course which is amazing; no other hotel/resort I've seen in this area has this kind of privacy. The beach also has a private cabana to get free towels from, as well as chairs to sit and relax, but we didn't get to use this too much as we were typically at the beach too early or too late.

All-in-all, I give this place a huge thumbs up. The value is great for what you're spending, and the location really gives you an opportunity to enjoy one of the best beaches in Hawaii without worrying about overcrowding. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Aloha Kakou:

This review is posted to the wrong place. I have asked both the poster and TripAdvisor to remove it, but to no avail.

Not all rental experiences here are created equal. Customers who do not rent through Outrigger pay a $60 check-in fee in addition to their room rate and cleaning charges - Outrigger guests do not pay that fee. Outrigger staff are present on the property from 6am to 10pm to help with any questions or issues; no other management company can say that. Since Outrigger manages many units here if, for some reason, you are unhappy with your unit, we can find a different one for you; many renters of other units don't have that choice. Outrigger guests pay when they check out, not in advance so, in the event your plans change, you pay only for the nights you've stayed. Outrigger has been around for over 65 years and we've been at the Maui Eldorado since 1997; we'll take good care of you when you rent from us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next Maui vacation.

Me Ke Aloha,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Myself, my daughter and 13 year old granddaughter just returned from a 7 day stay at this condo complex from July 16 to July 23, 2014. Overall we found it spacious and very comfortable for our needs with a fully stocked kitchen. The lanai was great and the lanai doors provided us with a great deal of natural lighting. We overlooked the golf course and it was a short walk or golf cart ride to the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Aside from the bugs we had daily in our suite, it would have been perfect. We had to wipe down our kitchen counter and floor twice daily because of dozens of tiny little ants crawling all over the place. We finally found that spreading pepper around the kitchen sink and on the base of the cupboards by the floor prevented most of the ants from entering. Every day we had to wipe our bathroom counter because of tiny flies all over it. We had beetles crawling amongst our toothbrushes and joining us in the shower in the morning. One cockroach even made an appearance when I opened the dishwasher. This was reported to the front desk and quickly taken care of by the maintenance staff. We never saw it again. We could have asked for another room but we were unpacked and our things were spread all over the place and chose to deal with the bugs rather than pack up and move. Judging from the lack of parking spaces when we returned in the evening, I would guess that the hotel was sold out.

Our toaster didn't work properly and only worked after we turned it really high and then had to turn it upside down to get the toast out. One of the screen doors on the lanai was jammed and did not move and we could not even open the other lanai door when we unlocked it as it was also jammed. The parking by our suite was not always available and it was a long walk to the parking garage (if there was any spaces left there) and the front desk where we had to walk to several times for new towels, etc. was also a very far. I was walking with a cane at the time and could not walk to the restaurants that they said were within walking distance. As there is no restaurant in the hotel (even the snack shop in the lobby was closed for renovations) we had to drive to Lahaina to eat and at the end of a long day of touring or shopping I found that exhausting.

Perhaps if we had stayed on the second floor, which was our original reservation and was changed when I hurt my foot, we would have avoided the bugs. Overall this was good value for the money and considerably cheaper than the other hotels in that area, however, unless I would be guaranteed a second floor suite the next time we visit, I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on a second floor suite to avoid the bugs and try to get a suite close to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Aloha Barbara L:

Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I do apologize for your unexpected visitors and am happy that the property's maintenance department was able to take care of things for you. We are always happy to help you find another condo if, for some reason, you are not happy with your original location.

Did you let us know about the toaster and screen door while you were here? We try to be sure that everything is in working order for you and we would have been happy to have fixed these items for you.

The bellman is available from 6am to 10pm to help transport you from your car to your condo, or vice versa, especially if you are not able to walk. Please phone the front desk and we'll be happy to dispatch him for you.

There are four restaurants and a convenience store in the Fairway Shops, who's parking lot is just across Kekaa Dr., about two hundred feet from the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. I'm sorry you weren't able to try Sangrita Grill, which was just named "Best New Bar of 2014" by a local newspaper. Hopefully, you'll be able to check it out on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Excellent condo located minutes from the beach. These condos are perfect for families or couples trying to save a few bucks while in Maui. The condos are fully equipped with kitchen and a washer/dryer. The grounds are immaculate and well kept. Some condos are newly refurnished while others are dated. I recommend asking for an upgraded condo. The property has 3 pools and BBQ's, however they are lacking the amenities you might find at the Westin or Hyatt. Also, they tack on a $75 to $125 cleaning fee at the end of your stay, even though you do not receive any maid service. Overall, I highly recommend this property if you don't mind a short walk to the beach and aren't looking for a high end pool to lounge around when you grow tired of the beach crowd.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rettig33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Aloha Rettig33:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're glad to read that you found our property to be a good value. Yes, all of our units have different owners and have differing decor - we're always happy to help you find another unit if you're not happy with the original offering. We do charge a check-out cleaning fee, the amount of which depends upon the size of your condo.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A clean comfortable spacious condo sitting alongside a pristine golf course. The birds at 5 am greet you with their song and the gentle light of the morning slowly makes its way into your room. Floor to ceiling sliding doors span the full width of the condo making the spectacular views of luscious green vegetation, bluebird sky and colourful flowers a delight for the eyes.
The staff are polite and very accommodating. Close to all amenities one can cook, do laundry and feel as if this is truly a home away from home.

I will return and have suggested this location to be perfect to house participants for our next conference.

Room Tip: Spacious, clean and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbarker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Aloha Rettig33:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're glad to read that you found our property to be a good value. Yes, all of our units have different owners and have differing decor - we're always happy to help you find another unit if you're not happy with the original offering. We do charge a check-out cleaning fee, the amount of which depends upon the size of your condo.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Property: Maui Eldorado
Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing