We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed feelings; not as advertised.”
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very mixed feelings; not as advertised.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked through Outrigger, upon the reccomendation of some Tripadvisor reviewers. This was the first mistake. We had been very pleased with our booking and stay at the Outrigger Kailua-Kona on the Big Island the week before.The opposite is true for this property. We had to book two separate units, since they were unable to give us a 2 bedroom unit, or give us any unit with several separate beds. We had to reserve two studios, at an exhorbatant rate. We were finally told what untis wer were assigned, the night before our arrival. Upon arriving, We were given keys to some different units. the assigned accomdations caused people to sleep on sofa beds that were unacceptable to sleep on. They ended up sleeping on the sofa, without opening it. Narrow and lumpy that may be, with separations between cushions, It had more support that way than sleeping on it open as a bed.

This location consists of a few two story buildings, around the edge of a golf course, not too far from the ocean and a very nice beach. The condos are nice inside, but the entrances and outdoor hallways leave much to be desired. We paid an extremely high nightly rate to have to look at garbage dumpsters each time we went in and out of our condo. One of our condos, a spacious studio with ample kitchen and good bathroom layout (except that you could not close the door if you sat on the toilet), was on the very lowest level of A buildiing. This allowed us nice views from the ground level patio, of the golf course and the ocean in the distance and outline of Lanai island, when there were no clouds; but the entry was two or three staircases down from t he parking lot (which had no spaces for our car 95% of the time, so we had to park in the distant parking garage, a very long walk away). Dragging our bags there and then back to the car on checkout, was awful. Same for bringing in groceries. We were not in t he same building as the rest of our family, and not even close. And the second condo was in a dark hole in G building, with no light, a patio view of the wall and a couple of bushes; this entrance was so far into a dark tunnel like maze of hallways, it was like being in an old tenement building in a rundown section of a big city. The condo itself,inside was very spacious and nicely appointed, except, of course, that the sofabed was no good to sleep on. Couch sleeping there too-for hundreds of dollars a night. This was not at all what we expected after reading Tripadvisor reviews. We are most disappointed with the info from our fellow travelers on this one. BTW, there is no longer any housekeeping service during a guests stay.. Whatever you have in the place when you arrive is what you have for your entire stay, no matter how long you stay. They managed to put a note in the condo about that-nothing about the facilities was there, but this was made clear. We were only there 3 nights, so it was okay, but if we were there a week, I would have wanted someone to vacuum a bit and bring some more soaps and the like, even if I had to wash my own towels.

Yes, the beach is very nice; the little golf cart shuttle back and forth is good too, if you call for it and want to wait; otherwise, walking will have to do. Tough time getting a lounge chair most of the time. People don't give them up easily. Had no towels there either the first day we were there. We had to wait several hours for two towels. We had received no information about how the fridge etc. works at the beach cabana. Our check in told us nothing about anything. No one told us about the shuttle that runs to the close by hotels either. We saw it near the end of our visit, and found out is was free service we could have used. I discovered the little sundry shop off the lobby at the end of our visit as well. It was closed and dark when we arrived, so who knew what it was. Would have been nice to know there was a place to get snacks close by, rather than having to drive to town to find something. Never got info about the pools-their and hours-just a pretty lax staff for us all around. The front desk staff was nice and wanted to please when contacted about particular problems, but nothing was ever forthcoming from them to introduce us to the complex and let us know how everything works and where things are. Completely left to flounder around and find things on premises and off on our own. This was quite surprising. We were there during the New Year's holiday, one of the busiest tourist times; it is when other places have full staff and service, knowing they will be busy.

We enjoyed eating in the town of Lahaina, and going out on the water by boat with Captain Woody, spending time at the beach, snorkeling at the beach next door at the Sheraton, which was calmer than the snorkeling at the El Dorado beach. The men enjoyed golfing at Kaanapali Kai. Although the interior of the condos at El Dorado were lovely, and we liked the pleasant location off the highway, slightly up on a hill, the inability of the staff to get the reservation as it was to be, plus having to look at dumpsters constantly, along with the unpleasant configuration of the condo entries, and the diffculties lugging our stuff long distances to and from the condo leaves us unable to give this location a top recommendation. I think too many different organizations are managing/renting the properties here causing much of the problem. Perhaps if you book through owners directly, or through some other management agency, youwill have better luck. Use Outrigger for the Big Island, but not for this location. Not yet anyway, until they improve.

Room Tip: Be certain get a firm guarantee that you will be in a unit that is not facing dumpsters and is not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha PokeyPaddler:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a comprehensive review of your stay.

Your reservations for December 29 through January 1 were at a time when we were at a very high occupancy (two bedroom units are very much in demand at that time); I apologize that we were unable to accommodate you in a unit that you found suitable.

We do have bellmen who would be delighted to help you with your luggage and groceries and who would be happy to drive you from the parking garage to your car.

Almost all of our corridors are open-air and none of our studio units look onto dumpsters. As on any large property, there are enclosed rubbish receptacles.

When you arrive late, our security guard is more concerned about getting you into your accommodations than in explaning the property amenities. We are happy to help answer any questions when you check in the next morning. I apologize if our front desk service did not meet your expectations; I have already addressed your concerns with the staff.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope you will give us another try on your next visit to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    311
    100
    32
    23
See reviews for
265
349
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a good choice for a large families or group of friends. When you reserve, you can ask to have rooms reserved in the same area which make it easier and fun to be near one another. The units varies in size, type of utensils, kitchen appliances, washer/dryer and furnishing. In another words, all rooms Do Not look alike and have the same items like your traditional hotel rooms. There are no elevators and be aware you will have to carry your luggage up the stairs if you are located above ground level. The beach is about a 10 min. walk away and it is a good snorkel location by the rocks. There is a cabana right on the beach which is pretty cool and it has a rinsing station to wash off the sand. For the golfers, it is right next to it and is very convenient to walk to. There are 2 gas bbq grills by the pool area but the waiting time could be long so you definitely want to have an alternate plan in case you don't want to wait. When I went to grill, there was someone who was smoking or grilling for a long time so you have to be considerate for others. There is free internet but wi-fi is not available in every unit so do bring an ethernet cable when you travel. You have to dispose of your own garbage and recyclables which there receptacles throughout the complex. I didn't give it more than three stars because the unit I was in had rodents. It took front desk over an hour to relocate me to another room.

Room Tip: It is not worth the extra cost for the ocean view because you are too far away. If you decide to cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha BTFeedback:

Thank you for your recent visit with us.

Yes, each unit here is individually owned and, as such, each unit looks completely different in terms of decor. I apologize that you were unhappy with the first condo we offered. We are always happy to look for another unit that you may find more suitable; I apologize that we were unable to provide an alternate unit more quickly for you.

All Outrigger Maui Eldorado units now have wi-fi; please ask for the password at the front desk.

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for six nights at the Maui Eldorado over Christmas...loved every minute of our stay. Upon check in we were informed our studio condo had been recently refurbished by the owners...opened the door to G110 absolutely amazing, the accomodation exceeded our expectations. Lots of space, comfortable king bed, granite bench tops and stainless steel appliances. Best part it's single storey very quiet. We enjoyed sitting on the patio overlooking the golf course to the ocean, how relaxing!! Easy walk to Whalers Village or if you prefer there is a free trolley bus. From Whalers Village you can catch a bus to Lahaina or get off at the Lahaina Cannery Mall there is a safeway supermarket - we purchase our grocery items and caught a taxi back about $15. Great location if you want to relax, have a swim and people watch. We hired a car for two days - see my rental car review.

Thank you for a wonderful first trip to Maui we are extremely happy with our choice and advised our travel agent.

Room Tip: G110 is single storey, recently refurbished to perfection and very quiet with lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelden60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha Shenden60:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. It's great to read that you enjoyed your condo and our Kaanapali location.

Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Eldorado in J216. It's is a corner unit, close to the parking garage, 3 minute walk to the north side of Black Rock to snorkel in the morning and a 10 minute or less walk to Whaler Village and the south side of Black Rock for excellent early morning snorkeling . This unit has a small galley kitchen, comfy bed and nice sitting area with a flat screen tv. We used the washer and dryer in the unit which made packing for our trip much simpler . The owners have some snorkel gear, a beach mat and plenty of towels in the unit. A very roomy dressing area thAt is seperate from the walk in shower. We rented our gear from Snorkel Bob's just to get a little better fit. The Eldorado has a private beach cabana that furnishes towels and it has an area for grilling or just sitting and reading,playing games, or just enjoying the view from your lounge chair which they furnish but must stay at the Cabana. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay in this unit again. It is well stocked with all the dishes and cooking pans needed for a meal. All the comforts of home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6grancorbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We just recently stayed at the Maui Eldorado. I don't remember our room number but it was a really spacious studio. We had a great time, the bellmen, Willy and Jeff was extra nice. They helped with resetting our breaker as we lost electricity one evening and were just super friendly. Aldrin at the front desk was really nice and helpful. Tamara the manager was also very nice. When we checked out she was very sincere when she asked how our stay was. She actually said to us, we hope to see you again. Most resorts we've stayed at never told us something like that. Our only complaint would be the housekeeping. We stayed 10 nights and only got as they call it partial housekeeping which means you only get towels changed toiletries refilled and they don't change your sheets. But you have to keep in mind that there are washer and dryers in the rooms.
We will definitely return to Maui Eldorado.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha Kelly M:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Thank you also for your kind words about my staff - they are happy to share their aloha with our guests!

Many of our guests prefer the fewer interruptions that come with our limited housekeeping service and we're always happy to bring fresh linens to you or, as you point out, the washer and dryer in the condo make it easy to have clean sheets and towels at your convenience.

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Valley Isle.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed for 10 days at the Maui Eldorado and were very pleased with our unit. The owners left a journal for each guest to write in which had many helpful comments and suggestions. The shower in our particular unit was wonderful with 2 seperate heads; rainfall and removable head. The beach was a 5-10 minute walk and was wonderful and much less busy in comparison to other nearby resorts.

The resort was very quiet but despite having no noise to contend with, we had very poor sleeps. The bed was VERY uncomfortable. Parking was $7/day but they are very upfront about this upon check in. Always spots available during our stay. We didn't have any problem with bugs or cockroaches. In general, I think it has an older demographic of guests. Unfortunately, one day my husband and 2 of our friends were enjoying our lanai at 2:00pm in the afternoon and our very crabby geriatric Neighbor began to yell profanities regarding 'the noise' which was non-existent. Obviously this was just our experience which had little to no effect other than some laugh value. My only other issue is having to pay for an in room safe; we have never paid at any other hotel/condo/ resort in any of our travels.

Staff was curtious and available if needed. Very friendly staff at small convenient store. Manager seemed genuinely interested in how we enjoyed our experience. Overall, a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxedTraveller667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha RelaxedTraveller667:

Thank you for staying with us. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us (except for the bed). I will be happy to address your concern with the unit's owner.

Some of our owners (and our guests!) are indeed characters; we're glad you didn't take that experience too seriously!

Thank you for posting your review and for your positive comments about my staff. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've stayed here several times over the past 17 years or so. This last time I booked thru the front office, not from an individual owner. I think I prefer booking thru an owner so that I know what the condo looks like and where's it's located. This time, we ended up in a unit that felt a bit like a cave G105, I think, tucked under a stairway, with no view of any kind. The staff was very nice. The front desk was aware that I was disappointed with my unit and expressed concern but did nothing to change it, maybe they were full? The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on and the master bedroom was good sized. The condo was a one bedroom but had two bathrooms, which is a huge plus! The kitchen seemed like it was from the 1950s and unfortunately the cupboards weren't even very clean. The bathrooms seemed very old also. I guess I'd be more cautious next time about where my condo was located and as I said, book thru VRBO or something so that I could get accurate details about the condo (the front desk was very short on details, even not knowing how many bathrooms the unit had).

Room Tip: If the front desk can't give you exact details about the room I'd suggest booking thru VRBO
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DayTripper1959_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha DayTripper1959_9:

Thank you for staying with us.

I apologize that you were unhappy with your condo. The unit in which you stayed, G105, has new owners who are committed to making changes. New furniture is on order and they have assured me that they are looking to update the unit. If you are unhappy with your accommodations, please let us know and will be happy to show you some alternate condos, based on availability. When you book a unit that is not part of the Outrigger Maui Eldorado, you have no alternatives once you arrrive here should you not like the condo or its location.

Please let me know should you decide to stay with us again next time and I will be happy to personally oversee your unit assignment.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
4.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Property: Maui Eldorado
Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing