We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, quality, location”
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value, quality, location”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Unit B105 provided everything we were looking for during our 3 night stay--full kitchen, washer/dryer, nice outdoor seating, a/c, and lots of space. Our 1 bedroom unit was comfortable for 4 adults and was modern, up to date, and quiet. There was one king bed in the bedroom, and a pull out sectional in the living room. There was a bifold door between the bedroom and living room so we could open up or close off the space as needed. The staff was friendly and helpful, and it was convenient to have a small store in the lobby with snacks, laundry soap, books, etc...I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha MJAAA:

Thank you for posting such kind words about your stay. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your condo. I've forwarded your comments to the unit's owner, who will be thrilled to read that her condo was so comfortable for you.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you all on your next visit to Maui.

Me Ke Aloha,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    311
    100
    32
    23
See reviews for
265
349
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BWI, md
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The 'partial ocean view' in unit E101 included a huge lanai and gorgeous view, we cooked and hosted a pre-wedding dinner party for 20 when we found how nice the giant 2 bedroom unit was. Best deal in west Maui, a fine condo rental (and I have had a lot) Just a short walk to the sunset ceremony at Black Rock or some great resort beaches with snorkeling. Take the Eldorado's golf cart shuttle from your room to their well equipped beach cabana with facilities, towels, chairs, and a kitchen. All the in-laws were embarrassed with their twice-the-price hotel shoeboxes, though they had much busier pools and smaller views than ours.
The island is ringed with public park beaches, each with it's own charm. The blue fifth edition "Maui Revealed" book from your public library is a bible, maps, tips, and access instructions to each beach. Don't pay tops for an excursion, but --start early-- each day to avoid the lazy folks and to snorkel in calm water. Short of diving and Molokini, skip the vendors and drive, I rented a windsurf board rather than pay for lessons and had it at half price for the whole day. The last day we went to Lahaina and it was nothing but activity vendors and tourist traps hawking their wares: get a condo, worship at the costco, and save a thousand or more on your week. We rented a 5 person jeep from a travel agent who got a great deal, opened the top and saw all around. It's quite a haul to Hana, 2 days would have been better, if you have to decide whether to hike up or down from the visitor center at the national park, see the lower pools, the upper waterfall has no pool and is a real hike.

Room Tip: "Partial ocean view" on a ground floor will have a great lanai, pool view rooms would be g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha Peter S:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and for including your tips about Maui. Your description of your relatives' accommodations made us smile; you get to say that, but we can't! And we've never tried hosting dinner for 20 in one of our condos, but it's great to know that it can be done easily!

Thank you for your stay. We hope you'll come back again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Maui Eldorado. The unit we stayed in was HUGE - lots of room for our family of four. It was in the process of being updated so some of the amenities were up-to-date and nice and other parts were older but still well maintained. But for the price, it was a great deal, especially on Maui and the location. We had a partial ocean view in the building closest to the office which was convenient for parking and never had any problems with traffic noise. The grounds were beautiful & well maintained and the beach was fantastic. Good snorkeling next to Black Rock (we had sea turtles follow us around on 3 occasions), the beach was just as nice but much less crowded than south of Black Rock, and the cabana was very convenient. We're pretty independent so we didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff, but they were great when we did. The location was very convenient - close to Lahaina, coffee shops, grocery stores, and a wide variety of restaurants and shopping.

One of the things that attracted me to this property (besides location & price) was that Bill responded to every review. This kind of personal attention and care was certainly reflected in how the property is managed.

Room Tip: Call the Eldorado directly to book and they will do their best to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha Karl H:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with your kind words. It's great to read that you found the location and the amenities of the Outrigger Maui Eldorado to be a good value. And I'm pleased that our extra-large units and our uncrowded beach helped to make for a pleasant holiday for you all.

Thank you for coming all the way from New York to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Maui Eldorado for the first time this August. The unit was nice and spacious with a view of the golf course. There were a couple of issues with our room where the dishwasher didn't work (it was part of a recall) and the dryer made a great deal of noise and didn't really dry the clothes. Minor issues were that there was a fee for parking and no wifi in the rooms. I will be returning to Kaanapali in a few weeks and would consider the Maui Eldorado again, but I would like to make sure that all the room amenities are working.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdaruma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Aloha mrdaruma:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

The drier in your unit has been repaired and we are expecting the dishwasher to be repaired today - thank you for your patience with those items.

We are slowly rolling out a property-wide wifi system for Outrigger guests. It is installed in about a third of the units now and I hope to have the project completed by the end of the year. All condos have a wired internet connection and we also have free wifi in the lobby and at the cabana if you are not able to catch the signal in your condo.

Thank you for staying with us; we look forward to your upcoming next visit.

Me Ke Aloha,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My first trip to Maui and I will come back to Maui and stay on this property again. The room that was given to us was spacious and well maintained. The condo had everything we needed, internet service, DVD, CD player etc.. anything you need in your home they have it.
It is short walk to beach or their cabana, the cabana is my favorite place because we stored our food, drinks in the refrigerator then enjoyed the quiet beach. Black Rock is right around there, you are able to snorkel to see lots of fish or walk to other side of Black Rock through the Sheraton, the other side has more fish to watch but more people (the other side have all the major hotels).

The Whaler Village is walking distance, don't use their parking, it will cost you $3 per 1/2 hours, unless you buy something in the stores (min required).

This is a wonderful property, the condo is beautiful, my wife and daughter both decide to stay in same room for next visit to Maui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelandeat_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Aloha travelandeat_99:

Thank you for staying with us. The Outrigger Maui Eldorado really is your Maui home away from home and I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

If you are so inclined, Whaler's Village is an easy walk from the Outrigger Maui Eldorado, so there's no need to take the car. Another option is the free Kaanapali Trolley which stops at our driveway on it's way to and from Whaler's Village.

Thank you for posting your review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at Outrigger Maui Eldorado for about a week in August of 2012. Our unit was B206, which is a two bed two bath condo. The unit came with a full kitchen, laundry/drier, with one of the bathrooms equipped with a Jacuzzi tub. The kitchen and bathrooms appear to have been re-done within the last 5 years. The condo was roomy enough for 4 people. We were also given free internet access. The air conditioning in our room was a bit temperamental, with the smaller bedroom being too cold regardless of the temperature setting, and there not being much cooling in the master bedroom even with a resort technician cleaning the filters. Luckily it didn't get too hot so it wasn't that much of an issue. If you can get a unit further away from highway 30, there was some traffic noise audible in the evenings. Some of the furniture in the unit's living room was quite funky (think fake bamboo chairs) and not super functional. Also, be prepared to be awoken as soon as the sun rises by obnoxiously loud mynah birds. There was maid service every 3 days, I think you can call and ask for more frequent service if needed. Staff was very friendly and useful.

The condo complex has three pools which we used occasionally. Beach access requires a 5 minute walk across a golf course, or alternatively the staff will also give rides to the beach cabana in a golf cart and back upon request. The cabana provides towels and shaded seating and is located in the quieter section of Kaanapali beach (north of Black Rock). The beach is sandy and nice, and wasn't super busy, which was appreciated.

There were several restaurants within walking distance from our condo, at Whalers Village, or in the Fairway shops across the street. Grocery stores are in Lahaina, which is about 3 miles to the south. Lahaina also has more restaurants, attractions, and shopping.

This place is best for people who plan on staying and taking it easy on location for at least part of their stay as most activities such as visiting Haleakala or driving to Hana require driving 20 miles (40 minutes frequently due to ever-present traffic) to Kahului. Driving back and forth tends to get old quickly due to the traffic and the ever-present and totally arbitrary reduced speed zones.

All in all a pretty reasonable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rttroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Aloha rttoeger:

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in B206. Thank you also for your kind words about the resort staff.

Our cabana, on the beach north of Black Rock, is in a great location and the beach is certainly less busy than the main Kaanapali strand, even in the busy summer season. The Outrigger Maui Eldorado is indeed a great place to take it easy and it sounds like you had a relaxing time staying with us.

Thank you for posting your review. We hope to see you all again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We are just back from a wonderful 12 day stay at the Maui Eldorado. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit had a lovely view of the golf course and the ocean (we were in building H). The facility was very clean, and the condo very spacious. This was my 4th trip to Maui, but the first in many years and the first with kids in tow. The beach was beautiful - up on the not-crowded end of Ka'anapali, north of Black Rock. The snorkeling was great, beach cabana was absolutely perfect (hey there, Delilah!). It's a great place to stay if you like to explore the island...we went from Wailea to Slaughterhouse Beach and every place in between with our snorkel gear. It was great to come back to our unit, have a cold one, and just relax. Easy walking distance to a number of good restaurants and Whaler's Village.
The pools are adequate, but really did you come to Maui to swim in a pool?! If so, stay at one of the big, high rise, crowded resorts. We visited with family staying at the Westin Ocean Villas and it took longer to walk from the pool area to the lobby, get on the elevator and get into their room, than it took us to walk to the beach cabana - so the whole "not directly on the ocean" thing isn't a big factor. The cabana is a GREAT plus - everything you need to hang on the beach for hours (clean restroom, towels, fridge, lounge chairs). And everyone we met was nice and friendly (Jeffrey, Willie, Delilah, Casey). The only very minor issue was that there was no wireless in the rooms (they're working on it).
I'd highly recommend the Eldorado.

Room Tip: Try to get a unit away from the road - buildings H and J are especially well-situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianneMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Aloha BrianneMM:

Thank you for staying with us.

We love your comment about the distance from the property to the cabana; the trip is certainly less walking than you would do from your room to the beach at one of the big hotels! And it is definitely more scenic!

Thank you also for your kind words about the resort staff - I have passed along your comments to their manager.

And indeed we are working on in-room wireless for Outrigger guests. We're rolling it out slowly and have about 20 units done so far, with more to come.

Thank you for posting your photos and your review of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
4.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Property: Maui Eldorado
Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing