We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT HOTEL WITH GREAT VIEWS AND A GREAT STAFF!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Temperance, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A GREAT HOTEL WITH GREAT VIEWS AND A GREAT STAFF!”
Reviewed December 18, 2009

What a great experience we had at a great hotel! At one point, midway through our stay, though,we had to change rooms, due to a hotel problem. We did have an ocean view room, with barely a view of the ocean. However, we were moved to an ocean front room. A few feet away from the ocean. What a view!!!!!!! I got a picture of a whale spouting from my hotel balcony. Not to mention a neat pic of someone para sailing. Our room was clean. The staff was phenomenal! Sure was hard to leave. They have local vendors in the hotel lobby. So, in order to stimulate the Hawaiian economy we decided to buy some homemade items. My husband and I made a personal date, at three o'clock each day, to meet at the pool for drinks and reading our books. And then swimming. We also swam in the ocean. It is so beautiful there. Yep, we are DEFINITELY going back and requesting the same room we had before. We loved it. Hula and music show each night. Dining at the open concept restaurant was fabulous! Tiki Bar and Grill right near the pool was wonderful and convenient. Oh yeah.... very nice place to stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,887
    1,274
    415
    184
    116
See reviews for
964
1,967
91
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2009

This was our second stay at this hotel and we were delighted that things hadn't changed (due to the economic problems) We were treated like family. The nightly hula and music shows were enjoyed every bit as much as on our first visit. MKeahi and Dale helped to make our visit very special and made us feel like family.
As we sit here in our 40ish weather we are missing the sun in Maui.
One of the things most enjoyable was the free yuekleli (sp) lessons where we had a great laugh at ourselves. The teacher was very warm and intertaining.
Our bed was turned down every evening and and cookies placed in front of our pillows. Seasonal decorations were all around us.
We will definitely be visiting again next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giantsequoiaredwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The travel brochure photo and comments didn't show all that this hotel offered and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The first thing we noticed was the well appointed foyer/lobby with interesting artifacts made by hotel staff. Check-in was efficient by friendly staff. We experienced great sevice from staff members only too happy to help us. Our standard room met expectations, though a little dated,and had authentic historical Hawaiian photographs on the walls. The amenities were great with a bar & Tiki grill in the courtyard and a restaurant looking out into the courtyard and facing a stage where we were entertained by a nightly Hula show with authentic Hawaiian music whilst we dined. The beach was a short stroll through the courtyard. We were pleased to see this hotel preserving their Hawaiian heritage and customs and it was reflected in their music and show and in the general friendly atmosphere. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronrotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We have stayed at this property each of our 4 visits to Maui and still love the laid back, friendly atmosphere of this locally owned hotel. The rooms are nothing special, but very clean. What is incredibly special is the ocean front room location you can get for under $300 per night! And, it's a short walk to spectacular snorkeling at Black Rock. We love going for a morning snorkel, and were happy to see our old turtle buddies, eel, rays and scores of all varieties of colorful fish..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wagsdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2009

The staff were very friendly and answered any questions we had. They also had great recommendations for tours, sightseeing, etc. The restaurants were expensive but that's expected in Hawaii. The food was fantastic and the kids loved it too. The beach was beautiful and not too crowded. I would love to go there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2009

So we took a chance by staying here for our honeymoon instead of closer to downtown. So glad we did! It's on the nicest stretch of beach on Maui and 3 blocks from snorkling off the beach. Wonderful room with modern amenities and the best sheets/comforter ever. So glad we took that chance and stayed here. Perfect for a honeymoon. Extremely quiet, minimal kids.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

We recently took a week long vacation to Maui and of the 8 nights there spent and 6 nights at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel 2 nights at the Westin Maui .

Arriving at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel is always a pleasure. As always, we were warmly welcomed. The Kaanapali Beach Hotel makes you feel at home, the staff is friendly and most importantly it is organized and CLEAN! Walking into our room, you immediately notice the difference in the attention to detail, organization and cleanliness in comparison to the the Westin. The room was well organised, user friendly, clean and exactly what you need for Hawaii; a clean, organized space to dump all your stuff when you come back from the beach or pool all day. It's cleaned very well every day.

The Tiki Terrace restaurant, located next to my favorite spot ( the very excellent Tiki bar & Grill) is very nice as well. We found the service and the food to be better than a comparable meal at Leilani's. An added bonus is live local Hawaian music and stories while you eat. I like that if I'm flying all the way to Hawaii, that's part of what I go for.

The property is arched around an outdoor courtyard with a pool and you can basically throw a rock to the beach so you pretty much walk out of your room and you can see the beach. It's very kid friendly with lots of activities but balances it just fine for adults as well.

If I want the flash, I'll go to Vegas. If I want a great room at a good price with a true local Hawaiian feel and without all the pretense I can get in the mainland US, count me in for the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. We are never disappointed. It's kind if like being in your own home, you just happen to be in Hawaii!

As for the 2 nights spent at the Westin, although the Westin is considered a 4 star hotel, our room did not reflect that at all. There was mold of some sort near the a/c vent, the room was unorganized, had too much furniture for the space available and the TV was situated to the far right of the bed with a large armoir directly in front of the bed. Therefore only one person on the bed could really see the TV well. There was a table and two chairs in front of the desk the TV was on, so you couldn't really use the desk and the table also partially blocked the door to the balcony.

You could see a dirty piping under the bathroom sink and the wall paper in the bathroom was starting to peel off in spots. They had a small refrigerator in the closet that had some folded up magazine paper under one side of it to keep it balanced.

It was clear that interior decorating 101, attention to detail and general management oversight of the property was siginificantly lacking. To top it off, when our waiter handed us our menu at the restaurant, there was a cockroach on it. Seriously. It just din't, in anyway, match our expectations. We've stayed at a lot of Hotels in Hawaii but our favorite is always the Kaanapali Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmhr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#16 of 32 in Lahaina
3,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing