We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$392
$339
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$576
$479
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$287
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$299
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$360
$299
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$386
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$407
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,521)
Filter reviews
4,521 results
Traveler rating
2,241
1,450
479
215
136
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,241
1,450
479
215
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshawaiian hoteltiki grillhawaiian culturefarewell ceremonykauai wingkukui nutwhale shaped poolblack rockhawaiian activitiesnightly hula showwhalers villageterrace restaurantother hotelskaanapali beachfree entertainmentan older hotelhula lessons
Filter
Updating list...
2,280 - 2,285 of 4,521 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As others have noted, I was a bit hesitant about this hotel after reading some reviews but it was recommended by our travel agent and it was great. The rooms are average and a bit dated but large, comfortable, clean and quiet. The balcony was very large and a nice place to sit and listen to the nightly show. Housekeeping was more than accomodating on requests for extra towels, pillows, etc. We were located in the Maui wing and had a great view of the grounds and in the distance the beach and ocean. We were on the 2nd floor which we found very convenient since the parking garage was right outside the door so it made it very easy when lugging in bags, groceries and the beach bags. The hotel grounds are wonderful with all of the flowering trees and bushes and you don't feel crowded at all which is much different from other hotels both up and down the beach. It is very easy to rent chairs and umbrellas for the beach and at a reasonable cost. The beach is beautiful and you can snorkel at Black Rock which is a 3 minute walk up the beach were we saw plenty of fish and turtles. Breakfast was included in our room price and we found the choices to be more than adequate. There was a variety of fruits, hot items, pastries and juices available. We had dinner one night at the Tiki Restaurant and the quality of food and level of service was great - we then enjoyed the show that is held each night and free. There are a number of activities offered such as lei making and hula dancing (both free) as well as surfing lessons (cost $) which were fun. The folks that run the activities were great - knowledgeable, engaging and very personable. There are plenty of very good restaurants in Lahaina which is a 5 - 10 minute drive. Things seem to quiet down considerably after 9 PM but after a day out swimming and snorkeling it was nice to go back to the room. Overall, this hotel was great and we would not hesitate to go back and are planning our next trip. We moved to Oahu after staying on Maui and went to a 5 star resort and to be honest I preferred KBH - the environment is much more relaxing. Lounge chairs are not stacked one on top of the other with tons of folks milling around. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4Family2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been here 4 times. 1987, 1994, 2010, 2012. Everytime I had a consistant experience. While other hotels get run down they keep theirs up and also try to hold on to that old Hawaiian sprit. Clean, friendly and well maintained. Prices are fair and it is close to the shopping area. For great snorkelling book a trip on the Hula Girl. They pick you up right on the beach by the hotel. Loved it so much I will be gong back there in 2014.

Room Tip: They have a band that plays old songs until about 10pm outside by the resturant.. If you plan on going to bed early and are a light sleeper then try for a room away from the resturant area.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stay at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel every time we travel to Maui. It's always like going back home. The staff is always friendly, the grounds are well kept and the rooms are spacious and clean. It's not the fanciest hotel in Lahaina but for the amount of time we stay in our room when we're in Hawaii, it more than serves it's purpose. You're within walking distance of many attractions, restaurants and shopping and of course, it's right on the beach. We'll be back for the next addition to our leis in a few months.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpelonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had reservations about booking this hotel due to some reviews we had read. We booked a garden view room and on checking in we were given a free upgrade to a pool and partial ocean view in the Kauai wing, room 560...WOW! The room was clean and spacious with fantastic views easily seen through the large patio windows or from the balcony. The bathroom was good and also had a coffee machine where each day they gave us enough coffee for our first cup of the morning. Also supplied were a few green tea sachets. The wardrobe also had a safe for which we paid $1.50 a day and there is a small fridge, iron, ironing board and hair dryer. The bed was large and very comfortable. There was also a television in a traditional looking cabinet. The only very minor thing with room 560 was noise from the lifts which were opposite. This did not disturb us but it might others. There are vending machines on each floor selling drinks and snacks which were reasonably priced. It is an older hotel but this to us made it feel more authentic. We would not have wanted to stay anywhere else. We did attend the welcome breakfast which was complimentary and informative. The grounds were beautifully maintained and all the staff we encountered were so friendly. We felt very comfortable during our 7 night stay. The beach was stunning, clean and very easily accessible just off the hotel gardens. The hotel provided both pool and beach towels free of charge. Even though these were not large they were adequate for us. We did eat at the Tiki Grill. What we had was very nice and reasonably priced. We enjoyed the Hula shows which were put on each night, again free of charge. On the morning of leaving we were invited to a leaving ceremony where we were presented with nut leis. This was such a lovely gesture by the hotel which has very strong links with traditions.

Room Tip: Higher room for views. At least upgrade to a garden view they are stunning.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 621JenniferH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Got a great deal thru Travelocity which equated to our room being about $100/night and even then I was considering switching hotels after reading some of the reviews. Now, after having stayed there, I really can't understand some of the more scathing comments because there is nothing offensive about this hotel. Perhaps there are rooms in the Molokai wing that are sub-par. We were on the other side of the hotel so I never got a look at those rooms. That's all I can figure because I saw rooms in both the Lanai and Kauai buildings and they were all nice and very much the same.

I was sure we would get the room that faces the fence, because of our 'aloha rate' but we ended up in the Kauai building which is closest to the beach, with a room that faced the Whaler (and gardens) and also had a partial ocean view. So I was pleased with that! I did notice there are some rooms slightly larger than ours. We had 2 queen beds. There are some rooms with 2 queens and then a couple of steps down to an area in front of the sliding door where there is a table and chairs and a daybed. These rooms also have the sink area OUTSIDE the w.c./shower, instead of all enclosed together like ours. This would have been more convenient for our party of 4, for sure.

Our room was updated, clean and the beds were comfy. Only complaint was a tub with a very slow drain. Otherwise it was fine. I would rank the room quality along the lines of a Comfort Inn or similar. If you want a flat screen TV with a full cable line-up and HBO, you won't find it here. Old school 'tube' TV with very limited channels. Okay for us... kept us from sitting around the room too much. Not fancy, but serviceable. However, the rest of the hotel has a nice 'resort' feel. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Here's a bonus: No resort fee! Only a parking fee of $10 a day and safe fee of $1.50/day if you use it. The grounds were spacious and immaculately kept. Huge grassy area full of places to lounge and relax in the shade when you get overcooked. Pool was nothing special. Didn't use it. Designated smoking areas are placed through-out the property, easy to find if you smoke; easy to avoid if you don't.

The parking garage has very tight spaces with cement pillars, so I would usually go up to the top level where there was more open space and it was easier to park. Did not eat anything at the hotel, but I rarely eat hotel food when there are so many restaurants nearby. It's true there is no wifi. A blessing and a curse... it did keep my kids off their iPods! Whaler's Village is close but overpriced. We liked the restaurants in town and up in the Napili area better.

Kaanapali beach is the best beach for swimming and playing in on the west side. We all loved riding the waves. The boys got a couple pool tubes handed down to them which proved highly entertaining. At times the surf did get a little rough, but it usually lasted only a day or two and then you'd get a couple of calm days. My boys preferred the larger waves, anyway. The hotel is about 200 yards from Black Rock, and two hotels down from Whaler's Village. Downtown Lahaina is a 5 minute drive south. Napili and Kapalua about 10 minutes north. All in all, a good value in a great location as long as you get a good deal. Otherwise, I would probably go for a condo with more space and full size fridge!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frenchfrydtater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews