We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

KBH is what it says it is - the most Hawaiian hotel. It has the character of a time past in Hawaii and a wonderful location on Kaanapali Beach. We found the staff to be so friendly, the grounds beautiful (we could see the effort that has gone into the grounds compared to years past), and the Hawaiian activities to be fun. KBH doesn't have the most luxurious rooms (they certainly are very nice and clean) and over the top facilities like many of the Hawaiian resort hotels, but it is affordable and a wonderful place to stay. Sitting outside in the evening by the tiki bar and listening to the FREE live music under the stars is what Hawaii is all about.

Room Tip: Repeat visitors should make sure they take advantage of the free room upgrades offered to repeat vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 706MichaelF706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,134 - 2,140 of 4,284 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Loved the hotel and the staff are fantastic. The grounds are like a shady park. We didn't realise how different the resort was until we were on the whale cruise and looking back to the beach. The resort is covered in green shady trees and this adds to the large open feel of the resort. Most of the others have a large patch of grass covered with sun lounges. Room was great, view was wonderful and the place had a great feel. Highly recommend. Only down side is the wifi only works around the pool. But otherwise great. Aloha and Enjoy

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were in Maui recently and had the opportunity to stay at several locations, one was the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. The grounds were beautiful and access to the beach was excellent. Our room however, had some flaws. We did book a Aloha Value room so I expected to not have a view. The view was of the old tennis courts that had been turned in to a parking lot. The room was next to the elevator, so we heard the elevator motor constantly. There were ants in our bathroom and our tub did not drain properly. I did not complain and did see a form to fill out for maintainence on our last morning. We were on the beach or shopping a great deal of the time but if I had stayed more than 3 nights I would have asked for a different room. On the up side all of the employess were very kind and helpful upon check in and check out.

Room Tip: Due to the many buildings I would definitely ask for a room facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for the first and last night of our last visit to Maui. The hotel is located on one of the best beaches in Maui, it is also steps away from Whalers and the boardwalk is great. The hotel has kept some of the charm and decor from the days it probably opened which could be a good thing or bad, but in my opinion it was good. Now on a bit of the negative the hotel has two wings on one wing most or all the rooms are updated in the other wing the room they showed us was in original condition, so not too appealing, we requested them to change us to another room and paid for an upgrade. So this is a decent hotel in a great location and it is worth to pay a bit more for an upgraded room with partial ocean view.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sbconsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in a garden view room and a pool view room and both were good. The garden view room looked out to a tropical garden and across to the whalers hotel - it had a small balcony which got sun in the afternoon I(it was a refurbished room). we then moved to a pool view room which got morning sun and had views looking down the beach to black rock and the pool and garden area of Kaanapali beach hotel. the room was a good size with a hug bed and also a single bed. the bathroom was the usual size with a shower over the bath. the bed was very comfrotable.
It is an older hotel in a great location. Right next door to the sheraton and whalers and 2 mins walk to whalers village. You can walk from Kaanapali on the beachwalk across to Royal Laihana and in the other direction down to the Hyatt.
It is central to all the restaurants and shops by whalers village - there is also a free bus that runs from Royal Laihana to the Hyatt and the bus from whalers village to the surrounding area including Laihana town is only $2 per direction or $4 for a day pass (unlimited travel)
Kaanapali beach has a real home grown appeal to it - with nightly entertainment from various bands/ hula girls/ and was great to sit there with a pina colada and watch the free show. It is a bit resort with a small resort feel -
We would definitely go back there again . the farewell ceremony was vey moving.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the end of april we loved the location and the grounds as there was lot of space for sun chairs, pool area is ok needs updating especially when comparing with the other resorts along the beach. staff very helpful and friendly, my daughters did the lei making and found it relaxing and fun. rooms are dated however for the price they are fine. we didnt eat at the resort we ate at whalers or the restaurants on the beach so i cannot rate the food. Only complaint would be the wifi - you have to pay for it each day i think it was $7.95, even when i did try and connect it it wouldnt work that was very frustrating. I think in 2013 wifi should be supplied.

Room Tip: worth getting part ocean view or ocean view, dont bother with the introductory breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydneygirl2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Mahalo to everyone at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. Loved our stay there and now consider ourselves part of the KBH family. Aloha to Auntie Nani for our beautiful lei and Coleen, local artisans that sell their wares in the hotel lobby. from now on when we return to Maui the KBH will be our home away from home. Great snorkeling and easy access to all activities and the fabulous Whalers Village.
Aloha

Room Tip: rooms are for sleeping and grooming enjoy Maui.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superflioo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,633 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
21.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $215 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing