We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could not believe this location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were undecided on this location with a few past reviews, but I think they were at a different location. You have to go here and go with the flow (I normally dont do) Go to the breakfast that they give you asap, they explain so much and give you more than enough info on what to do (not a sales pitch) the staff here are awesome and are always trying to help out, explain things on were and what to do. Walk down to Whalers Village great shops and restaurants, not to far and a nice walk along the beach walk. But they do have 1 or 2 short comings, 1 do not eat at the Tiki Grill unless you like just plain old frozen burgers and fries, we ordered the Calamari and I have never had anything so bad, frozen, prebreaded and just tough to chew, fish sandwich the same, walk to Whalers Village (200 hundred yards) and have a fresh fish sandwich.
But we really hated to leave this place, if you are there during whaling season go! They are right out front!!

Room Tip: Try and get the Lanai Bldg, and up around the 3rd or 4th floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captmark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,119)
There are newer reviews for Kaanapali Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,998 - 2,004 of 4,119 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just spent 7 awesome days on Maui. Our hotel of choice was Kaanapali Beach Hotel. This was our second stay there. It is a true Hawaiian experience. Our first trip we didn't know how we wanted to feel until we reached KBH...and then we knew. It was everything....atmosphere, service and attention to all the little things. We absolutely love staying here and will again! The grounds are so spacious that there is always somewhere to be alone and not feel crowded.
Loved the Tiki Bar and Grill. Wonderful food and drinks with decent prices.

Room Tip: Be specific about what you want. They are very accommodating.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelliMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at KBH in mid-April and we were very satisfied with our stay. The ocean view room was very clean and had a large lanai to gaze at the ocean and the activities on the ground. The pool was a perfect place to hang out with the kids when you didn't want to get all sandy at the beach. Tiki Bar food and drinks were fabulous (especially the Hawaiian burger!). The beach area in front of the hotel was awesome and the umbrella and cabana rentals were reasonable. We will be returning here in the future!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank well0045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Made us feel at home! We had a partial ocean view, which was a great view! Felt welcome every where we went. They have a beautiful farewell lei ceremony. Beautiful grounds, great people. Will definetely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Whalers Village and the Royal Lahaina (Best Luau). Very pleasant staff and and partial ocean view room was excellent. There is live entertainment every afternoon and night and the Tiki Bar offers great drinks. The Sunday Brunch was outstanding even with the $40 plus per person. The grounds were very clean and short walk to the beach. Renting a cabana is the way to go and the Trilogy IV departs right from the hotel beach, a must sunset cruise. We booked our trip through Costco and got a great rate. There was always local merchants selling their handmade product setup in lobby and near front entrance helping to give back, very nice.
Thank you,

Kent and Liz
Peoria, AZ,

Room Tip: There is no room service and didn't look for the Fitness center. Rooms near the main entrance wi...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I returned to Maui for 9 nights for out 10th anniversary and stayed at the KBH mid April. The first room assigned was 3rd floor in the wing without an elevator and my arthritic knees were acting up. They were able to move us to the newer wing with an elevator and moved all our luggage and stuff in the fridge as well. The staff was great for this and all other requests. We were having such a great time we paid for the change fees and extra fees and extended our stay for another 2 nights!
DON’T MISS THE SUNDAY CHAMPAGNE BRUNCH! Esp you like champagne and are not planning on driving afterwards For the brunch, food was excellent (raw oysters my fav) and the waiter didn’t let our champagne glasses get less than half full. We did get the breakfast “deal” for the last two days; it was good but wouldn’t want it every day. The food at the restaurant was “OK”, was nice to watch the free hula shows while eating. It seemed one night they were short on Hula girls… We didn’t try too much variety at the tiki grill because we both loved the teriyaki burger and the mahi mahi sandwiches and never tried anything else. They were both reasonably priced (for Maui), and if you like fish (not fried) you must try the mahi mahi sandwich. Of course the tiki bar was fun, Dale was great.
Yes, there is a $10\day parking and $1.50 room safe charge. Big deal, the price of the hotel certainly offsets the “nickel and diming” that others complain about. I agree with all the other positive reviewers about the condition of the hotel, its location and fun value. Yes, the TV is tube type, no wifi, so what? Did people not read reviews?
Snorkeling at black rock was better at high tide when you could get into the little cove. However, it was not as good as honolua bay which was a little drive north. Don’t be afraid to ride around the complete northwest end and continue around the complete southeast end after hana. The roads are fine and beautiful. Just check at the entrance to the sacred pools to ensure that the road is open all the way around.
I had read complaints about the tub slow to drain while showering and thought this was going to be true after our first showers. If the drain has the “rings” in the tub for the stopper\drain, make sure they are straight up and down. Then when turning on the water, turn it on just a little and then pull the lever for the shower to make sure no water comes out of the tub spout. Then turn the water on full blast. What can happen is that if there is water still coming out of the tub spout, it can move the “rings” to close the drain some.
If you have a late flight (ours was at 10:30 pm), the hotel offers a free courtesy room to shower and change. You need to reserve this the day of departure and do it early! I was able to get the 5:30 to 6pm slot when I called at 6:01am. It made a nice relaxing afternoon at the beach. We rented a cabana that afternoon and it was only 22-23 bucks (mention you are staying at the KBH for discount)..
We live in MA so the flight is very long. If Maui was closer we would certainly be back at the KBH very soon as this was one of our best vacations and I miss being there. If you are rich and can afford the new 5 start hotels around: more power too you. Otherwise you should have a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel that is very clean and friendly. Have a great time, wish I was going with you! Aloha.

Room Tip: With a 3rd floor pool view, you can still see the ocean\beach partially obstructed through the trees...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Ka’anapali Beach Hotel Apr. 20-22th. Check in was quick and efficient. Nice staff all around, except for the luggage guy who seemed to be indifferent and wanted to be somewhere else. The room was nice and large, and had a partial ocean view which we didn’t expect, so that was a nice upgrade. Very nice large balcony also. Unfortunately, the room had a very strong mildew smell. They offered to switch us to another room, but it was almost as bad, so we stayed in the first one which had a nicer view. It is a very old property that needs serious updating, but the atmosphere is very Hawaiian and peaceful. The bed was quite poor, as the springs would groan every time you moved, and the mattress was really old and cheap. The sheets barely stay on the bed and bunch up every time you move. The TV was an old small tube TV that was terrible, with very poor reception. There was a small refrigerator, which froze our items even in the area away from the small freezer section. They charge you $1.50 per day automatically for the room safe, unless you notify them within 24 hours of check in that you don’t want it. A bit tacky. There is also a $10 charge for any internet access each 24 hour period that you request it. The grounds are very lovely and spacious and peaceful. The pool is nothing special. The beach is great out front, and the snorkeling is really good too at Black Rock, just to the north a bit. Overall a decent place, but very very dated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $208 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing