We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful dedicated staff. The hotel is certainly older. That has pros and cons. Pros:
larger rooms
lots and lots of open green space to workout, lounge, read, play etc
mini fridge in the room
Great service
Cons:
very small pool
not an updated hotel
even the updated rooms feel like they need an update

Location of the hotel is great. If you want to be on the "strip" and simply walk to shopping and restaurants then Ka'anapali beach is the right place. Lots and lots of people watching to keep the day interesting. Keep in mind this means pretty crowded at times as well.
We had an ocean front room on the 4th floor. Fabulous location that could not be found elsewhere for the same price. During whale season, the ocean front room was really nice. I sat on the balcony and could watch the whales play and breach right from our room.
Breakfast was ok, at best. We opted to pay for half of our breakfasts outside of the hotel, instead of the included continental. The hotel tried, it just wasn't very good.
Everything is an extra charge. WiFi is only available at the pool bar BUT, you must first go to your room, get the code off the tv, purchase a few hours for $10, return to the pool bar to login, and then use the WiFi. Ridiculous. Beach chaise lounges were $32.50/day, pool service at the bar was unbelievably slow. The bartender was not physically prepared for the demands of the role.
Please take time for the departing ceremony. Wonderful touch by the hotel. This ended our stay and a positive note.
Overall.....the stay at the hotel was just fine. Nothing supremely negative but certainly nothing to return for.
Know before you travel that EVERYTHING in Maui is ridiculously priced and be prepared.
Buy the Maui Revealed book. Fabulous resource for everything on the island. We had some really incredible hikes, meals, and tours that we may not have found on our own. I use this book as a constant resource while on island.
Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: You will get what you pay for at this hotel. There are some rooms with truly terrible views. Pay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 4,169 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

As Kama'aina (resident of Hawaii), I found Ka'anapali Beach Hotel to be an outstanding experience of aloha. The staff was pleasant and helpful. It was like going home. The rooms were clean and ready for you to rest. It had a refrigerator in each room, which made it easy for the medications and other things. The staff went out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The staff at the Tiki Terrace were so, so helpful. This hotel does not have all the amenities of other hotels. Because they had no room service, I went down to purchase breakfast at the Tiki Terrace. The staff was accommodating to my request and made sure I had everything to enjoy my breakfast in my room. The hotel is not the fastest, but for hospitality and warmth, it beats a lot of high end hotels that I've stayed with in Ka'anapali. The Native Hawaiian Diet is a wake up call to eat better and healthier. The Easter Brunch was a buffet to die for. It was so overwhelming with an array of different foods. For a happy local experience, Ka'anapali Beach hotel is no ka 'oi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineT331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

after being in honolulu we needed a place like this. as soon as you walk in the hospitality was unbelievable. we have only been to a couple of places and been treated so well. the hotels grounds were so well keep and beautiful. this is one of the most if not the most relaxing place i have ever been to. we could sit just outside our room and watch whales breaching and listen to the ocean waves. there are many attractions and things to do within a short distance from the hotel. we would go back to this hotel if we ever get to hawaii again. i have seen three reviews and all are very honest and accurate. I think you will like the hotel if you want to relax and get away.

Room Tip: ocean front rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestguy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This review is late. We stayed Sept/Oct 2010. We stayed at this hotel because of its affordable option in an amazing setting. The beach location is perfect, and easy walking to other hotels and a little mall. The beach is beautiful, the grounds are really nice. The pool is small, but good enough for a quick swim. We stayed in an ocean view room, and originally we had to switch because the room was worse than a motel. However, the next room was a plain room, no bells, no whistles, but what I expected at this price point. The restaurant on grounds was awful. DO NOT get the breakfast included. Not worth it. That said, I would stay here again. Again, it was much more affordable than others and allowed us to rent a wonderful convertible and stay in both Paia and Hana for 4 nights in a gorgeous bungalow. We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoopy5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband booked this hotel online (usually I take care of the arrangements). When we arrived, I thought he had totally messed up our vacation. I felt like I was stepping back to a time before I was even born...jalousie windows, no a/c in the lobby and definitely a 60s-70s vibe to it. It took a bit to get us registered as it seems like they're still doing things "by hand". We walked out to our rooms, more like a motel than hotel, but the rooms were fine. It was late and the bar was only serving drinks and no food, so they recommended we go to the hotel next door, and we did so. We were invited to an "orientation" the next morning to get us acquainted with Maui, and we were expecting some kind of time share sales pitch. Well, we were wrong.

We arrived in a large dining room and were greeted by a large continental breakfast and dancing and singing hula girls. The entire hotel staff came out to greet and sing to us. It totally reminded me of the resort in "Dirty Dancing". They gave us an awesome introduction and orientation to the hotel and Maui, and offered great deals on excursions. We did check the price with outside vendors, and the hotel gives you much better pricing. They were also able to get us a really good deal through the local Hertz for a convertible jeep for the week. The front desk staff was so hospitable and helpful and really did go out of their way to give you a truly "Hawaiian experience".

They have a large whale-shaped pool that the kids really enjoyed, but we spent most of our time hanging out by the beach. The prices on boogie boards and snorkel equipment is pricier than in town, but reasonable for a hotel. We rented them for the kids along with the double lounge chairs and enjoyed baking in the sun and playing in the water. They also had activities throughout the day such as lei making, ukelele lessons, etc. Each night they had a free Hawaiian luau show (compared to other hotels that charge hefty prices for their luaus). The bar makes awesome MaiTais and the outdoor grill does a pretty decent job with snacks, burgers, fish sandwiches, etc. The restaurant was surprisingly good. They had a huge Thanksgiving Buffet priced at $39/person with all sorts of traditional food such as turkey, roast beef, prime rib, sweet potatoes along with traditional Hawaiian food and all sorts of international dishes (Chinese food, sushi, etc.).

We also attended the magic show on sight, and they provide hotel guests with special pricing. We thought it would be totally hokey, but it was really good. My son, a magic buff and amateur magician, absolutely loved it. It was very entertaining and the food was really, really good (another surprise).

Upon your departure, they have a little ceremony in which they sing good-bye to you and give you a lei made out of a fruit pit (can't remember what it's called); we still have them. This hotel turned out to be quite the gem. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Didnt stay here, but heard great reviews on the Sunday brunch buffet. We booked our Easter reservations here and expected great things. The buffet was poorly set up, poorly lit, and not well stocked. They seemed overwhelmed by the amount of guests, although it was Easter and that should have been expected. Other than an omelet station, pre-cooked waffles (served cold, not hot), and fresh fruit, there was nothing breakfast on the menu. And sushi at 9:00 am is not breakfast food. We ordered drinks and finally received them when we had finished our meal. So disappointed that THIS was our Easter meal. It was well below our expectations and terribly overpriced for what we received.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Slynch8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Returned to this hotel after 18 years. Although it is quite a big hotel it manages the personal touch and tries to present Hawaian culture. Didn't want to leave. It is in an excellent location. Only downside is having to pay to park.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Annifenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $209 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing