We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Grandma's 80th” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kaanapali Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Grandma's 80th”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This comfortable little hotel is Grandma's favorite spot in all of Hawaii. Excellent location: just a 5 minute walk to Whalers Village and right on the prettiest beach on Maui. We look forward to coming back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    1,128
    365
    167
    101
See reviews for
812
1,721
77
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We flew from O'ahu to Maui for a couple of days to get away from work. The hotel, as an overall facility, is nice. Beautifully manicured grounds on the interior with beach access made me overlook the age of the room, which was comfortable, but due for an update. Each wing is named after a major island in the chain, which can be confusing. We were told we were in room #352 in the Lana'i wing. To me, this implied there was more than one room #352 and I had better make sure I went to the correct wing. This is not the case. Easily overcome, but still, at reception, it made for a moment of undue confusion. The restaurant is average. Portions were a bit small compared to what I am used to. However, the staff is incredibly friendly and full of aloha. They clearly care about their guests and their experience. The small Hawaiian band playing during dinner was a treat, as well. Living on O'ahu, I planned our activities before we went, so we didn't take advantage of what KBH offered, so I can't speak to that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

With a group, we stayed here two nights recently. We were reasonably pleased. Our room was clean. The bed and pillows could have been better. I thought that their food was overpriced for what we were served.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you want a great location right on the beach, beautiful grounds, great walking paths, proximity to shopping, friendly competent staff, very clean rooms - at a reasonable price, this is a good choice. Our stay at the KBH in late February/early March 2013 couldn't have been better. From their Welcoming Breakfast to the Farewell Ceremony, their services are delivered with efficiency and courtesy. The employees at the concierge desk are well informed and considerate. Admittedly, it is an older hotel but the positive attributes outweigh the need for modern decorating. The only downside for me was that the Wi-fi service could have been better, but not a big deal.
We ate frequently at the on-site Hula Grill which provides excellent short order type meals, reasonably priced. A variety of dining options close to the KBH are available. A bonus is the free nightly Hula Show which was always entertaining. I would recommend the Trilogy Whale watching tour -- the whales swam right underneath our catamaran. The journey to Hana was a highlight of our holiday and we were glad we utilized a tour operator (Valley Isle Excursions) in order that we could have an informed, entertaining, safe trip.
We will definitely return to the KBH.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My 2 girls and I enjoyed all the offerings at Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. It is right on the Voted #1 Ka'anapali Beach by The Today Show March 2013. The activities they offer Hula lessons, Lei making, Hawaiian Language lesson, Ukulele lesson, Post card making, and the pineapple carving was free with your stay. Every night there was Hawaiian entertainment. The hotel grounds are beautiful. All the staff treated us like we were Queens. The Rooms were very clean. The Partial Ocean View room was stunning. We opened our door at night and listened to the waves crashing on the beach. We even seen whales from our Lani.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room 444 non smoking room very close to elevators. Great A/C, and a ceiling fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13paula_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Ka'anapali Beach Hotel for 6 nights in February 2013. The place is older but clean and very quiet compared to other big resorts we have been to. Breakfast is ok, we had that included in our vacation vouchers, but it is boring for 6 days. Tom & Dale were making amazing cocktails in the Tiki Bar! Great hamburgers at the Tiki grill.
We only had one problem with a cluless girl at the front desk but we tried to avoid her when we had questions , the others were very helpful.
We went on a Trilogy whale watching cruise which was fun but you can see as many whales from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOFIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in 2012. The room that was assigned to me was old, dingy and dark! I could not believe I was paying $250 per night for the room! They pride themselves for being the most hawaiian because the lobby itself is not air-conditioned and clearly needs a renovation! The walk to the room is confusing. Am not sure why the others rate this hotel highly but this hotel must only be a 2-star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konea2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
4.1 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
21.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing